Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Sweet-Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Sweet-Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      This was very good, however it took long for the sauce to thicken in the crockpot. My husband thought the sauce was not sweet enough, but it was plenty sweet for me. I'd recommend this recipe, but use the stovetop method for thickening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      Just made this recipe today, great tasting, will do again but will cut back on brown sugar, its far to sweet. Simple to make,just threw in crock pot and thickened it on stove as susgested at the end, served it over rice with vegs, we enjoyed it. Thanks Jess96

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      This was my first recipe using a slow cooker. It was really tasty, maybe just a little too sweet, but will make it again using less sugar. I scattered some roasted cashews on top and served with a rice pilaf. Yummy Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Definitely a keeper, but I agree, too sweet. I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 1/2 c of sugar, cutting out a whole 1/2 cup, and it was still too sweet. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half. I also added sliced red and orange bell peppers for looks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Made this tonight for dinner. Very tasty!!I boiled some frozen peas and carrots with some Chinese noodles and served the chicken on top sprinkled with some sesame seeds. It looked great and tasted even better but was sooooo easy to put together. Definite keeper. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      My husband and I loved it! I used 6 whole chicken tenderloins instead of chicken breast, and I put them in frozen! No thawing necessary! I dont really measure anything out, but I put a little more ketchup and soy and for the brown sugar I probably 1/2- 3/4 cup. I also added a little bit of minced garlic, a dash of cayanne pepper, a dash of cajun ( i love it!) and onion powder. It smelled SOOO good!!! Wonderful recipe! SO easy!! 5 star!! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Yum! I used 9 chicken breasts (~2lbs, I think), so I made 1.5x the sauce. I took the advice of the other commenters and cut back the sugar by 1/4 cup (using 1 1/4 cups). Unfortunately, I think the full sweetness would have been perfect! Next time, I'll make it full strength. Also added 1/2 tsp minced garlic (1 clove) and a dash of chili flakes - tasty, and would use even more chili flakes again next time. There will certainly be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      You know I have this cookbook...never look at it. I have decided that I need to use my crock pot more. I made this for supper last night and served it with rice. It was wonderful to have supper started just after lunch and by about 3pm the kitchen smelled so good. This is a super simple recipe really. I semi defrosted my chicken breasts then cut them into chunks easily. My husband took the remainderd of left overs for lunch today. The only things I did differently was double the sauce because I had a good size package of chicken breasts. I also subbed one cup of the brown sugar for a 1/2 a cup of brown sugar splenda. It was sweet enough for me and next time I would sub it all out for splenda just, Thanks for a great recipe...I will get my Company's Coming book out of the drawer and see what else I can find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Sweet-Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 426.1
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    54%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 98.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 470.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 54.8 g
    219%
    Protein 39.9 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites