10 Reviews

This was just OK. I went ahead and halved the amount of sugar based on reading reviews, and it was still a little too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene December 30, 2009

I think this dish has potential. I only used half the requested amount of sugar and it was still way to sweet for my family. I think more veggies and less sugar would make this a very nice meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom April 03, 2009

This was good, but very sweet! I omitted the bell pepper because I don't like them. After the sauce had finished cooking, I thickened it with cornstarch and added a little chili paste for some spice. Served this with sticky rice and steamed broccoli. All in all an easy and tasty meal. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea February 03, 2009

Good concept, I didn't like that everything turns the same color in the crockpot..and it was a bit too much sugar. Next time, I will add pineapple later in the cooking so it keeps some color and stays crunchier and not soft. I will also reduce sugar and add more veggies. A recipe worth trying again, though the first go round wasn't a success. thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EllaP July 27, 2007

this was really easy to make and something a little bit different for a week day meal. a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boozysoozy February 16, 2007

I really loved this, and even after freezing..its still very tasty. I made Jasmine rice (sticky rice) to go with this dish. It was a perfect blend. And the house smelled so good while this dish was cooking. Very easy to prepare too. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
homegrown6975 September 27, 2006

Good recipe- really easy to make. It's so nice to toss, turn on the heat and go. I cut this recipe in half and used Splenda brown sugar instead of regular. I wasn't sure if I should use the juice from the pineapple, so I didn't and mine turned out fine. I also added some ginger in there too. Thanks for posting! I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurtonFanatic May 02, 2006

Great Recipe!! No picky eaters in site here. Thank Goodness...I saved the peppers and onions to the last hour of cooking. Love the crunch. Went over really great. My friend and family loved it. Thank You very much for a wonderful recipe. Hugs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda June 06, 2005

My family loved this chicken! I used a whole chicken and added about 3 cups of water. Before putting the bird in the crockpot, I punctured it all over to help infuse the meat with the flavors of the juice. It was great. My husband wanted to give it 9 stars! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch April 06, 2005

This was very simple to prepare. I cooked it for 6 hours rather than 7 on low. It was very flavorful and tender. I kept the onions and peppers in larger pieces so they could be easily removed by picky eaters. Although they didn't like the peppers, my children thought the chicken was delicious, and asked me to make it again. I really liked the easy one dish clean up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amethyst moonsong March 06, 2005
Crock Pot Waikiki Chicken