Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Vegetarian Minestrone Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Vegetarian Minestrone Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2014

      I make this every other week, occasionally modifying it here and there. This week I added a summer squash, for example, and a whole bunch of extra kale. When I don't have barley, I've used farro, pearled couscous or whatever other grain-type I have in the cabinet. I also love spices, so I go super-heavy on the italian spices - basil, thyme, oregano, parsley, etc. I've been doing this for months and have yet to tire of it! It makes about 8 2 cup servings. I portion them and stick them in the freezer. It is healthy, hearty and perfect for lunches!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Wonderful recipe! Makes for a hearty, flavorful, rich and healthy soup. Filled even our largest crock pot TO THE RIM. :)

      Made a few modifications, mostly additions: 1/2 cup frozen cut green beans, diced 1/2 red pepper, only used 1 onion (should have diced it), and used a mix of beans - 1 cup red kidney, 1/2 cup garbonzo, 2 cups white beans, 1 can of diced red tomatoes.

      Also added a generous splash of soy sauce at the end and blended to give it a creamier/thicker consistency. Spiced to taste.

      Will be freezing a bunch of this to eat for weeks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This is a good soup that lends itself to variations. I used brown rice in place of the barley and added more broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This makes a massive crock pot full of soup! Very rich with a sort of thick tomato broth, which seemed to please the children. Hearty, tasty and ridiculously easy. Very enjoyable and I look forward to the leftovers tomorrow. (At least enough for 2 meals for our family of 4). I added everything in the order listed, exactly as written (touch more garlic). I'd suggest doing the broth last because I'm not joking about it 'just' fitting my crock pot... :) Thanks Mersay, great recipe! (Veg Swap Jan10)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      This was really good. All my children ate it, too, which is a big plus. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and added some fresh chopped basil since I didn't have italian tomatoes. I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Good, healthy soup. I am glad I waited until the second day to review as the soup is better after sitting in the fridge for a day. Although it would no longer be vegetarian, I think it would be better with chicken broth. Today I added in some broken up spaghetti when I reheated it. I thought it improved it without being a huge calorie increase. The barley is wonderful and it could go to 3/4 cup easily. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Delicious soup which we enjoyed with sandwiches. I used rice instead of barley and also skipped the parsley and the grated cheese. Made for vegi swap Jan '10. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Great soup. I added spinach instead of kale. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This was delicious! I doubled the vegetables and used black beans and spinach (instead of other beans and kale). I didn't add any barley and it was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Made this for company the other day & this was a WONDERFULLY TASTY addition to the vegetarian dinner we had! The only minor changes I made were to use lemon pepper instead of the usual S&P, & to have grated cheese on the side as optional! The next time I make it, however, I'll definitely do so the day before serving, 'cause, as in JanuaryBride's review, I thought it much more flavorful the next day! Thanks for the great recipe keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a recipenap in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 16]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      LOVE IT!!! Love minestrone in general, but I applaud the use of barley which ups the health factor greatly from the commonly used pasta. The barley also makes this soup thick and rich, stick to your ribs, perfect as a main course for a meal. The only change I made was to add a bunch of seasoning salt in the end. I made this yesterday and put it in the fridge for the flavors to marry and it is MUCH better on day 2!!! Serve with some crusty bread and it's a done deal. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Vegetarian Minestrone Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.2
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    39%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 635.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    fresh kale

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites