Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    709 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 709

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2012

      Excellent!! Made as directed. I added a cup of rice the last 1/2 an hour of cooking as another reviewer suggested. DH couldn't get enough, lovely blend with the broth, mushrooms and rice. The one thing I will do differently next time is to remove some of the oil that accumulates from the chicken before I add the rice. It will definitely be in my rotation, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      oh so easy, and cooked chicken for meals later in the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Finally tried this recipe and it is keeper; about time there's a recipe for a whole chicken in a slow cooker. I doubled the spice ingredients because it didn't seem enough for the chicken I had. I reduced the salt to 2 teaspoons (doubled to 4), used 1 medium onion chopped, substituted amarillo (hot) chili powder for the cayenne, and eliminated white pepper (I don't have any). I did let the seasoned chicken refrigerate overnight (turned 3 times) and poured the leftover spice rub into the bag with the chicken. This recipe is a keeper and I will use it again. It took about 6 hours in my Hamilton Beach slow cooker for the chicken to be done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      Very delicious and the best part was that it was EASY! The chicken practically fell off the bone when I lifted it out of the crockpot. Thank you for this recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I have made this twice now, and it's an incredible chicken. Makes amazing cold chicken sandwiches for the next several days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I did not like the spice mixture, a bit more cajun than expected, too hot/spicy (even after I halved the cayenne) and peppery, and didn't like the blend w/thyme for my taste buds. The chicken was tender and juicy. I would go with some other rub, maybe more rotisserie style....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Melt in your mouth chicken with amazing flavor. This is definitely going into my favorites file!!!
      I have some fresh rosemary, so I cut one in half and put it on each side of a turkey breast with everything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      I loved this recipe for the simplicity of it! I had a small roaster that I had taken out of the freezer last night. It was still partially frozen when I put it in the crock pot this morning and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. Since the weather has changed and it got hot, I will serve the meat cold with some pasta salads. The meat turned out nice and tender. I would definately do this one again! Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Great flavor and very moist. I made stock with the broth and cant wait to use it in soup it was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      This is just brilliant! I use half chicken as there is only hubby and me, rub the spices all over the chicken (skin, under the skin and bones) and let it sit for 3 hours before cooking as recipe suggested. I cooked it for 4.5hours on low and the chicken came out soft and moist but still sticking to the bones so it didn't look like a gross mess. I skimmed the fats off the stock and made gravy with it by frying some mushrooms with 2 tablespoons of butter, add 1 table spoon of flour and then pour the gravy into it so it'll thicken up. The gravy is superb and very flavourful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      This my go-to roasted chicken recipe. I haven't tried it in the crock pot yet, but I definitely want to try it that way sometime. I mixed the spices together and put them in an empty spice container. I've found that for a 4-lb chicken, I only need about 1/3 of the amount of spices listed. Brining the chicken first makes it so tender. This tastes so good! It's got such a great flavor, with just a tiny bit of spice. It's really good on grilled vegetables, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      I used a reviewers suggestion and used bone in breasts. The spices really make the dish.I roasted a bit in oven once done.Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      This recipe was delicious! The chicken was very flavorful, tender and juicy. I just made it with a little twist. I didn't have the garlic powder and onion powder, so I used 1 clove of garlic (minced) and 1 tbsp of dry onion (minced). I omitted the cayenne pepper and put a bunch of fresh golden lemon thyme inside the cavity. I served it with roasted vegetables and my husband loved it! My stepdaughter is coming to visit next Friday and I will prepare this chicken again. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      This was so easy and delicious!! I didn't use a large roaster chicken - just about a 3 1/2lb chicken and it only took 4hrs on low. It was falling off the bone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Normally I don't tweak recipes, but I didn't have white pepper on hand so I used black pepper. I let the rub stay on overnight, but used a rotisserie. This chicken was nothing short of PHENOMENAL! I'm quite sure I would get the same results in the crock pot. My petite wife ate as much as I did!! This chicken is "off the charts" good!! Oh, I only used 2 tsp. of salt (as suggested by other reviews). Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I was skeptical, but it was great! Started it off in my crock pot, cooked it for about 4-5 hours, then put it in my oven to brown it. Since my oven has a built in thermometer I used that to gauge how cooked it was. After it was browned, I put in a dish, covered with tin foil and transfered to my lower oven to keep warm a couple of hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      This is the easiest and most delicious way to make a whole chicken. This recipe has become a staple in our house. After cooking I put it under the broiler for 10-15 mins to make it extra crispy and golden brown. Thanks Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I recieved the highest compliment you can get for Crock Pot recipes. "It was good. Tasted like you baked it". I did make a few modifications. I lightly coated the chicken with olive oil. Then, I did not add salt but added seasoning salt, italian seasoning, garlic salt, and poultry seasoning along with the other seasonings in the recipe. I placed the onions on the bottom along with 5 diced cloves of garlic, and 1/2 of diced haberno pepper. Then I placed the chicken on top and allowed to marinate all night. I cooked on low for 8 hours in the morning. When I got home that evening, I put the chicken in the corningware pot (from the crockpot) in the oven and broiled on low for about 15-30 minutes until lightly browned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      absolutely great tasting chicken. will pass the recipe around the family. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This slow cooker method saves time and energy. Quick and easy, and the best part is, no stove heating up the kitchen all day. You can easily put this together the night before, and just start it the next morning. So, easy my husband actually made it.(He's not really the cooking type.) It was super tasty too! Also, the left-overs make awesome sandwiches, and a throw together soup. one of my go-to recipes if I'm busy, but want a nice dinner at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 36

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    64%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2426.7 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites