Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    712 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 712

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2010

      This is so easy and so good! I can put this into the crockpot over my lunch hour and have it ready to eat when we get home from work in the evening. The leftover chicken makes great chicken tacos, also. Thanks for sharing, we love this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I took a 5 pound Chicken and put Mrs. Dash Italian medley on it instead of the mix submitted (as italian medley has most of the same stuff without all the sodium. cooked it for 3.5 hours and it is wonderful,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      I know there are a lot of reviews already - but I will never do a whole chicken any other way ever again! I took the advice from one review and left skin on, removing as much fat as I could pull off, and just rubbed spices under the skin. It makes sooo much chicken with such great flavor and sooo moist, I used it for chicken tacos, chicken enchiladas and had some just the way it came out of the crock pot! Thank you so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      "Wow!" was the first word my husband said after taking his first bite! I would have to agree! This chicken is full of flavor with just enough kick to tingle your tastebuds! I did place 1/2 of a lemon and 1/2 of an orange inside the cavity, then squeezed some fresh lemon & orange juice over the bird before placing in the crockpot! Perfect for a Sunday lunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Wow! I loved this recipe so much I finally decided to make a account on here (after getting recipes on here for about 6 years.) The chicken was so tender and had a great flavor! I did what the other posters suggested by broiling it after it was done in the crock pot. MmmMmMm. It was a huge hit! Also I added celery, carrots and garlic and lemon. It made a wonderful gravy, thanks so much for the recipe. I will use this often :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Delicious! I used lemon in the chicken cavity and put it under the broiler like LisaLouWho and served it with Parmesan-Rice-and-Pasta-Pilaf-5034. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Thank you for posting. This is super easy and very good! I cooked it on low for 6 hours and the chicken fell off the bone, which we used for chicken noodle soup and chicken enchiladas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      OMG this was AMAZING!!! I changed up the 4 tsp salt to lemon pepper salt + creole seasoning salt + kosher salt. I also stuffed the chicken with apple slices, cinnamon sticks, rosemary and sage. When it was done cooking in the crockpot sprinkled some more of the rub on the whole bird and then put it in the oven for about 35 mins, to get a lovely brown colour!! The family raved over it!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Tasty combination of seasonings. I unfortunately didn't have onions on hand or white powder, but it was done in 4 hrs on high and very juicy. Thx for sharing =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Well, I guess I am odd one out here. I didn't especially care for this recipe. Part of it was my fault - I left it in the crockpot a little too long and the white meat was kind of dry - tons of juice and fat cooked out. But I didn't like the seasoning, either - way too peppery for my family and I didn't even use the Cayenne. I wanted to make gravy but I was afraid with all that pepper it would just be overwhelming.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Excellent recipe, given 5-stars by the whole extended family after tonight's meal! I tripled the recipe to make three chickens (big crowd), and made the following changes: I reduced the salt significantly (cut it in half), used black pepper instead of white, squirted lemon juice in each chicken's cavity, and inserted 3 garlic cloves and several sprigs of fresh rosemary into each chicken. I also added another 4 or 5 garlic cloves, crushed, with the chopped onions. The flavor was outstanding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This recipe is WILDLY OVER RATED. It's beyond simple to make but tastes like any garden variety stewed chicken. Nothing to write home about here. Might be a way to cook chicken while you prepare a much more interesting sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      I made this the other night, and it was absolutely fabulous! I used a very large bird (5-6lbs) that was skinless, as we raise our own meat chickens and can't be bothered to pluck. Worked out very well, since the spices were actually rubbed on the meat. I cooked this for 6 hours on low, and then an additional hour on high. I also didn't have white pepper, and used smoked paprika. I will make this again, and again, and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This was really easy to make, but it did come out too dry and stringy for me. A good technique, but need to refine the cooking time based on how much chicken you're cooking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      was simple and a real time saver. But I didn't like how the chicken just tasted steamed or boiled. I cooked 2 chickens and used the second to make a huge bowl of chicken salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I thought this recipe was ok. It was not as great as I anticipated. I felt it was to " fall off the bone " for me. Mushy like. It was also very very salty for my liking. I gave it 3 stars because my husband really liked it. It could be used for fajita or taco meat b/c it does fall off the bone into shreds not chunks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      I didn't get the big taste thrill that so many others did. I made as directed, who no creative additions. The kids loved it, but I felt that the chicken was mushy and not very flavorful. The chicken disintegrated in the crock pot, so I used the meat for a chicken and rice dish. This was just not what I had expected.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      I had to go to work, so my daughter did the cooking. It was too late in the day to do it in the crock pot, so she did it in the oven--(also no time for the overnight refridgeration). When I got home from work that night she said it was a really great flavored chicken. There was none left for me to taste :( So when I went to the store I bought two chickens and put in the freezer...the next time we make it I will get to taste. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I made this recipe last night and it was a keeper! My bird took about 8 hours on low and it was definitely fork tender. However, next time I make this, I will decrease the salt in half (only put in 2 teaspoons). It was a little too salty for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Very good, smelled great while cooking. I followed the advice of others and rubbed some of the seasonings between the skin and chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    64%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2426.7 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes