12 Reviews

This makes a massive crock pot full of soup! Very rich with a sort of thick tomato broth, which seemed to please the children. Hearty, tasty and ridiculously easy. Very enjoyable and I look forward to the leftovers tomorrow. (At least enough for 2 meals for our family of 4). I added everything in the order listed, exactly as written (touch more garlic). I'd suggest doing the broth last because I'm not joking about it 'just' fitting my crock pot... :) Thanks Mersay, great recipe! (Veg Swap Jan10)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 04, 2010

Edited: It is now fall 2016, and I couldn't wait to break out the crockpot and make this minestrone! I'm going on three years and I'm still making this as soon as it gets cold - and every Sunday all season long. Such a great recipe! ______ I make this every other week, occasionally modifying it here and there. This week I added a summer squash, for example, and a whole bunch of extra kale. When I don't have barley, I've used farro, pearled couscous or whatever other grain-type I have in the cabinet. I also love spices, so I go super-heavy on the italian spices - basil, thyme, oregano, parsley, etc. I've been doing this for months and have yet to tire of it! It makes about 8 2 cup servings. I portion them and stick them in the freezer. It is healthy, hearty and perfect for lunches!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erika L. September 25, 2016

Fantastic! My girlfriend hates tomatoes, so I needed to find a minestrone recipe without "chunks" - and this was perfect. I was surprised by how flavorful it was with so few spices added. I had it on low for 6 hours but the veggies weren't quite soft and the barley was still hard, so I put it on high for an extra hour or so and that helped.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain November 17, 2014

Wonderful recipe! Makes for a hearty, flavorful, rich and healthy soup. Filled even our largest crock pot TO THE RIM. :)

Made a few modifications, mostly additions: 1/2 cup frozen cut green beans, diced 1/2 red pepper, only used 1 onion (should have diced it), and used a mix of beans - 1 cup red kidney, 1/2 cup garbonzo, 2 cups white beans, 1 can of diced red tomatoes.

Also added a generous splash of soy sauce at the end and blended to give it a creamier/thicker consistency. Spiced to taste.

Will be freezing a bunch of this to eat for weeks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie McFotoman December 28, 2012

This is a good soup that lends itself to variations. I used brown rice in place of the barley and added more broth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully March 08, 2010

Great soup. I added spinach instead of kale. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest January 09, 2010

This was delicious! I doubled the vegetables and used black beans and spinach (instead of other beans and kale). I didn't add any barley and it was still great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yoga Booty December 24, 2009

Made this for company the other day & this was a WONDERFULLY TASTY addition to the vegetarian dinner we had! The only minor changes I made were to use lemon pepper instead of the usual S&P, & to have grated cheese on the side as optional! The next time I make it, however, I'll definitely do so the day before serving, 'cause, as in JanuaryBride's review, I thought it much more flavorful the next day! Thanks for the great recipe keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a recipenap in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 16]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 16, 2009

LOVE IT!!! Love minestrone in general, but I applaud the use of barley which ups the health factor greatly from the commonly used pasta. The barley also makes this soup thick and rich, stick to your ribs, perfect as a main course for a meal. The only change I made was to add a bunch of seasoning salt in the end. I made this yesterday and put it in the fridge for the flavors to marry and it is MUCH better on day 2!!! Serve with some crusty bread and it's a done deal. Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 03, 2009

This was really good. All my children ate it, too, which is a big plus. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and added some fresh chopped basil since I didn't have italian tomatoes. I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin November 11, 2010
Crock Pot Vegetarian Minestrone Soup