Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    699 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 699

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2011

      I have made this twice now and it is WONDERFUL! The meat is fall off the bone tender, juicy and so flavorful! Instead of putting onion in the bottom of the crock, I used an aluminum foil packet filled with cubed potatoes seasoned with salt, pepper and butter. Oh my gosh, the potatoes were soooo good. I used the leftover chicken breast to make Easy Homemade Chicken Salad the next day. Yum!!! *Update* - I've discovered if you add the bones and skin back into the liquid that was left in your crock pot, add 5-6 cups of water and whatever vegetables you have on hand (carrots, celery, onion) and cook overnight (12 hours) on LOW, it will make a WONDERFUL stock. Filter the bones and veggies out, and store the stock in containers in the fridge. After a few hours the fat will solidify on the top and can be removed. The stock can then be frozen until needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      I have been making chicken this way since 1999 when I got the recipe from a recipe loop I was in. It is the best!! I usually prepare it the "original" way which calls for roasting it at 250 degrees for 5 hours but when I'm not able to be home I put it in the crockpot. The only other thing I do when I cook it in the crockpot is to transfer the chicken to a baking dish and put it under the broiler to crisp up the chicken a bit. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      This is absolutely the best way to make a whole chicken. It doesn't get any tender than this. I used a little wine the third time and then saved the stock to make chicken soup. It was incredible. I have given this recipe to all of the girls at work because most of them only cook out of a box and they LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      Scrumptious! Spice mix gave a great colour to the chicken and the amount of cayenne just the right 'kick'. Ive noticed how white chicken meat becomes when cooked in a crock pot, very appealing. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This is a fool-proof recipe. Love it. I transfer the chicken to a cookie sheet to brown under the broiler for a couple of minutes (it eliminates the most of the "greasy" parts that people complain about). Also, the gravy from the sauce is amazing! Pour the juices into a small pot on the stove. Add 2 Tbs cornstarch to about 1/2 cups COLD water, let it dissolve, and then slowly pour it into juices on medium heat, so the gravy starts to bubble and thicken. (Don't pour too much in too quickly or it'll turn into cement!) :)

      My boyfriend and I always have this with mashed potatoes, corn and biscuits! Also, quesadillas with the leftovers are highly recommended! We also like to use the chicken for deluxe salads. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      A very wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe without making any changes. My crockpot specifically says NOT to cook a whole chicken in it, so OF COURSE I had to try it! The spice mixture was really great; I may use it in the summer when I grill chickens on the kettle grill. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      This is a deliciously moist and flavorful chicken recipe. I don't think it could get any more tender than this! We enjoyed our supper so much this evening! I prepared the rub the evening before and put the chicken in the refridgerator over night. The house smelled heavenly all day while the chicken cooked in the crockpot. I thickened the juices for gravy to serve over mashed potatoes as a side and served with egg twist rolls and a zucchini casserole side dish. It just doesn't get any easier than this! Thank you for posting this simply delicious recipe! I will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Outstanding recipe!! I made it with the lemon adaptation and it was wonderful. I'm diabetic so the left overs have been made into chicken and cheese quesadillas for my evening snacks. the absolute best seasoning mixture. I will try the under the skin method next time. No doubt there won't be any more oven time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      not only is this chicken the best i've had, it was so simple to prepare. I used the spices listed and put some under the breast skin. Cooked on low for 10 hours. This is the first I've done in a slow cooker and I'll never use the oven again. Keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      This is a great recipe. For lack of time, I bypassed the refrigerator step. The chicken was falling off the bone tender. The juices were defatted, strained, thickened and used as gravy-delicious and oh so easy! Thanks alot! It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      I don't have a crock pot, soooo I used my oven I used your exact recipe, placed the chicken in a Watrless Dutch oven. I placed the pot ina 200 F oven and cooked it overnight. It is simply delicious. I have never had such soft tender meat all over. I have not served it yet. but I tated it. I think its a "keeper" I'm serving it for dinner tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      I used bone-in chicken breast instead of a whole chicken and I reduced the cooking time to 4 1/2 hours. This was excellent. The best chicken I have ever made in a crockpot!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      The spices gave the chicken a delicious flavor! The chicken was very moist, in fact, I had a hard time pulling it out of the crockpot because it was falling apart. However, the taste was wonderful. We had leftovers, so my DH and I will be enjoying it again today as a chicken salad sandwich. I'll be making this chicken recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I made this with the hope that it would be moist enough to feed to my 9 month old baby. And it WAS! He loved it. It's moister than Rotisserie chicken and so flavorful. I don't agree with the others about going overboard on the salt. We don't eat the skin so really how much salt are you getting when just eating the meat?? Also one of the comments below said the breast meat was a little dry, that's hard for me to believe unless it's cooked without the skin to hold in the moisture OR the lid was removed during cooking. It's pretty difficult to overcook in a crockpot, so I don't think that was the issue. I did also stuff it with garlic cloves and lemon wedges. I was able to use the leftovers in many other recipes for the rest of the week. Great way to save money and it's the BEST whole chicken recipe ever! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This is one recipe that I often use...in fact, I make several batches of seasoning at the same time and store them in ziplock bags so that really makes this a fix it and forget. Thanks. I like to put the chicken on a sheet of aluminum foil in the crockpot and then leave extra long sides so when I am ready to take the chicken out--it comes out in one piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      I thought this was an easy to make, spicy recipe, that was really good! I took the skin off my chicken and rubed the sprices on the meat before cooking because I'm always trying to cut down on fat for health reasons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      Yes, it was moist, yes it was tender, but it just was sort of blah and the texture was odd. I'll use the remainder for casseroles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      WOW!!! I never thought something so simple could turn out so amazing. First time cooking a whole chicken in the crock. Made just like recipe instructed. It really was hands down the BEST chicken I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      This is a great recipe! I made it exactly as written and it was very good. I polled my family as to whether or not they thought it was a 'keeper' and my daughter wouldn't stop chewing to answer, she just quickly nodded her head. Thanks for a great crock pot recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Great Chicken, The Wife and I both being up in our 70's and not having company this Thanksgiving we figured a chicken would suffice. WELL, your recipe is TOP SHELF. I made it as written. I never modify recipes before I try them. Over 60 years of burning the biscuits I have learned to make it as written. Then and only then do I make changes. The only change for us is reducing the 4 teaspoons of salt to 2. Thank you so much for winner that will be used in this home many times. Merry Christmas to all. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 35

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    64%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2426.7 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites