Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Thai Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Thai Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      This is a VERY delicious recipe. I made some minor tweaks.. In addition to the cilantro salsa, I added a large handful of fresh cilantro as well as a little extra lime juice. I also added a can of light coconut milk and a teaspoon or so of Sriracha hot chili sauce for more heat. I also used natural creamy peanut butter, which I would recommend over Jiff or Skippy.. the more natural peanut flavors complement the dish better than the added ingredients in other brands. Done in 6 hours on low in the crock pot. The dish is more Indian than Thai - great over jasmine rice served with Naan bread. The best part? The leftovers are even better.. all of the flavors mature and come together so nicely after a day or two in the fridge. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Great easy recipe! Mine were done in six hours. The flavors really came together to make an interesting dish. :) The only thing that I thought needed work was the level of spice. I used a medium salsa and this dish was beyond mild, a bit boring even. Next time I'll add some dried chili peppers. I know that I thoroughly sprinkled my plate with cayenne pepper to make it better. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Outstanding. I was a little put off by the salsa/peanut butter combo, but decided to try it anyway. Needs a little tweaking, but the flavor is good. Four stars for taste, but added the fifth as it was super easy. I used the dutch oven at 350 for about 90 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      This was a great simple recipe. Easy to make. I set up the meal in the crockpot the night before, plopped it in the crockpot and cooked it on high for 3 1/2 hrs.. Chicken was tender and flavorful. I garnished with peanuts but forgot to buy the cilantro and scallions, but it tasted fine with out it. My hubby and kids just loved it and hubby asked me to make it again. Served with white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      Admittedly, I have NEVER enjoyed cooking...I'm sorta the anti-domestic diva...but as of late I have been attempting to do more meals at home...I still don't enjoy it like some folks, but I've impressed myself with my new found abilities. I am a backslid vegetarian so I now eat chicken but not any other meat...just don't care for it to be honest...and I like spicy food, AND I was looking for something quick and easy that could be thrown in my never-used crock pot...so I decided to try this. I read thru the reviews to get pointers, etc, and decided that I definitely wanted to kick up the flavor a notch. Now, we just got thru eating my first/altered attempt at this recipe and I have to say that it was delicious!!! And a lot cheaper than going to the Thai restaurant. My boyfriend LOVED it but I honestly don't think it would have been as good without my additions/changes. I did use the basic recipe, however I doubled the amount of salsa. I found some canned salsa in the Mexican food section at Wal-Mart that said "Hot" so that went into my cart. I also used the low-sodium soy sauce, and bought Jif EXTRA crunchy peanut butter (the texture of the peanuts absolutely makes this dish for me). I used about 32 ounces of salsa, about 3/4 of a cup of peanut butter, about 4-6 tablespoons of soy sauce (I just eyeballed it), I used about 2 teaspoons of fresh grated ginger (do not buy the powder stuff), I used a whole lime squeezed into the mixture, and I also added the following: about a tablespoon (maybe a little more) of McCormick Red Curry Powder, as well as about 2 tablespoons of "Thai Kitchen--Red Curry Paste"--both from Wal-Mart's spice section. I also added about a 1/4 of a cup of "House of Tsang--Bangkok Peanut Sauce". I will point out that I had started my chicken thighs in the crock pot about an hour before I added my ingredients because I had to run to the store to pick stuff up that I didn't have, but that didn't seem to hurt anything. When I got back I did drain off a good bit of some of the icky juice from the thighs (as they weren't done) and then mixed all of my other ingredients in a bowl BEFORE I put them into the crock pot. I also took the almost cooked chicken out of the crock pot, pulled the bones out, put all of the chicken back into the crock pot, and then after tasting my mixture of ingredients and feeling like it was the way I wanted it, I poured it over my chicken, stirred it, added about 10 dried chili peppers (this is key to getting some good spice taste), and turned it on high for another hour and a half to two hours. All in all, the chicken cooked on its on about 2 hours on low, and then another hour and a half or so, with the mixture added, on high. I did stir occassionally, and it was so good it was hard not to keep going back for more "taste tests"...but finally I felt like it was done and it was super. I also bought some