14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Had some left-over raw sweet potatoes and fresh cranberries from the holidays, and put this together. Left the crockpot on HIGH for 4 hours, and the aroma wafted through the house all afternoon ! Did not include the pecans, personal choice, and this made a lovely side to the pork tenderloin I had in the oven. It was not at all "wet" with the lid on, and will fix this when the family is here. Thanks for posting !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney January 05, 2010

I made this for Christmas Eve dinner, and I was hesitant to make a holiday dish without a stick of butter or a block of cream cheese. What a surprise winner this recipe was! I've never cooked with fresh cranberries, and they were a wonderful tart balance to the sweetness of the taters and brown sugar. I will definitely make this again! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss December 25, 2007

This is a simple recipe. It is sweet, but not overpoweringly so as candied yams can be. It's healthier too, because it doesn't have butter, but you never miss it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig December 31, 2009

We've never been crazy about Sweet Potatoes, but we LOVE cranberries! This looked interesting, so we gave it a try. It was GREAT!!! I did omit the Pecans...we're not much on cooking with nuts. (We already ARE nuts!!! LOL!!!) Will definately make it, again! THANKS!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman August 21, 2008

This is delicious! It sounded interesting and I had everything on hand to make it, so I decided to give it a whirl. Now I've got a new way to use fresh cranberries (which I love) and fresh nutmeg. It's not too sweet and not too tart. I made it exactly as directed; the only thing I didn't include was the toasted pecans, but that's because I'm just not much of a nut person. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Targetgirl November 28, 2007

Yams & sweet potatoes are not the same thing. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenOcorona November 24, 2011

I love everything that goes into this dish, so it was a sure winner for me. Love that there is no added fat and that it's Vegan! I cooked on high for 4 hours and it was perfect, Not to sweet at all, in fact the next time I would probably add a little more brown sugar (OR some maple syrup) However I did use 1 ginormous sweet potato which may have ended up more then was necessarily called for. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma January 26, 2011

Delish! This turned out perfect for our Thanksgiving meal. In addition to it having a wonderful taste, it filled up the house with a wonderful aroma all day. It was also fantastic to have this cooking away on the counter where I could forget about it and cook the rest of the dishes. I loved having the extra room in the oven. The guests raved about it so this will be made for many Thanksgivings to come. I also loved that it's healthy and low in fat. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker November 28, 2008

This was delicious! Made it for Thanksgiving and even the folks who aren't big fans of sweet potatoes loved it. Just enough sweetness and the cranberries and juice add a nice bit of tang. This is a very attractive dish, as well. I left out the pecans- we have too many people who were not fans of that nut. Cooks great in a crock pot- not too soft or too hard. Great job, Chicagoland Chef!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BearsFanJeff November 28, 2014

I cooked the original recipe in the crock-pot on high for 4 hours, did not add the pecans. It was excellent. 5 stars. Bringing it to big family Thanksgiving celebration where oven space and burners are all reserved. Some family members do not care for nuts, so I will make it the same, no pecans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyhow3 November 21, 2012
Crock Pot Sweet Potatoes & Cranberries With Toasted Pecans