Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crockpot Chicken Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crockpot Chicken Stew

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      This was a simple meal and the family enjoyed it. I doubled the ingredients and added some sliced celery. The canned soup needed milk added to make it creamier as it looked the same sitting on the top when it was done. I added the milk, stirred it in and it improved the creaminess. I will add 1 can of milk to the 2 cans of soup next time. It had very good flavor and the was easy to make. A plus for my busy life style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I made this stew with the following modifications: I added some red bel pepper, zucchini and a can of cream of celery along with the recommended cream of chicken. I saute the veggies before adding them in my crockpot just to bring out their flavor. I also cut the chicken into bite size pieces and sauteed it for just a few seconds in a hot pan with McCormicks chicken seasoning salt and pepper and threw it all in the crock pot! It was awesome!! I love the flavor of this stew. I will be making this time and time again! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I doubled this recipe, and used 1 can cream of chicken, and one can cream of celery. Excellent. My whole family loved it, and so easy. I was worried that the veggies on the bottom would burn, but it all came out perfectly done! I also got mine in too late to wait 6 hrs, so I did 3 hrs on low, and 1 hr on high. This is a new regular at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      My Husband really liked this recipe. I cut corners a bit I used canned diced potatoes, sliced carrots and canned chicken. And I cooked it on top of the stove because I didn't have much time. It was very good. I served it with corn muffins. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is my new favorite recipe. I didn't add potatoes but make Bisquick dumplings for the top and they become like a potato. Add them the last 20 minutes. Soooo Gooood!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      This deserves more 5 star reviews; it is excellent! I've made too many of these recipes that end up runny and lacking flavor. This was perfect, the first time I made it. We found it does serve exactly 3; I used 1 -12oz chicken breast. I added no extra liquid; I use homemade cream soup which is thinner than the canned soup anyway, and the finished product was just the right viscosity. Also used 2 stalks chopped celery, and dusted the chicken breast with poultry seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Great recipe. I added a little more cup of water, upped the ingredients to keep the flavor then added a few table spoons of corn starch to thicken it. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This is a wonderful recipe, and easy too. I doubled everything (except the condensed soup - I did 1 can of cream of chicken, and half of cream of mushroom) and added a half of coup of celery. I also used 3 boneless chicken breasts cut in pieces, then shred the chicken after 2 hours or so. Simple and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      This was a very simple (and cheap!) meal to put together. I added celery and corn to the mix just to increase the veggies. I also added quite a bit more sage and thyme, as well as fresh garlic to increase the flavor. Cubed my chicken so that it would cook faster. About 3 hours on low and 1 hour on high. Very quick and easy dish - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      This stew was delicious. My hungry family loved it. I actually used cooked, chopped chicken. I just threw it in frozen. It cooked away all day (about 8) hrs, and was still perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Wow! I was very impressed with this meal. I didn't think I was gonna like it but I had all the stuff. So I decided to try it. I added some chopped green pepper and half a can of corn. Next time I want to omit the potatoes and add an extra can of cream of chicken soup, green beans, and poor over white rice. My husband crushed some Ritz crackers on top. Very good! Will definitely make again. Total comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      I doubled this recipe and used skinless chicken thighs. I followed the recipe with these few exceptions - EXTREMELY GOOD - I saw no reason to add milk to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      This recipe was very easy and had a really tasty result. I served over biscuits. Here are the changes I made:

      1) Doubled the recipe
      2) Added sliced celery to the vegetables (green peas would be a good addition, too)
      3) Added a little milk to thin the soup out (1 can milk in a double recipe).
      4) Cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces
      5) Halve the black pepper
      6) Add some crumbled, cooked bacon at the end

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      This is hearty and tasty! I added some green peas, celery, one can cream of celery soup, an extra half can of cream of chicken soup, and a half can of milk. I cooked it in the crock pot on low for 4 1/2 hours and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      I made this today and really enjoy it, I did make a few amount changes and used fresh garlic in place of garlic powder, I also added in some cayenne pepper, thank you for sharing this great crockpot recipe, I made it for Kittencalskitchen forum crockpot tag event

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      This couldn't get any easier and is such a delight on a cloudy cold October day. It went together for me in no time as I used baby carrots for ease in prep. A wonderful tasting stew that's a nice alternative to the traditional stew.:-)
      Made for Crock-pot tag in KK's forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      We really enjoyed this stew -- I used baby potatoes cut into quarters and baby carrots to make the prep time even quicker! Comfort meal at its best with very little work and also fairly low in calories/fat (I used the healthy choice type of soup to lower the fat content even more!) -- my type of meal! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crockpot Chicken Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.4
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    26%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 58.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1241.9 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites