35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good...spongey, yet extremely moist. Very easy to make...took me five minutes to get it into the crockpot. It is very rich, and moist enough to eat alone, but a scoop of ice cream makes it perfect, especially when the cake is warm. Great recipe.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. May 13, 2002

I made this without oil, with light sour cream, sugar free chocolate Jello pudding and half a 15 oz bag of Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips-- along with the requisite 4 eggs. For a "lighter" version of the original, it turned out extremely well...I think it tasted best while still warm and gushy, four hours into bake time-- while it was still puddingish and gushy. An easy dessert that borders between pudding and cake! A winner! I can't wait to try this with white cake and white choc. chips! Maybe with some raspberries added for fun!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flygirlprincess October 29, 2008

Just made my first one, and it is excellent! Unusual texture. Served it with vanilla ice cream ...yummy! Cooked for 6 1/2 hours on low and no burnt spots. Didn't have chocolate instant pudding on hand and used French vanilla instead...still very chocolatey. Will make again, I'm sure.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom of 6 October 11, 2009

With all the ratings, I'm surprized no one mentioned the crock pot size. I made this in my 4Qt and it came within 1/2" of overflowing. I guess everyone had a 4Qt or larger crockpot.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmaduke December 20, 2007

Regarding the burning smell that Cisforcooking mentioned....the chocolate chips sometimes burn on the bottom. I try to put most of the chocolate chips near the top so they don't collect at the bottom and burn. You may also want to adjust the time. I've made the recipe a half dozen times and every person who has tasted it has loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tennisla1 July 13, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this. I love it & my whole family loves it!! If you like chocolate, then this will be the best cake you'll ever eat. Super easy too! My crockpot cooks quick, so I only cook it 4 1/2 hours on low.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karilou February 06, 2009

I love making this, and since I have a divided crock pot I make this is one side, and substitute Vanilla cake mix, Butterscotch Pudding, and Butterscotch Chips in the other side for a very yummy Butterscotch Cake Mess

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShannB. July 10, 2007

This was fantastic! I brought it to a party and served it with Cool Whip, and it was raved about. I wasn't sure whether to use a large or small instant pudding mix, so I used a large one and it came out perfect! Thank you so much for the recipe-I'm adding it to my favorites!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' in MN October 22, 2006

Delicious! It's very tasty and moist! I did change the recipe slightly. I used applesauce instead of 2 eggs. It put the cake over the top. Yum!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ffcolie October 14, 2012

Mine is cooking now, or was. It started smelling burned after 3 hours on low! I turned if off and it is still going with me to a 6PM cookout because I don't have a plan B.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy48kids May 19, 2012
Crock Pot Triple Chocolate Mess