Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Texas Hash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Texas Hash

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2003

      This was good. I took it to a potluck and it was well received generally. I found it a bit too "smoothy greasy!!!" I really was not greasy as I used extea lean ground beef but it still had a texture that was not really to my taste. But it is good and easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      I didn't have any plain cans of diced tomatoes on hand so I used two cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies and omitted the chili pwd. for fear it would be too spicey for the kids. I also didn't have any green onions on hand so I diced yellow onions very fine and used them. It stilled turned out excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      Did a double batch for DH's work potluck. So easy to make and has a very good flavor. It was all eaten and I had to e-mail DH the recipe to print out for several of his co-workers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      What a real treat! Made this with ground Beef and Turkey Sausage...it was sooo tasty! This was a very easy crockpot recipe! The house smelled soo good while it cooked away! The taste was awesome! The whole crockpot full was gone! Thanks for a great new recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      this was so yummy I made this the night we were moving into our new house and everyone loved it i just,put in the crockpot and started unpacking

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Great meal, we used it as a dip. DH liked a lot and requested it again. We served it with sour cream, chips and cheese. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      This was Great I added 1 and a 1/2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper and 2 crushed garlic cloves, we both loved it served with green beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      Cheap, quick, versatile and tasty! I didn't have peppers so I added 2 diced potatoes, and for the meat I had 1lb (or less) that I had browned up a couple days ago - half beef and half sausage. It all still turned out awesome! I'd cut back on the salt a smidgen, but other than that this is a definite keeper! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Oh my goodness, this was so good! I sent some home with my mom, just because I couldn't believe how good it was, lol. I used ground turkey, as always. I also subbed fire-roasted diced tomatoes, just because we prefer them, and instant brown rice, because that's all I had. After cooking the turkey, I added frozen chopped onion and a frozen stir-fry mix (green peppers, red peppers, broccoli, mushrooms, and snap peas) to the pan and let them cook until softened. I then drained everything and added it to the crock. Because I had already semi-cooked the veggies and used instant rice, mine only cooked for about 4-5 hours on low before it was done. I added a little bit of shredded cheese to each serving. This will definitely be a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Made for March, 2008 Aussie/NZ Swap. I really enjoyed this dish. I especially loved the ease of crock pot cooking. I cut the recipe in half. After browning lean ground beef in a large skillet, I add all the other ingredients in the skillet and mixed it well before putting everything in the crock pot. I put more of the long grain rice than the halved recipe called for so I added about 1/4 cup more water. I had no problems with the rice cooking up nice and tender. As stated in your description, I could hardly even see the rice in the dish. I also used petite diced tamotoes with jalapeno peppers to give the dish a little kick. Just before putting everything in the crock pot, I decided to mix about 1/4 cup of ketchup into the mixture. The aroma coming from the crock pot while this was cooking was tantalizing. Very good dish that I will be making again and again. I think I might try making this with shredded chicken for a variation. Thanks for sharing another yummy recipe, BeachGirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This was fine but reminded me of cabbage roll filling, which, unlike most people, I don't really enjoy. Maybe if my rice had dissolved, but even after 8 hours on low it was still intact. Soft, but intact. Doctored up with hot sauce it was okay, but just not a favourite. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      This didn't turn out bad although I don't think I will make it again. I don't know what went wrong but the rice wouldn't cook and I had to keep adding more water. It smelled really good while it was cooking but it just wasn't anything really special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Texas Hash

    Serving Size: 1 (452 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 647.7
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    32%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 147.4 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1666.0 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 51.9 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites