103 Reviews

This is a VERY delicious recipe. I made some minor tweaks.. In addition to the cilantro salsa, I added a large handful of fresh cilantro as well as a little extra lime juice. I also added a can of light coconut milk and a teaspoon or so of Sriracha hot chili sauce for more heat. I also used natural creamy peanut butter, which I would recommend over Jiff or Skippy.. the more natural peanut flavors complement the dish better than the added ingredients in other brands. Done in 6 hours on low in the crock pot. The dish is more Indian than Thai - great over jasmine rice served with Naan bread. The best part? The leftovers are even better.. all of the flavors mature and come together so nicely after a day or two in the fridge. Definitely a keeper!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CPfoodie June 01, 2010

Great easy recipe! Mine were done in six hours. The flavors really came together to make an interesting dish. :) The only thing that I thought needed work was the level of spice. I used a medium salsa and this dish was beyond mild, a bit boring even. Next time I'll add some dried chili peppers. I know that I thoroughly sprinkled my plate with cayenne pepper to make it better. :)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renaelafae August 11, 2010

Outstanding. I was a little put off by the salsa/peanut butter combo, but decided to try it anyway. Needs a little tweaking, but the flavor is good. Four stars for taste, but added the fifth as it was super easy. I used the dutch oven at 350 for about 90 minutes.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tugar357 April 22, 2010

Admittedly, I have NEVER enjoyed cooking...I'm sorta the anti-domestic diva...but as of late I have been attempting to do more meals at home...I still don't enjoy it like some folks, but I've impressed myself with my new found abilities. I am a backslid vegetarian so I now eat chicken but not any other meat...just don't care for it to be honest...and I like spicy food, AND I was looking for something quick and easy that could be thrown in my never-used crock pot...so I decided to try this. I read thru the reviews to get pointers, etc, and decided that I definitely wanted to kick up the flavor a notch. Now, we just got thru eating my first/altered attempt at this recipe and I have to say that it was delicious!!! And a lot cheaper than going to the Thai restaurant. My boyfriend LOVED it but I honestly don't think it would have been as good without my additions/changes. I did use the basic recipe, however I doubled the amount of salsa. I found some canned salsa in the Mexican food section at Wal-Mart that said "Hot" so that went into my cart. I also used the low-sodium soy sauce, and bought Jif EXTRA crunchy peanut butter (the texture of the peanuts absolutely makes this dish for me). I used about 32 ounces of salsa, about 3/4 of a cup of peanut butter, about 4-6 tablespoons of soy sauce (I just eyeballed it), I used about 2 teaspoons of fresh grated ginger (do not buy the powder stuff), I used a whole lime squeezed into the mixture, and I also added the following: about a tablespoon (maybe a little more) of McCormick Red Curry Powder, as well as about 2 tablespoons of "Thai Kitchen--Red Curry Paste"--both from Wal-Mart's spice section. I also added about a 1/4 of a cup of "House of Tsang--Bangkok Peanut Sauce". I will point out that I had started my chicken thighs in the crock pot about an hour before I added my ingredients because I had to run to the store to pick stuff up that I didn't have, but that didn't seem to hurt anything. When I got back I did drain off a good bit of some of the icky juice from the thighs (as they weren't done) and then mixed all of my other ingredients in a bowl BEFORE I put them into the crock pot. I also took the almost cooked chicken out of the crock pot, pulled the bones out, put all of the chicken back into the crock pot, and then after tasting my mixture of ingredients and feeling like it was the way I wanted it, I poured it over my chicken, stirred it, added about 10 dried chili peppers (this is key to getting some good spice taste), and turned it on high for another hour and a half to two hours. All in all, the chicken cooked on its on about 2 hours on low, and then another hour and a half or so, with the mixture added, on high. I did stir occassionally, and it was so good it was hard not to keep going back for more "taste tests"...but finally I felt like it was done and it was super. I also bought some jasmine rice at Wal-Mart, used about 2 cups of water and about 1 cup of coconut milk (the kind in the can is what I used), and let that come to a boil, and then subsequent simmer for about 40 minutes on top of the stove in a boiler (you can find various recipes on this site for the jasmine rice). I also added about a teaspoon of fresh grated ginger to my jasmine rice mixture as it cooked and, although it was the first time I have EVER prepared jasmine rice, and therefore did not know what to expect, it turned out perfect. It does have to cook on your lowest simmer setting for almost an hour (with a tight lid on it--try not to open too often) but when it is done the house smelled great and it was the perfect compliment to the main dish. I do not think this would have been even remotely as good without my changes, but that's because my version ended up with just enough heat/spice and everyone else said that the original recipe was too mild. This will definitely open your sinuses up but it's not TOO hot so don't be afraid to kick it up a notch. Great dish...5 stars with my changes and can't wait to cook it again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nashville Barbie April 06, 2013

This was a great simple recipe. Easy to make. I set up the meal in the crockpot the night before, plopped it in the crockpot and cooked it on high for 3 1/2 hrs.. Chicken was tender and flavorful. I garnished with peanuts but forgot to buy the cilantro and scallions, but it tasted fine with out it. My hubby and kids just loved it and hubby asked me to make it again. Served with white rice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
batimmer April 12, 2012

I did as some other reviewers and tweaked this a little bit. I don't like crock pot cooking so I used the dutch oven method (90 minutes at 350) and the chicken thighs were cooked perfectly. I also added the rest of the coconut milk (1 can minus the 1 cup for the rice) and used medium fresh salsa from the grocery store. I put limes in my cart at the store but somewhere along the way my 2 year old ejected them and I didn't notice. So I substituted white vinegar for acidity. I'm sure this took away from the flavor of the dish though.
Overall we liked the flavors a lot, but the texture, between the rice and the sauce, was a little gummy. This is where some fresh lime juice right before serving would have come in really handy; I think it would have cut the thickness of the sauce beautifully. So next time, and there will be a next time, I will make sure to have the limes at the ready.
My 2 and 3 1/2 year old daughters and husband enjoyed the meal, but my 6 and 7 year old sons were not that thrilled with it. The peanut garnish helped them get through it though!
Thanks for posting. This is a really easy and quick (in the dutch oven anyway) way to cook chicken thighs that's a nice break from the norm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians September 12, 2012

I have made this recipe often. It is very good! I do add red chili and lots of ginger. I serve it with the coconut rice. Thank you for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiolam February 27, 2012

I made this for dinner today. Very easy and my friend & I enjoyed. Added the lime juice toward the end. I would probably add some green curry paste next time to up the heat. Thanks for sharing! Very easy and tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 November 06, 2010

I am not a Peanut Butter or Ginger lover but do like Thai food (go figure). The point being that this is a fabulous recipe even if you do not enjoy the above ingredients. I would imagine if you do like them tht it is a recipe to die for. Each flavor enhances the other. A keeper. You can also make more of the sauce if you like more to top with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DyanaMaree August 02, 2009

Ok, I've made this several times, and yes, it took me way too long to review it! I LOVE this dish. It's easy, tastes great, and the last review was what got me to finally write my own. I don't care if any of the ingredients are "Thai". French fries aren't "French" either. This dish is a wonderful, tasty, comforting thing to come home to. YES, it is GOOD! Thank you so much for this recipe--and don't listen to anyone who says it's bad!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley Quinn March 27, 2008
Crock Pot Thai Chicken Thighs