jasmine rice at Wal-Mart, used about 2 cups of water and about 1 cup of coconut milk (the kind in the can is what I used), and let that come to a boil, and then subsequent simmer for about 40 minutes on top of the stove in a boiler (you can find various recipes on this site for the jasmine rice). I also added about a teaspoon of fresh grated ginger to my jasmine rice mixture as it cooked and, although it was the first time I have EVER prepared jasmine rice, and therefore did not know what to expect, it turned out perfect. It does have to cook on your lowest simmer setting for almost an hour (with a tight lid on it--try not to open too often) but when it is done the house smelled great and it was the perfect compliment to the main dish. I do not think this would have been even remotely as good without my changes, but that's because my version ended up with just enough heat/spice and everyone else said that the original recipe was too mild. This will definitely open your sinuses up but it's not TOO hot so don't be afraid to kick it up a notch. Great dish...5 stars with my changes and can't wait to cook it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I did as some other reviewers and tweaked this a little bit. I don't like crock pot cooking so I used the dutch oven method (90 minutes at 350) and the chicken thighs were cooked perfectly. I also added the rest of the coconut milk (1 can minus the 1 cup for the rice) and used medium fresh salsa from the grocery store. I put limes in my cart at the store but somewhere along the way my 2 year old ejected them and I didn't notice. So I substituted white vinegar for acidity. I'm sure this took away from the flavor of the dish though.
      Overall we liked the flavors a lot, but the texture, between the rice and the sauce, was a little gummy. This is where some fresh lime juice right before serving would have come in really handy; I think it would have cut the thickness of the sauce beautifully. So next time, and there will be a next time, I will make sure to have the limes at the ready.
      My 2 and 3 1/2 year old daughters and husband enjoyed the meal, but my 6 and 7 year old sons were not that thrilled with it. The peanut garnish helped them get through it though!
      Thanks for posting. This is a really easy and quick (in the dutch oven anyway) way to cook chicken thighs that's a nice break from the norm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I have made this recipe often. It is very good! I do add red chili and lots of ginger. I serve it with the coconut rice. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      I made this for dinner today. Very easy and my friend & I enjoyed. Added the lime juice toward the end. I would probably add some green curry paste next time to up the heat. Thanks for sharing! Very easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I am not a Peanut Butter or Ginger lover but do like Thai food (go figure). The point being that this is a fabulous recipe even if you do not enjoy the above ingredients. I would imagine if you do like them tht it is a recipe to die for. Each flavor enhances the other. A keeper. You can also make more of the sauce if you like more to top with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Ok, I've made this several times, and yes, it took me way too long to review it! I LOVE this dish. It's easy, tastes great, and the last review was what got me to finally write my own. I don't care if any of the ingredients are "Thai". French fries aren't "French" either. This dish is a wonderful, tasty, comforting thing to come home to. YES, it is GOOD! Thank you so much for this recipe--and don't listen to anyone who says it's bad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      This recipe was great. Normally I am very weary about crock pot dishes because a lot of the time the meat is dry and the food is tasteless. This was not one of those cases. Did not make any mods to recipe, great as is. Enjoy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      As written, I give this recipe 3 stars. On the plus side though, it's pretty minimal, therefore easy, this way. But after I put in everything, it definitely was missing "somethings" (notice the plural there). At that point, it actually tasted like an African dish to me (you know, like an African groundnut stew (groundnut=peanut) or something). Not Thai.... and not too much flavor at this point... I ended up adding a little fish sauce and basil and brown sugar, and a little red pepper, which I thought would make it more Thai-ish, and that improved the flavor greatly! Then I also added some carrot & onion chunks & sliced bell pepper (just because those were the only veggies I happened to have on hand - I could see adding straw mushrooms, bamboo shoots, or other asian vegetables)- I did this because it was too "soupy" in consistency - like mostly a slightly thick water consistency, with some (not too much) chicken in it - and I felt it needed a little "thickening up".

      One thing to note about this recipe is that, I think due to the vague nature of "cilantro salsa" - people can end up getting different results. The flavor of and what's actually in the salsa will make a difference. What I used, for example, was just what I had on hand which was aji (a peruvian cilantro-lettuce salsa - which contained cilantro, lettuce, garlic, cumin, lime, and s&p). So no tomatoes there... I'm not even sure if this recipe is *supposed* to have tomatoes in it - what if you don't use a tomato-based salsa? So, it would be nice if that was clarified... I noticed one reviewer said she used Pace w/added cilantro... that would certainly make a different outcome than the salsa I used, for example. But, all in all, I think it's a nice base recipe, and leaves one with quite a bit of room for tweaking to taste and improvements. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      super easy and amazing...great flavors...I love Thai...so this was great...made with Christaki noodles for a great 10 point Delish weight watcher meal. will make again...soon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Wow. This recipe is a great find. I made it with Garlic Cilantro Salsa, recipe 96866. I put all the veggies and garlic in a blender and made salsa with a porridge-like consistency. I left the lime juice out and marinated the chicken in it overnight then added the lime juice at Crock Pot time. (Citric acid would cold cook the chicken). Makes enough for eight thighs. Mine were done in 5 hours. Served it over rotini pasta. Wonderful. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Great recipe! I took the other reviewer's advice and I made the salsa using #96866, Garlic Cilantro Salsa. I doubled the whole recipe and I used a big 5lb. pack of seasoned fajitas chicken thighs (I rinse off the extra seasoning & trimmed any fat off). I also added one can of lite coconut milk because of comments about it being dry...the results were fantastic. With rice it was enough to 10 or so. Thanks for this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Sooooo Good! Made this tonight and it was excellent. The only change I made was using regular Salas. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Purty durn good I may say. I've been wanting to try this one for awhile. I used 6 thighs and a brest I had. Doubled the sauce recipe & served on a pallet of Jasmine Rice made with coconut milk. I also added a few teaspoons of sriracha rooster sauce to kick it up and a handful of cilantro. Ariba has a cilanto/garlic salsa but it was more garlic than cilantro. Oh, I cooked it for 5 hours on low and it was done. Now it's all gone bye bye.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This was delicious! The sauce over the rice was really good too. In fact, I like the recipe for the rice and will be using that again alone! (I used 1 c. rice, 3/4 c. water, 3/4 c. coconut milk and it turned out perfect in my rice cooker). I am planning to make this one for OAMC as well and freeze it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I'm rating this recipes as I'm eating it. This is so tender and tasty, just a bit of heat which makes it perfect for everybody, including the kids, everybody in the family enjoyed it. If you want more heat, it would be easy to bump it up. We served it over long grain white rice without the coconut milk. I used a mild garlic flavored salsa; that's what I had on hand, other than that everything else remained the same. I cooked mine on low for 4-1/2 hours and that was plenty to make it perfect in every way. I know crockpots vary, but that's what worked for me. I have no complaints whatsoever and wouldn't change it a bit. Thanks KelBel for an awesome contribution to Zaar. This yummy chicken will be a part of my regular rotation, it just doesn't get any better than this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      Don't let the combo of salsa and peanut butter put you off... this dish is so easy and oh, so good! I couldn't find cilantro salsa, so I used a jar of mild salsa and threw in some fresh cilantro. I cooked mine on high for about 4.5 hours, the chicken was cooked through and very moist. I'm so glad I gave this recipe a try and look forward to making it again. BTW, my kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Thai Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.9
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    53%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 114.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 769.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 36.2 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cilantro salsa

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes