Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Triple Chocolate Mess Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Triple Chocolate Mess

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      Very good...spongey, yet extremely moist. Very easy to make...took me five minutes to get it into the crockpot. It is very rich, and moist enough to eat alone, but a scoop of ice cream makes it perfect, especially when the cake is warm. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I made this without oil, with light sour cream, sugar free chocolate Jello pudding and half a 15 oz bag of Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips-- along with the requisite 4 eggs. For a "lighter" version of the original, it turned out extremely well...I think it tasted best while still warm and gushy, four hours into bake time-- while it was still puddingish and gushy. An easy dessert that borders between pudding and cake! A winner! I can't wait to try this with white cake and white choc. chips! Maybe with some raspberries added for fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Just made my first one, and it is excellent! Unusual texture. Served it with vanilla ice cream ...yummy! Cooked for 6 1/2 hours on low and no burnt spots. Didn't have chocolate instant pudding on hand and used French vanilla instead...still very chocolatey. Will make again, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Regarding the burning smell that Cisforcooking mentioned....the chocolate chips sometimes burn on the bottom. I try to put most of the chocolate chips near the top so they don't collect at the bottom and burn. You may also want to adjust the time. I've made the recipe a half dozen times and every person who has tasted it has loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I can't say enough good things about this. I love it & my whole family loves it!! If you like chocolate, then this will be the best cake you'll ever eat. Super easy too! My crockpot cooks quick, so I only cook it 4 1/2 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      With all the ratings, I'm surprized no one mentioned the crock pot size. I made this in my 4Qt and it came within 1/2" of overflowing. I guess everyone had a 4Qt or larger crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I love making this, and since I have a divided crock pot I make this is one side, and substitute Vanilla cake mix, Butterscotch Pudding, and Butterscotch Chips in the other side for a very yummy Butterscotch Cake Mess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This was fantastic! I brought it to a party and served it with Cool Whip, and it was raved about. I wasn't sure whether to use a large or small instant pudding mix, so I used a large one and it came out perfect! Thank you so much for the recipe-I'm adding it to my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Delicious! It's very tasty and moist! I did change the recipe slightly. I used applesauce instead of 2 eggs. It put the cake over the top. Yum!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      Mine is cooking now, or was. It started smelling burned after 3 hours on low! I turned if off and it is still going with me to a 6PM cookout because I don't have a plan B.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      this is so delicious and easy. I've made this many times and always stuck to the recipe, but someone mentioned how little chunks of carmels would be in it. sounds good to me

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Easy as pie and so delicious! I love a fix and forget recipe, and this cake was a perfect ending to a lovely dinner. It was very moist, but not runny like I thought. We loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I am so sorry, but my dh and I did not like this. I only cooked it about 3 hours and it smelled burnt. I served it with vanilla ice cream and we both felt it was too spongy tasting. It looked very good, however it's just not to our tasting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      it tasted good, but part of it came out burnt, and i only cooked it for 5 hours on low... i put another half in a baking pan because i have a small crockpot, and the recipe turned out much better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Me and my husband were excited about trying this one, it smelled good but that is all. I think it was the sour cream. If we decide to try this we will leave it out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Tis is absolutly wonderful, amazingly rich and so simple. I made it for my Bunco group and everyone loved it. (They were also commenting how their mom only used the crockpot for roasts). As a word of warning though, this will not double even if you have a large crockpot. It will burn (although the middle is still good when it scorches)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Everyone at my prayer group loved this. Chocolaty and delicious. I served it with whipped cream but would probably do vanilla ice cream in the summer months. Best if not overcooked - just set.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      We loved this. We made it in the camper, the only way to have a fresh cake. We actually ate it before it was quite ready, so it was soft and pudding like, and I highly recommend trying it this way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

    • on November 28, 2008

      This sounded great in the reviews, and I thought it'd be a perfect first try for the new crock pot. I followed the recipe to a tee and left it to cook for 6 hours on low while we ran errands. When we came back, the texture was great but there was a strange mix of burnt and sweet tastes. Moist cake, but has a burnt smell (possibly burned the chocolate chips). It might be worth experimenting with once more by cooking for less time, but I wouldn't make again if it tastes as it did. Maybe one of the other chocolate crockpot cake recipes would be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Triple Chocolate Mess

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 764.0
     
    Calories from Fat 459
    60%
    Total Fat 51.0 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 122.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 828.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.8 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 48.4 g
    193%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes