Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Venison Stew With Bacon and Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Venison Stew With Bacon and Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      This was amazing. I hadn't had Venison before, and this was a great way to try it. It turned out beautifully. Thank you for this recipe. I didn't have balsamic vinegar, but it still turned out. My DH couldn't get enough! I also served this with mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      This was totally delicious. For once, I followed the recipe exactly. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      We were given an elk shoulder roast and wasn't sure how to cook it. Found this recipe and gave it a try. The only thing I did differently was added a can of diced tomatoesand some Penzey's Northwoods seasoning. At the end I pulled the meat off the bone (like I would pull a pork shoulder) and added it back in with the veggies & liquid. This created more of a ragu. I then added cooked wide noodles. It was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Looking for a different way to make Venison I picked this recipe.

      Wow did I pick a winner! We all loved the flavor of this. Because I did not have smokey bacon I added some smoke flavor to this.

      Can't wait to make this dish for my parents who grew up on venison. Wow are they going to be surprised with this one.

      Thank you for posting this recipe for us to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      This recipe is great! I entered it in one of our dog clubs stew contests and won!!! The Balsamic really helps the flavor i always add a lil more! It does have a nice kick that i wasn't aware of but I think that it really adds to the stew! Thanks so much 4 sharing!
      -God Bless

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      I've made this recipe three times and everyone loved it! I did add potatoes to the dish because the people I was cooking for loved their potatoes. I did double all the ingredients except the mushrooms as TLynne suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Lovely stew recipe. I love venison but DH doens't care much for the wild taste. He did however love this stew and said it did not taste wild at all. Will make this again, thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      We LOVED it ( singing and dancing here) It was my first time cooking venison. I did soak the meat in milk before cooking. Doubled all ingredients Except for the mushrooms. Left that at 12 oz. My only other change was that I added about 12 Golden Youkon Potatoes (diced) to the pot and skipped the rice/noodles. Took it to a Bon Fire and was a Big hit. Of course Soldiers eat anything thats been home-cooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I am rating this recipe based on what my SO and his coworkers told me. I made this for him to take to a potluck just before Christmas. Followed the recipe completely except I did not have a bay leaf but the thyme should have made it really unnoticeable. I did add potatoes. From reading the recipe I would have believed it to be very flavorful but the comments he and the others said was that it was very plain. That is needed more spice or something. I will make it again when they go on their annual ice fishing trip and perhaps add some hot spice to it. Will review again after that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      I'm sorry but we did not care for this recipe. I think it was the thyme. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      i added taters - yukon gold to go with the alaska flavour - some good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      SO TASTY!!! I will definately be fixing this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Venison Stew With Bacon and Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.9
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    31%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 29.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 227.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 36.0 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes