Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Very Best Beef BBQ Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Very Best Beef BBQ

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2003

      This recipe had its ups and downs – 99% ups, 1% downs – here’s the skinny. A generous co-worker recently donated a crockpot to our office staff. In the same breath that he used to make his announcement of the donation, he said, “OK, Miller, you’re the chef in the house – DO something with it!” So I subsequently trotted up the street to my friendly butcher buddy’s shop and he cut me a beautiful, well-marbled beef shoulder that was just a fraction under 3 pounds. I cut it into thick slices instead of cubes (best I could do with the very rudimentary kitchen tools that we have at work) and put it in the crock with the onions (I went a bit overboard on these in the interest of yumminess) and bouillon. The following morning, the office early bird who gets in to work at the crack of yes-it’s-still-dark took it out of the fridge and turned it on at the high setting. At 10:30 a.m., I checked it and it was very nicely done. When I tried lifting the beef out with a fork, I discovered that I had made a very smart mistake – I must have inadvertently bought “self-shredding” beef. The stuff was just falling apart into little pieces – absolutely beautiful. Now here’s the very, very minor 1% down – when I drained off all the liquid from the crock, I had only 1 ½ cups, so I had to add another ½ cup of bouillon to make the sauce part of the recipe – no big deal at all. The only minor deviation that I made from the listed sauce ingredients was to use homemade ketchup (Banana Ketchup) because it’s low in sodium. By lunch time, the entire office smelled like the best BBQ joint in town. By the end of our lunch break, four of us had cleaned that crock out completely - there was not a shred (pun intended) of beef left. Served it on big, fat Kaiser rolls with freshly-made cole slaw from a nearby Pennsylvania Dutch farmers’ market on the side. The donated crockpot has found a permanent and happy home. To coin a phrase that has been flogged more than any dead horse, this stuff is to-die-for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      I'm not going to rate this because I think it was my fault we didn't like it very much. I only used 3/4 cup of drippings to shave off calories and made up the difference with water. The result was too vinegary. I did make the chili sauce sub listed, so that may have been the prob. I also only used 3/4 tsp of allspice but I still think it was too much. I always like your recipes, Mirj so I'm sure it was my fault and am posting this review for future ref.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Best BBQ sauce I have ever had. I didn't have any chili sauce, but the link gave a recipe to replace it that I used. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup because I can't have much. Very delicious! Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Almost perfect! First, I didn't cut the meat into cubes - absolutely no need and a waste of time. Just get a nice rump roast and believe me, when it is time to shred the beef, it just falls apart. This recipe is very tasty but I got many comments that it could be spicier so next time, maybe add a few drops of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I really really wanted to like this recipe. It was simple to make & sounded wonderful. But... After making it the way the recipe called for (except for the onions) it tasted too much like ketchup for my taste. I then added 2 tsp A1 sauce, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic, more salt & pepper, & more vinegar. The extra ingredients got rid of the ketchup taste but it still only tasted ok. I doubt if I make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      This was YUMMY!!! I made half the recipe and didn't even drain it--just shredded it in the crockpot. There wasn't much liquid leftover, but it was great! We'll definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      This is a pleasant enough recipe but not, in my kitchen, worthy of repeating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      I don't own a crockpot, so slow cooked this in the oven for about three hours instead: I haven't yet found Allspice here, and we are not used to spicy foods so I minced a just a few pieces of Japapeno pepper from out of a jar I had, and the addition gave flavour without sending the family into orbit :) Please see my rating system... I don't give 5 stars very often: this recipe got them because the meat was full of flavour, it was so tender and soft that it fell to pieces and was tasty amost to a fault. I made far more than we needed for one meal and even though we'd all stuffed ourselves with seconds, while the leftovers were standing cooling before going into the fridge we kept going back and stealing bits out of the pot. This also used a cheap cut of meat to give maximum taste and was easy to make. Great taste on a budget, and a firm favourite recipe at ours from now on. An excellent 5 stars ...Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      My goodness, this is very, very good! Wouldn't change a thing - and it's making great leftovers. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      Well Mirj, this was fabulous! First off though, I hope you're not offended but I made this with pork since I had some in the freezer (where is that blushy face thing when I need it?) which is why I was looking for a BBQ recipe in the first place. I had to add some garlic as I do to most things and tapered down the chili sauce because the family is not big on spice (wimps) but this was VERY good anyway. I think I will make it with beef next time as the sauce seems very bold and would do well with beef. Thanks again for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Very Best Beef BBQ

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1679.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1453
    86%
    Total Fat 161.5 g
    248%
    Saturated Fat 66.9 g
    334%
    Cholesterol 224.7 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1414.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 27.0 g
    108%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites