30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! Because of this dinner, I have declared myself "the beef stew master"! I used 1/3 c. flour and a 14 oz can of low-sodium beef broth. I also added a 14 oz. can of stewed tomatoes (drained), and I mixed 5 tsp. (about 1 1/2 Tablespoons) of dry onion flakes in with the flour. I used crimini mushrooms, and they were a nice addition. The veggies were perfect and the meat was flavorful and tender and not dry at all after 8 1/2 hours on low. I made Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread to serve with this, and it was the best comfort supper I've had in a long time. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 September 28, 2009

I made this a few days ago for my husband and he absolutely loved it! I forgot the mushrooms but it still turned out delicious. I listened to a few reviewers and added more broth and half a packet of Lipton's onion seasoning. I'll add a whole packet next time though. Also, I ended up having to thicken it in the end with a little cornstarch because of the excess liquid I added in the beginning. I love onions and chopped one up and added it to the mixture. This was my first time making a beef stew so I wasn't sure what to expect and was a little scared about the cooking process and even mixed it twice even though the directions said not to. It came out great and I can't wait to make it again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyCakes September 25, 2013

This was really good! I browned the beef after tossing with flour and spices, made for a lovely rich flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mumma=^..^= July 21, 2013

Great recipe and easy to do. Recommend using unpeeled whole carrots instead of baby ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
warrenpe October 07, 2012

This was really good. It was super easy and tasted wonderful. DH even liked it and he hates everything from the crockpot. The meat was dry but meat is always dry in my crock. The other thing I would say is that to call this a mushroom dish you should add a lot more mushrooms...like triple the amount in the recipe at least but it was great and I will make it again! Thanks for the recipe PanNan....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender February 22, 2012

I made this for a lunch that I catered and the ladies loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except that I did add a little bit more water after reading other reviews. I probably didn't need it. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. I will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun January 29, 2012

We loved this stew. It was extremely tasty. I did cook it a bit differently as I dont have a slow cooker. So I browned the meat, added the vegs and poured the sauce over the top. I covered it tightly with tin foil and placed it in the oven on low heat (150 C) and let it cook for 2 hours. It was tender and delicious. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen June 13, 2010

This is a beautiful recipe. Your cooking audience really needs to love mushrooms (mine does). The end results will always meet with raves. I have prepared this many times. I always add a chopped white onion to the mix. Fresh baby portabella mushrooms really add to the taste (and texture) of this recipe. Celery, turnips and rutabegas are great additions, too. If you opt to add these additional vegetables, add a splash or two more of broth and an additional sprinkle of wine. You will know when it is right. Since I am so very Southern (USA), I would suggest serving cornbread with this wonderful stew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmptyO April 01, 2010

This was delicious. I'd like even more mushrooms, so will add even more next time since they shrink down so much. I also mixed sweet potatoes and regular potatoes. My slow cooker took about 6 1/2 hours on high.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebburtis February 21, 2010

Very delicious, hearty beef stew. I used pre-sliced baby bella mushrooms so there was very little chopping to do. Loved the flavor, quite filling, and just perfect for a cold, rainy day. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 20, 2010
Crock Pot Wild Mushroom Beef Stew