Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    698 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 698

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2014

      Sorry, but this chicken had a weird taste. Yes, it was nice and tender and that was due to:<br/>1.) brining overnight 2.) first cooking in a crockpot and 3.) then cooking in the broiler.<br/>I will use this method next time I make chicken but I will change the spices to herbs, like rosemary and basil. My family did not care for this particular combination of spices in the recipe. And i don't see how anyone could make "gravy" out of the chicken drippings, which consisted of salty orange grease (orange from all the paprika.) the technique for cooking is good, the choice and amount of spices is not!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This method of cooking the chicken was perfect!!! I imagine you could do any blend of spices and it could be perfect. The salt was too much. Maybe cut it down to 2 teaspoons. I used a whole chicken that was cut up instead since I didn't have a whole chicken. I put it in for 5 hours and it was falling off the bone and the most moist chicken. Even the skin was good! Will be making this with different spices often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      Good with domestic rabbit. Added spices to 1/4 olive oil and rub on skinless meat. Done in 7 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Best whole chicken I've ever tried! I didn't change a thing in the recipe (only used less salt, around 3 tsp); the chicken was so tender (it was cooked for 5 hrs on high mode in the crock pot). My husband & I love it & love the great spice mixture. Thanks a lot for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Excellent! The only thing I'll do different next time is remove the skin. With a few changes in spices this will make delicious shredded chicken tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      After 6 hours, mine came out a bit dry and tasteless. Definitely couldn't taste the spices and it needed more salt (I used 2 tsp). Fortunately, I just put everything back in the crockpot with water and a couple bay leaves and made soup, which saved the chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful fall off the bone chicken. I highly recommend using the left over rub to marinate the vegetables you use when cooking it. Our family adds carrots and potatoes to the recipe and it makes a meal you won't forget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      I tried this recipe on a whim and glad I did! <br/><br/>I followed the recipe exactly, however I left out the white pepper and the onion powder, since I didn't have either. Also I only added 2 teaspoons of salt (like the suggest). I also included the onions. The chicken was falling off of the bone by the time I finally took it out (about 4 hours).<br/><br/>My only suggestion is to broil the chicken for a few minutes after its cooked, this will make the skin crispy! It's well worth it. This recipe is super easy, I think i've found my preferred way to make a roast chicken. With the left over juices I'll be making a broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      yeah tender but the skin is nasty putting mine in the oven to brown it up...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Absolutely love! I cooked the chicken on low for 6 hours and the legs fell off when I was trying to take it out. Never thought that cooking such a delicious whole chicken could be this easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe. I have made this a dozen times and always always turns out perfect. This is my youngest daughters favorite crock pot chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Absolutely delicious!!!! I followed the exact recipe and couldn't be happier with the way the chicken turned out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I had quit cooking chicken in my crockpot a couple of years ago because it always turned out dry, but I saw this recipe and decided to give it a try. I am so glad I did because the chicken was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, including marinating it in the fridge overnight, and it turned out moist and flavorful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      Super delish! Falling off the bone. Skipped the whole overnight thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      As everyone else says, "fall off the bone tender". The broth was fantastic! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      This honestly has to be one of the easiest crock pot chickens I've ever made and it is just so delicious. A little bit of homemade gravy, a quick side of rice and dinner was done! I featured this recipe in my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=464.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Not impressed. It took 7 hours in my crockpot until the popup timer popped. Meat did fall off the bone as advertised, but was very dry (even the dark meat), even though the crock was almost full of juice for a good portion of the cooking time. It's pretty obvious that all that juice came OUT of the meat! Much moister on the rotisserie on the grill or just plain roasted in the oven. Won't waste another whole chicken like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      This was my first whole chicken in the crock pot, and will certainly be the only way I prepare one from now on!! I adjusted the seasonings per our tastes and cooked it right away. Not sure about the weight of my bird, but it was done in about 2 3/4 hours on HIGH, or 180 degrees on meat thermometer. Even though it was very moist, I was able to remove it from the pot all in one piece using a wide spatula. The meat is wonderful on its own, but can also be used in a host of recipes calling for cooked chicken. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks for the inspiration to try new recipes. My crock pot is becoming my new best friend! :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      This is now my go to chicken recipe! I only used 1/2 tsp of salt like other suggested and it came out perfect. The chicken did create its own juices so there was no need for liquid and it was super moist. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 35

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    64%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2426.7 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites