Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    709 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 709

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2003

      If I've learned nothing else about crockpot cooking (I use my crockpot at least twice a week), is that chicken is very unpredictable when done in a slow cooker. One second too long and it turns out terrible. So I've sworn off chicken in the crockpot forever. I've made this recipe twice, the first time it was great, this week it was terrible. Just be careful of the time cooked, it will ruin it if it's done too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Made this recipe with 4 chicken thighs..came out great.. 4 hrs on high was plenty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      I was reviewing the comments on this recipe with the intention to try it out, and I saw a few people mention how it says not to cook a whole chicken in a crockpot. I did some research on it, and here's what I found: "I've heard you shouldn't cook whole chickens from frozen in a crock pot because it keeps them at a warm, not hot temperature for too long while they are defrosting and bacteria can grow." So as long as the chicken is fully thawed prior to cooking in the crockpot, it should be okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This was okay, I went exactly by the directions but is just didn't turn out that tasteful. The chicken fell off the bone but it was just bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      Decided to remove the skin from the chicken first, then apply the rub and refrigerate overnight. A 5 pound hen finished on low in 5 hours. A bit spicy for my taste but perfect for Dh and the juices made an outstanding gravy when thickened with cornstarch and served over mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      A very nice recipe. I followed the recipe as written, only I cooked it on high for 3 1/2 hrs. I really liked the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. It was so simple and easy and had a wonderful flavor. As promised it was the most tender chicken I have ever eaten. I will be making this alot in the future. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      I cooked it exactly as said, and it was just toooo tender we thought. It had a good flavor, but it was very very mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      I think the chicken was just too cooked by 8 hours. Taste is good but texture dull.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      Back in 1985 when I was single and working long hours, I used to make sure I had supper ready for myself and my roommate by putting a whole frozen chicken in the crock pot before leaving in the morning and let it cook all day. Sometimes, the lid wouldn't even close completely until the chicken had cooked for awhile. I'd just sprinkle whatever spices I could grab over the frozen chicken and let 'er rip on Low. No liquid was necessary because the chicken made the most wonderful juices and the skin crisped up so nicely. It smelled so good when coming in the house when you're exhausted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2014

      I'm not sure how I could've screwed this up but it did not turn out. I am giving it the two stars cause we did eat it, however it was in the homemade chicken pot pie recipe I made. I cooked it on low for the day and when I came home, it did have its own juices like the recipe states. However, when I pulled the bird out of the crockpot (and ye was really falling apart) and set it aside, it just did not have a good texture to it. And, I had my husband taste it after it had come out of the crockpot for about 20 minutes and he said it was dry! I honestly don't understand how meat that's cooked in its own juiced could be dry, but it was!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      Made this exactly as the recipe said. cooked on low until timer popped up. A roasting chicken that was 6-7 #'s. I have to tell you that this was the driest chicken I have ever eaten, though there was tons of liquid when I removed it from pot. 2 of us ate dinner and I threw the rest away. A waste of time and money.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Made this for dinner tonight and was very well received by my family. I put 2 tsp. of salt, but maybe for our taste, 3 would be better if the 4 is a bit too much. I used the cooking liquid that was with left with the onions for a delicious couscous side dish. I finely chopped the onions and added some fresh cilantro when i added the dry couscous to the cooking liquid. There were some leftovers too, so chicken salad will be in our future. Thank You Kathy for a easy and delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      Almost 100 degrees all week and trying to not use the oven. This is the best chicken I have ever made, bar none. The seasoning is perfect. A little spicy for the kids but they loved the meat from deeper inside the bird. I made two changes based on necessity, so I only had black pepper, and I cooked this chicken on a layer of baby carrots since I had no onion. I put the rub on the outside and cavity of the bird, as well as rubbing it under the skin on the breast, back, and thighs. The only sounds at dinner last night were "mmmmm"s, so thanks for sharing a great recipe. I'll try this in the rotisserie next time to crisp the skin up. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      I some how forgot to rate this and have been making it for over 12 months! Fabulous and easy, great to cook a chook for meals that require coked and shredded chicken or to have shredded chicken in the freezer. If I am making this for that nights dinner, I always add small new potatoes on the bottom. Such a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      This recipe is by far one of our favorites! It could not be any easier. Occasionally when I prepare it, I might be out of one of the spices so I substitute another one and it has always turned out great. I will admit to adding a stick of butter to the recipe! I place 2 of the tablespoons under the chicken skin and the remaining 6 tablespoons inside the cavity of the chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This litterally took me 3 minutes to get into the crock pot in the morning and the house smelt amazing when I walked in the door. The chicken fell apart taking it out of the pot, it was so moist and tender. The whole family enjoyed it. I used a small chicken and a very large crock pot - the breasts were a tad dry, I might turn the chicken upside down next time. I stuffed the cavity with lemon wedges and made a bed of onion in the bottom of the crockpot. I cut way down on the salt (1/4) and it was perfect that way. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Not impressed. It took 7 hours in my crockpot until the popup timer popped. Meat did fall off the bone as advertised, but was very dry (even the dark meat), even though the crock was almost full of juice for a good portion of the cooking time. It's pretty obvious that all that juice came OUT of the meat! Much moister on the rotisserie on the grill or just plain roasted in the oven. Won't waste another whole chicken like this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Made this for the first time yesterday and it was delicious. I struggled to get it out of the slow cooker as it just fell to pieces it was so tender. The spices had given it a lovely taste and I did as someone else had suggested and put the chicken on onion, celery, carrots and parsnips to cook. I then added an extra 1.5 litres and all the skin and bones back into the slow cooker for about 7 hours on low and got a beautiful stock. Will definitely be making this my normal roast chicken recipe, so much less stress when its in the slow cooker!
      ps I had my chicken upside down to keep the breast moist, but will try breast up next time. The skin was lovely and crispy on top though, my husband loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      EXCELLENT! The only way I am doing a whole chicken from now on. The spice mixture is perfect! Took 5 hours in the crock pot. Yummy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    64%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2426.7 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites