120 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent!! I read the other reviews and changed a few things: chopped up half of an onion and layered it under the chicken when I placed it in the bottom of the crock pot, added a can of yellow corn, a can of diced tomatoes, and chopped up half of a jalapeno pepper to add some kick (I'm saving the other half of the pepper to slice as a garnish). Other than that I did everything the same. I put everything in the crock pot last night and just shredded the chicken this morning. It is so SO good, we are having a hard time waiting to get into it before the football game today! I will serve the sour cream separately. Right now the soup tastes just perfect and I don't want to change anything!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridget.hinegardner October 02, 2011

I used navy beans, yellow corn, and mild green chilies, as that was what I had at home. I completely forgot to add the sour cream and only had cheddar cheese instead of Monterey Jack, but we all enjoyed it very much. Definitely going into the keeper file :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy September 14, 2010

So I googled White Chicken Chili and this recipe popped up. After reading the reviews, I thought ok, sounds good, but 5 stars-really? OMG...it is an amazing recipe. I don't know what makes it so good, but yum!!! I subsituted a few things too, whatever I had in my pantry. I used creamed corn, small white beans and the seasoning mix from a chicken chili kit I bought. Thank God I didn't just use the kit, it would have paled in comparison!!! The recipe doesn't need any additional salt or seasoning. The sour cream adds just the right little something! We now have the makings for this recipe in our house at all times, for cold snowy days and it is our comfort food "go to" recipe! Thanks food.com!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LynnM1223 January 13, 2011

Yummy! Hadn't planned on changing anything, but realized that I only had cream of mushroom soup in the pantry and no cream of chicken. It was still delicious! We'll definitely make this again and again and I'm sure it'll be even better with the right kind of soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dandimae February 11, 2011

This was a wonderful, simple and satisfying dish! I made a few changes, according to what had in my pantry. I put 1/2 chopped onion in the bottom of the crockpot. I didn't have taco seasoning, so after I placed chicken tenders on the onion, I sprinkled them with some garlic salt and poured on a 10 oz can of green enchilada sauce. After adding the corn and one can of rinsed white beans and one can of rinsed black beans, I mixed another can of green enchilada sauce with the soup, broth and chopped green chilies. After the chicken was cooked and shredded, and the sour cream was added, I topped it with shredded cheese and chopped cilantro, since there were already onions in the dish. I served it with cornbread. Some of my kids chose to put the cornbread in the same bowl with their chili (yummy!), and some ate it separately. Either way it was really delicious. My only regret was that, with everyone going back for seconds or thirds, there were no leftovers. I will definitey be making this again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momrom March 29, 2010

Made this tonight, the only thing I changed was I added garlic and onions to the bottom of the crocpot and then added the chicken. IT'S SOOOO GOOD! Everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany F. November 18, 2013

Fantastic recipe. Easy to follow and turned out delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenincincinnati March 07, 2012

HUGE hit at our house. I keep the ingredients on hand, as it is a highly requested meal. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viedvacker January 18, 2012

My husband and I both agree that this recipe is amazing! It's great throwing everything in the crockpot and having a delicious dinner ready when I get home from work. We enjoy eating ours with tortilla chips.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyJoann August 01, 2011

This was my first attempt at chili and I was amazed at the results! My whole family loved it, including my children who are 7, 3 and 2. It was simple, cheap, easy and delicious! I will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KookingMomto4 March 30, 2011
Crock Pot White Chicken Chili