Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    698 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 698

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2013

      Delicious! I left in the crock pot on low for 9 hours. I could have shaved a couple of hours off the time, but it was still wonderful. We had it as a main course. Next time I will use leftovers for chicken wraps or tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      This is such an easy recipe, and it turned out amazing! I did not prepare it overnight, I just put it all together and cooked all day, it literally fell off the bones. The chicken was so moist and flavorful. I can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Kathy - I'm so impressed with this chicken...moist, juicy and bursting with flavor from the top down! Mine took 6 1/2 hours in my crockpot but I had a larger sized chicken. Really a great way to prepare a roasted chicken without the oven. Loved coming home tonight to this meal and so did the hubby and son! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Delicious and easy! A great recipe for a busy day and the aroma wafting through the house is wonderful:) Next time I make this, and I will:), I will cut the cooking time back at least an hour as the breast meat dried out. I poured the juices into a container and will skim off the fat tomorrow after it cools and separates then will freeze for soup. ***If you like fall apart chicken this is a must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      My 4.5 lb. chicken cooked in about 5.5 hours. The rub imparted a good flavor to the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      This was very good, and I will certainly try it again. I made it with a little "nest" of chopped onions under it so the chicken would not be sitting in grease; that worked pretty well, but a friend also suggested balls of tinfoil, which I think would work even better. This really does need to cook 8 hours, in my crockpot. I was surprised that I needed to cook it so long, as my pot is usually speedier on most recipes. I ended up finishing it by roasting in the oven after 7 hours so we could eat dinner. The flavor was superb, texture quite good. Worth a second try, next time on low for a full 8 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I love this recipe. I have made it for my two boys and they loved it. I am making it for my fiance' tonight for the first time. I seasoned the roaster and placed it in the fridge last night. This morning, I added my onions and placed the pot on low and out the door to work I went. He called me when he got home from work this morning and said the kitchen smelled wonderful and he could not wait to eat dinner tonight. I am going to make a pan gravy from the juices and make some mashed potatos and a vegetable to go with it...Thank you again Kathy for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Easy and fast. However, it's very similar to the Costco chickens and that' even easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      This is a great alternative to roasting a chicken in the oven. I would reduce the amount of each spice if you are cooking anything less than a 4 lb bird. DO NOT put any more than 1 tsp of salt, that is insanity. I used less than 1 tsp of salt, I omitted the onion powder and added lemon pepper seasoning. Obviously the cook times vary greatly if you are reading any of these reviews. My 7 quart crock pot cooked a 3-4 bird on low in about 7 hours, yielding less than a cup of liquid. The liquid was strained and used to make gravy which was exceptional, if a little too salty. Definitely crisp up the bird under the broiler for about 10 mins then wrap in aluminum foil for a few minutes before serving. Very tender and juicy. Throw all the bones, skin, onions, etc back in the crock pot, cover with water and cook on low for several hours to make some chicken stock which you can freeze for later use. The aromas while cooking this recipe are heavenly. I only wish a turkey fit into my crock pot because I would be making it this way every Easter/Thanksgiving/Christmas. Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Wonderful recipe, cut the dry ingredients in half using a small chicken for 2 of us. Next time I will pull up the skin and put the spices directly on the meat to get the full flavor thru the meat bypassing the marinating part.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

    • on February 18, 2013

      This doesn't need another review but it was great. I remembered it today so didn't prep it overnight but it was fine. Used an 8 lb roaster on low for a couple of hrs then high for the end. I used half the salt & may skip it next time (yes, there will be a next time). A little peppery but not bad. Fell apart when I took it out but strained it & made a tasty gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This is deliciously easy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I had a big chicken. The first night we snacked on some of the chicken, rice and veggies. Then, I took another reviewer's suggestion and made overnight broth with the bones and extra veggies. I've made cxn soup many ways but this had to be the most flavor-filled broth I've ever made. It was not even necessary to enhance flavor with chemical laden bullion. Granted, in my opinion, good homemade soup takes a bit of time (sieving solids from liquids, skimming fat off cooled broth, squeezing every bit of juicy broth out of cooked veggies) but it was worth it. I still have left over cxn and will use it in quesadillas. Thanks so much for the easy crock pot chicken recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I am now in the process of making the chicken. I followed the recipe to a T and will have a follow up when it is done along with step by step picture's from beginning to end! My crock pot for some reason is much hotter than others. I guess you could call it a super hot pot. I have 2 crock pots and I chose to use the hotter one and will see if it gets a little crisp on the out side of the chicken.I set it on low because if I set it on high it would be done in no time and would loose the flavor of all the spices combining together on the chicken. I combined onion and fresh chopped garlic on the bottom of the crock and then sat the chicken on top of the onion and garlic. I put 1 tablespoon of lemon juice in also. Follow up ///// :There is no doubt that what ever you put in a crock pot will always be tender no matter what type of meat or poultry you put in it if you leave the crock pot go long enough.There is way to much salt in this recipe for me. I would cut the salt in half then go with the other spices. I had it in the crock for 8 hours. I added no water and there was 2 cups of broth for gravy. The skin was not crispy because of all the broth but it did have a good taste (minus the salt) if I would of cut the salt in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Awesome! Its so tender and falling off the bone. We did leave it in for 8 hours on low and it was just fine. Plenty of 'juice' for a gravy. I halved the salt but followed all other instructions. The skin was even a little crispy which was surprising. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      First Delicious!

      Very moist tender, falling apart goodness. Now, I knew I wasn't going to eat the skin, so I didn't care. It made it for sandwiches and for leftovers in the freezer. But it would be equally good for dinner; the skin just didn't that golden brown crisp which I like. But I knew it wouldn't.

      The seasoning was good, but I cut back on the salt; I tend to go light on the salt personally.

      No pop up timer, but I know my crock pot pretty well. Also, I had a smaller chicken - 5 hours on low and it was perfect. I also have a larger pot. If I would of used a large chicken, 6-7 would of been the right amount of time.

      Easy and came out very very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Ideal for later use in soups, stews, pot pies, etc. because after slow cooking on low for about 8-9 hours, the meat completely fell off of the bones. Wouldn't recommend cooking for 8-9 hours if intend to have anything left to slice, but again, PERFECT if intend to use the chicken later in other recipes that are calling for pulled/shredded chicken, or even diced chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      My whole family LOVES this recipe! My 3 stepkids have requested it for everytime they are over - which I will definately do since it is so cost effective and EASY! I double the seasoning recipe for 1 chicken because I like the extra flavor. I rub it generously outside and inside the chicken. Since we don't eat the skin (only because it doesn't get cripsy) the seasoning doesn't get too spicy. My husband and I did the math & todays dinner cost less then $1 per person - we fed 6 with a small lunch leftover. We all recommend this recipe highly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I made this recipe as written, I changed nothing. I threw the chicken out, the taste was awful,
      I have been cooking for 60years and this is one of the few recipes that I would not put on the table. I gave it one star and that is too high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 35

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    64%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2426.7 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites