15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy to make. Very very tender. My whole family loved it so much.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myko October 10, 2002

This is the first recipe I have tried from here and thought it was wonderful! Easy to make and tasty. What a great first impression. Perfect for a chilly fall night..

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amethyst October 13, 2002

So tasty! I did make a few changes though. I didn't use the tomato sauce as listed but used 1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. I also put some oregano, garlic powder, 4 cloves of garlic and black pepper in it to give more flavour and used 2 steaks. What a nice meal to come home to! The potatoes and carrots weren't mushy at all and were cooked perfectly!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever April 22, 2004

I thought this was ok but needed more flavor. I added some Italian Seasoning right before serving and it made a HUGE difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmbv1234 March 19, 2012

This was great! I used cubed steak and it was tender enough to cut with a fork. Low for 8 hours was plenty of time for my crockpot. We added a little more salt and pepper at the table but otherwise it was easy to prepare and scrumptious to eat! Great flavor! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DekaCamp March 20, 2003

Loved this recipe...It was quick and very tasty... Thanks for sharing it...SharonP.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP October 29, 2002

Everyone in my family loves this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdmomkp April 11, 2014

This was a real success tonight ( Canadian January night of -29). I used 3 pieces of inside round that were 2 inches thick with the total weight of all pieces coming in a hairs breath over 2 lbs. I added a stalk of celery just because I like it and used one 14.5 ounce can of seasoned tomato sauce and no diced tomatoes (I didn't want it too soupy). The house smelled so tempting all afternoon long and we were ready to eat when dinner came around. The meat was very tender and the whole dish just delicious. Great one dish meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 05, 2010

So, so close to 5 stars. The round steaks were so tender that I could cut them with just a fork. The sauce was not runny at all. However, I thought it needed a flavor boost. I added fresh garlic, worcestershire sauce, thyme and a bit of sugar....that did the trick. I will certainly make this recipe again with my little additions. Thanx for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* February 07, 2007

Easy to put together and the meat just falls apart. Perhaps I did not salt it as much as I should have though. I thought it was a great dish only after adding garlic powder and more salt. My husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe, Becky. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ November 03, 2006
Crock Pot Swiss Steak