719 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so easy and so good! I can put this into the crockpot over my lunch hour and have it ready to eat when we get home from work in the evening. The leftover chicken makes great chicken tacos, also. Thanks for sharing, we love this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyn December 05, 2010

I took a 5 pound Chicken and put Mrs. Dash Italian medley on it instead of the mix submitted (as italian medley has most of the same stuff without all the sodium. cooked it for 3.5 hours and it is wonderful,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blakebinkley December 05, 2010

I know there are a lot of reviews already - but I will never do a whole chicken any other way ever again! I took the advice from one review and left skin on, removing as much fat as I could pull off, and just rubbed spices under the skin. It makes sooo much chicken with such great flavor and sooo moist, I used it for chicken tacos, chicken enchiladas and had some just the way it came out of the crock pot! Thank you so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreahalbersma October 25, 2010

"Wow!" was the first word my husband said after taking his first bite! I would have to agree! This chicken is full of flavor with just enough kick to tingle your tastebuds! I did place 1/2 of a lemon and 1/2 of an orange inside the cavity, then squeezed some fresh lemon & orange juice over the bird before placing in the crockpot! Perfect for a Sunday lunch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. TK September 05, 2010

Wow! I loved this recipe so much I finally decided to make a account on here (after getting recipes on here for about 6 years.) The chicken was so tender and had a great flavor! I did what the other posters suggested by broiling it after it was done in the crock pot. MmmMmMm. It was a huge hit! Also I added celery, carrots and garlic and lemon. It made a wonderful gravy, thanks so much for the recipe. I will use this often :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginerbean August 24, 2010

Delicious! I used lemon in the chicken cavity and put it under the broiler like LisaLouWho and served it with Parmesan-Rice-and-Pasta-Pilaf-5034. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Razzlledazzlle June 18, 2010

Thank you for posting. This is super easy and very good! I cooked it on low for 6 hours and the chicken fell off the bone, which we used for chicken noodle soup and chicken enchiladas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal chef February 21, 2010

OMG this was AMAZING!!! I changed up the 4 tsp salt to lemon pepper salt + creole seasoning salt + kosher salt. I also stuffed the chicken with apple slices, cinnamon sticks, rosemary and sage. When it was done cooking in the crockpot sprinkled some more of the rub on the whole bird and then put it in the oven for about 35 mins, to get a lovely brown colour!! The family raved over it!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmbutterfly February 19, 2010

Tasty combination of seasonings. I unfortunately didn't have onions on hand or white powder, but it was done in 4 hrs on high and very juicy. Thx for sharing =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blooeyez in Maine February 01, 2010

Well, I guess I am odd one out here. I didn't especially care for this recipe. Part of it was my fault - I left it in the crockpot a little too long and the white meat was kind of dry - tons of juice and fat cooked out. But I didn't like the seasoning, either - way too peppery for my family and I didn't even use the Cayenne. I wanted to make gravy but I was afraid with all that pepper it would just be overwhelming.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurie_bouton January 20, 2010
Crock Pot Whole Chicken