Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Swedish Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Swedish Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2009

      Great recipe...I did do a few changes though. I added 1 cup of half and half to meatballs, and I baked them in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes so my sauce would not get greasy...then I doubled sauce and put in crockpot on low for 5 hours (my crockpot is very hot)...turned out perfect...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This is an easy and solid recipe. The meatballs should definitely be browned in oil before being added to the crock pot, but otherwise I have no real complaints. However, having sampled both, I really prefer the sweet-and-sour style (especially the chili sauce and grape jelly version) to this french onion style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      OK I'll admit it...I tinker w/ recipes ALOT and this recipe was no different LOL so to be fair, I wont leave a star rating...Here's what I did: no bread on hand, used 1/2 c bread crumbs & 1/2 c oats...Used ground bison instead of beef...Used 2 whole eggs instead of the yolks called for...used 4 teaspoons dried parsley, had no fresh...chopped up a small onion instead of using dried flakes...skipped the salt, toned the dried mustard & ginger down to 1/2 tsp ea., used 1 tbsp. minced garlic instead of powdered...used lo-sodium beef broth & light sour cream...added the worcestershire to the meatball mixture rather than the sauce...the meatballs were VERY tender & Im inclined to agree that they may be better browned in advance, mebbe they wouldnt then absorb SO much of the sauce, bcause there wasnt much sauce left after cooking...then it didnt need as much time as called for, I had to switch it to 'warm' for the last hr...served them over a vegetable based pasta w/ mixed vegetables on the side...even though I tinkered w/ the recipe, I think I kept to the spirit of it LOL thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Very good. I just thought I needed to fry them in a bit of oil before putting in the crock: they looked like they were going to fall apart while cooking...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Very yummy. I wasn't too sure about the flavors at first but the longer it cooked, the better it smelled and by dinner time, everyone was smiling. Definitely a repeater! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Great recipe. The meatballs are so nice and tender. I actually left out the flour and sour cream. Instead, when they were done in the crock-pot, I transferred to an oven dish and poured with a sweet and sour BBQ sauce. Then baked in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes. Delicious appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Great, versatile, life-saving recipe! I'm not rating this with any stars because I made so many changes (it was Thanksgiving, no stores were open in my rural community, and I had MANY extra unexpected guests arriving for Thanksgiving dinner - my turkey wasn't near big enough!). I found this recipe and substituted out what I didn't have on hand - which turned out to be quite a bit. I subbed fresh parsely for dried, white bread slices for breadcrumbs, condensed French onion soup for a package of Lipton's soup mixed with 2 cups of free range chicken broth, sour cream for a can of cream of mushroom soup. I completely zoned out the Worcestershire. I threw it all in the crock pot and got rave reviews for my "Swedish" meatballs. I will try the actual recipe some time! Thank you for the base recipe for Save My Thanksgiving Meatballs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      My first attempt at Swedish Meatballs was a success thanks to this recipe! :) I actually substituted ground chicken to cut back a bit on the fat and it made a great replacement. I agree that the ginger flavor is strong in this recipe, but hubby and I both happened to like it and felt it complimented the meat really well. No other substitutions other than a squirt of dijon mustard for the powdered stuff...then when the meatballs were ready I scooped them out of the crockpot, deglazed the pot with about 1 cup of veggie broth, and blended in one cup sour cream for a luscious sauce. Amazing! Will makie again for sure....thanks for posting, Mindi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I followed your recipe exactly and it looked and smelled really good. I did smell the ginger strongly though. My husband didn't like it, however. He found the ginger overpowering. Sorry. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Very good. I cut the recipe in half but used 1 whole egg instead of the egg yolks, and also instead of garlic powder and salt I just used 1 teaspoon garlic salt. We served this over noodles for an easy supper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      This was easy and great. Made up the meatballs as written except I added a couple dashes of A-1 steak sauce,some cayenne powder and used milk instead of water in the breadcrumbs. Threw it all in the crockpot and came back to a great dinner. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      Oh My Stars! This was not only super tasty, but filled our house with such a wonderful smell! I put it in the crockpot at lunch, and it was ready to go for dinner. We served it over noodles, and it was fantastic. Thanks so much for posting your recipe, we will enjoy it again and again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      This was great. "Two Thumbs Up" from everyone at my house, including my picky 2 year old who CLEANED HIS PLATE!!! Thanks so much for sharing, I have a feeling it will be a regular in our menu rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      Delicious! I decided at the last minute to make this, so I just used a skillet instead of the crock pot. I browned the meatballs and then added the rest of the stuff. I also had to add some water to make more sauce, it was fantastic....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Really delicious, especially for lunch. I found that this was very easy to prepare and required everyday ingredients. I found this recipe when I was doing a search for a way to use up some egg yolks. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      Easy to make and delicious! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      The Bestest!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Swedish Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.0
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    46%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 406.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites