719 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe, given 5-stars by the whole extended family after tonight's meal! I tripled the recipe to make three chickens (big crowd), and made the following changes: I reduced the salt significantly (cut it in half), used black pepper instead of white, squirted lemon juice in each chicken's cavity, and inserted 3 garlic cloves and several sprigs of fresh rosemary into each chicken. I also added another 4 or 5 garlic cloves, crushed, with the chopped onions. The flavor was outstanding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb in TX January 14, 2010

This recipe is WILDLY OVER RATED. It's beyond simple to make but tastes like any garden variety stewed chicken. Nothing to write home about here. Might be a way to cook chicken while you prepare a much more interesting sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quit2k January 08, 2010

I made this the other night, and it was absolutely fabulous! I used a very large bird (5-6lbs) that was skinless, as we raise our own meat chickens and can't be bothered to pluck. Worked out very well, since the spices were actually rubbed on the meat. I cooked this for 6 hours on low, and then an additional hour on high. I also didn't have white pepper, and used smoked paprika. I will make this again, and again, and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelseyKalle May 20, 2009

This was really easy to make, but it did come out too dry and stringy for me. A good technique, but need to refine the cooking time based on how much chicken you're cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tai Chi Momma April 27, 2009

was simple and a real time saver. But I didn't like how the chicken just tasted steamed or boiled. I cooked 2 chickens and used the second to make a huge bowl of chicken salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom December 28, 2008

I thought this recipe was ok. It was not as great as I anticipated. I felt it was to " fall off the bone " for me. Mushy like. It was also very very salty for my liking. I gave it 3 stars because my husband really liked it. It could be used for fajita or taco meat b/c it does fall off the bone into shreds not chunks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
learning-2B-healthy February 24, 2008

I didn't get the big taste thrill that so many others did. I made as directed, who no creative additions. The kids loved it, but I felt that the chicken was mushy and not very flavorful. The chicken disintegrated in the crock pot, so I used the meat for a chicken and rice dish. This was just not what I had expected.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 148068 September 07, 2005

I had to go to work, so my daughter did the cooking. It was too late in the day to do it in the crock pot, so she did it in the oven--(also no time for the overnight refridgeration). When I got home from work that night she said it was a really great flavored chicken. There was none left for me to taste :( So when I went to the store I bought two chickens and put in the freezer...the next time we make it I will get to taste. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyRose November 28, 2003

I made this recipe last night and it was a keeper! My bird took about 8 hours on low and it was definitely fork tender. However, next time I make this, I will decrease the salt in half (only put in 2 teaspoons). It was a little too salty for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa M. November 03, 2003

Very good, smelled great while cooking. I followed the advice of others and rubbed some of the seasonings between the skin and chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Stewart October 29, 2003
Crock Pot Whole Chicken