17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe...I did do a few changes though. I added 1 cup of half and half to meatballs, and I baked them in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes so my sauce would not get greasy...then I doubled sauce and put in crockpot on low for 5 hours (my crockpot is very hot)...turned out perfect...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc October 07, 2009

This is an easy and solid recipe. The meatballs should definitely be browned in oil before being added to the crock pot, but otherwise I have no real complaints. However, having sampled both, I really prefer the sweet-and-sour style (especially the chili sauce and grape jelly version) to this french onion style.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeffGirard February 05, 2012

OK I'll admit it...I tinker w/ recipes ALOT and this recipe was no different LOL so to be fair, I wont leave a star rating...Here's what I did: no bread on hand, used 1/2 c bread crumbs & 1/2 c oats...Used ground bison instead of beef...Used 2 whole eggs instead of the yolks called for...used 4 teaspoons dried parsley, had no fresh...chopped up a small onion instead of using dried flakes...skipped the salt, toned the dried mustard & ginger down to 1/2 tsp ea., used 1 tbsp. minced garlic instead of powdered...used lo-sodium beef broth & light sour cream...added the worcestershire to the meatball mixture rather than the sauce...the meatballs were VERY tender & Im inclined to agree that they may be better browned in advance, mebbe they wouldnt then absorb SO much of the sauce, bcause there wasnt much sauce left after cooking...then it didnt need as much time as called for, I had to switch it to 'warm' for the last hr...served them over a vegetable based pasta w/ mixed vegetables on the side...even though I tinkered w/ the recipe, I think I kept to the spirit of it LOL thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas June 07, 2010

Very good. I just thought I needed to fry them in a bit of oil before putting in the crock: they looked like they were going to fall apart while cooking...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK January 09, 2010

Very yummy. I wasn't too sure about the flavors at first but the longer it cooked, the better it smelled and by dinner time, everyone was smiling. Definitely a repeater! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyv482 February 10, 2009

Great recipe. The meatballs are so nice and tender. I actually left out the flour and sour cream. Instead, when they were done in the crock-pot, I transferred to an oven dish and poured with a sweet and sour BBQ sauce. Then baked in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes. Delicious appetizer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HABS December 21, 2008

Great, versatile, life-saving recipe! I'm not rating this with any stars because I made so many changes (it was Thanksgiving, no stores were open in my rural community, and I had MANY extra unexpected guests arriving for Thanksgiving dinner - my turkey wasn't near big enough!). I found this recipe and substituted out what I didn't have on hand - which turned out to be quite a bit. I subbed fresh parsely for dried, white bread slices for breadcrumbs, condensed French onion soup for a package of Lipton's soup mixed with 2 cups of free range chicken broth, sour cream for a can of cream of mushroom soup. I completely zoned out the Worcestershire. I threw it all in the crock pot and got rave reviews for my "Swedish" meatballs. I will try the actual recipe some time! Thank you for the base recipe for Save My Thanksgiving Meatballs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady November 27, 2008

My first attempt at Swedish Meatballs was a success thanks to this recipe! :) I actually substituted ground chicken to cut back a bit on the fat and it made a great replacement. I agree that the ginger flavor is strong in this recipe, but hubby and I both happened to like it and felt it complimented the meat really well. No other substitutions other than a squirt of dijon mustard for the powdered stuff...then when the meatballs were ready I scooped them out of the crockpot, deglazed the pot with about 1 cup of veggie broth, and blended in one cup sour cream for a luscious sauce. Amazing! Will makie again for sure....thanks for posting, Mindi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid November 22, 2008

I followed your recipe exactly and it looked and smelled really good. I did smell the ginger strongly though. My husband didn't like it, however. He found the ginger overpowering. Sorry. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattitheshark December 13, 2007

Very good. I cut the recipe in half but used 1 whole egg instead of the egg yolks, and also instead of garlic powder and salt I just used 1 teaspoon garlic salt. We served this over noodles for an easy supper. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 27, 2006
Crock Pot Swedish Meatballs