727 Reviews

Great Chicken, The Wife and I both being up in our 70's and not having company this Thanksgiving we figured a chicken would suffice. WELL, your recipe is TOP SHELF. I made it as written. I never modify recipes before I try them. Over 60 years of burning the biscuits I have learned to make it as written. Then and only then do I make changes. The only change for us is reducing the 4 teaspoons of salt to 2. Thank you so much for winner that will be used in this home many times. Merry Christmas to all. Cap'n Jack

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack November 27, 2008

The chicken was so moist. My family ate almost the whole chicken~still have some for lunch to take to work. The spices gave it just the right flavor. Thank you for a great chicken recipe for the crockpot.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 November 10, 2002

Definitely a keeper! We have used this recipe twice with great results. Each time we've used a 7lb. bird, and cooked it for around 6 hours on low in a large crock pot. If your chicken is already brined or packed in broth, you can leave out all the salt, and this recipe still gives the chicken great flavor. Also, cook the chicken breast-side DOWN to keep the white meat from getting dry (you might have to remove and/or relocate the pop-up timer - we've never used one, because the bigger birds don't allow the timer to work because it hits the lid of the crock pot. Just use a probe or a regular thermometer after about 6 hours on low). As others have said, rub some of the spices under the skin for the best results. All in all, a very yummy recipe that we will turn to again and again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmtenor April 30, 2009

This was wonderful and easy. The flavor was great and the meat was sooo tender. This is how I will do my roasting chicken from now on. Out of this world!!!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W February 12, 2003

I made this chicken today. It was so delicious and tender, and very easy to make..

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna021 October 20, 2002

Like everyone else here, I loved this recipe. I made it yesterday. I used two small chickens...each under 3 lbs and was able to fit both in my crock pot (side by side). I cooked it for 7 hours on low. I did mix up some minced fresh garlic with the onions. It was incredibly moist and flavorful. The liquid didn't start showing up till about the 3 - 4 hour mark. I was amazed at how much liquid there was at the end.

After I took out the chicken to put it on a platter, I poured the liquid into a saucepan on the stove. I then added a cornstarch mixture (cornstarch and cold water) to thicken the gravy. I served the chicken and gravy over rice.

For anyone with a slow cooker, I highly, highly recommend this recipe. I have emailed it to my friends to share it with them.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tuftslee16888 April 11, 2011

LOVE this chicken! My boyfriend always raves about it :) I make the spice mix ahead of time so I have a few baggies of it in my cupboard. When it's just me for supper I will sometimes rub the spices on a chicken thigh and pop that in the oven for about 45 min on 350, just as good! :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinouStars March 14, 2010

The best chicken I ever made! Super delicious and tender. The best part of it is the soup I made with the left overs. I added some lemon, white wine and chopped garlic and low sodium organic chicken broth. It is the best soup I have ever had.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanie12 March 21, 2011

If I could give this 100 stars I would. I just couldn't believe the taste of this chicken when I pulled it out. I added some carrots and celery in there, just to give it a little extra. Also, a clove of garlic and lemon inside the chicken. Honestly, this will be my go-to chicken recipe. Thank you so much, Kathy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kroblee June 21, 2010

I am making this chicken for the 3rd time in the last month! I just put a 7 lb bird in the crockpot because my son, his wife and 2 small children are coming to visit from Chicago. These are the very important things I learned from reading many of the reviews. I cut my salt to 1 tsp, used half the amount of cayenne, and 1 tsp. total of pepper. I lifted the breast skin and put the seasoning under it, also 2 small pats of butter. I seasoned the cavity well and sprikled the rest of the seasoning over the rest of the chicken. In the cavity I placed 2 crushed cloves of garlic, slices from half a lemon and a large sprig of rosemary from my garden bended in half. This is what I have done each time and it has been amazing.

If you read a recipe and it sounds like too much salt or anything else use common sense and don't use so much. I think some of the folks are cooking these chickens too long, I have been able to lift the bird (carefully) from the crockpot with succulent, moist tender meat including the breast. My 6qt oval Crockpot cooks a 5 lb chicken on low in around 5-6 hours.

Like everyone says, chill that broth and remove the fat which will harden on top for some amazing chicken noodle soup! I have not tried putting the bones back in to simmer but plan to this time.

I NEVER expected this recipe to be so good and it it fabulous!!! Thank you so much!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amazing Grace December 22, 2012
Crock Pot Whole Chicken