21 Reviews

I made this recipe today. I cant believe how easy it was to put together. The gravy that was made tasted a little like a barbecue sauce.I liked it well enough but would get tired of that particular taste if made each time. The meat was very tender I took the advice of another reviewer and sprinkled the onion soup on the bottom and on top of the meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilackey March 08, 2009

The basic premise of this recipe is good and I will definitely make it again. The cooking time was way too long. I cooked a 5 lb. roast for 10 hours, 8 hours would have been plenty. I may even do just six next time. The "gravy" was delicious (a little more flour was needed). I used a 16 oz.can of whole cranberry sauce. Yummers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully July 12, 2004

Super easy and super good, my husband loved the gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanaBird May 09, 2012

This is sooooo easy and sooooo tasty! I did make a double batch of the gravy because I knew how much my husband liked it! I served it with mashed potatoes, veggie, and hot from the oven french bread for dipping. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deannaamenta November 16, 2010

I made this recipe with the ingredients I had on-hand -- a can of french-fried onions and 4 bouillon cubes in the bottom, the rump roast, and a jar of apricot preserves on the top. It turned out great! I thickened the gravy, but I think it would have been fine without it. Perhaps some extra liquid would also be a good idea. Regardless, this is a new family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheff Libby July 01, 2010

I enjoyed the sweetness of this roast, but my family did not. Could also have been my fault as I did not use the butter nor the flour to thicken the sauce as my family wanted it "aus jous" style for the egg noodles. I'll try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp November 29, 2009

I really don't care for roast, but this recipe definitely changed my mind. It was a great, simple recipe. I definitely will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CyndiCB March 26, 2009

I just wanted to say this recipe was soooo good! My husband came home for lunch and as soon as he walked in he said, "mmmm, something smells good!" I made this as another had suggested and cooked it on high for 4 hours and then turned down to low for a couple hours. It was so tender and flavorful. Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheenasimmons1982 December 02, 2008

I would give this a higher rating as the sauce was incredible but the crock pot cook time I feel was too long and you know what the pot will do to beef when cooked too long - dry it out which it did. I am going to use it again but will try it in the oven instead and I know its going to be wonderful. The sauce does have a really different sweet and sour kind of taste. Thanks much for the recipe and this is one that reviewers will get a hold of and make better and better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey May 27, 2008

Nothing this GOOD is ever this easy!! This is my new rump roast recipe. thank you so much for sharing Claudia. Ol' Lonesome Bob

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ol' Lonesome Bob March 12, 2008
Crock Pot Tangy Rump Roast