55 Reviews

These were wonderful! I made them to have for dinner last night and got compliments all around the house (husband and father-in-law). I read the reviews and doubled the sauce, and I am definitely glad I did! Other than that, I used dried minced onion (2 tsp.), added garlic powder to the filling (1 tsp.), and I used ground turkey. The rolls cooked for about 8 1/2 hours on low, while I finished my holiday shopping, and they didn't fall apart or anything (mine looked just like the photo from loof)! My husband thought he wouldn't like them when he heard what I was making, but he did! I served the rolls over noodles and I also made some oven-roasted sweet potato slices to go with it. Thanks for this awesome recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 December 03, 2010

I have always wanted a great stuffed cabbage dish! My search is over! This recipe is not only DELICIOUS but super simple to make! My store didn't have savoy cabbage so I used regular cabbage and did blance the leaves. The only other change I made was I doubled the recipe and quadrupled the sauce. It wasn't overly saucy when they were done, and the meat was most but the rolls were firm and not falling apart. A VERY enjoyable meal! Thanks for sharing, I can't wait to make it again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristin November 13, 2010

Very easy to make. Cabbage rolls can be intimidating, and these are a great way to get started. I used a mix of ground turkey and ground pork and cooked in the slow cooker on high for 5 hours. Turned out great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzanneMac April 22, 2011

I haven't cooked in a crock pot in years, and this was a delicious first attempt. I agree with another reviewer that blanching the leaves isn't necessary; my rolls fell apart :( I think I will just layer the meat between whole cabbage leaves next time (like a lasagne) and be done with it! hahahah Great recipe, Soulmates. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Katfairykats November 06, 2010

Excellent--the use of savoy cabbage makes all the difference. I did used meatloaf mix which is a combo of hamburger, veal and pork which gave a little more fat content and more flavor. I added a dash of white wine vinegar. The smooth flavor of savoy cabbage compliments the beef mixture very well. I do recommend doubling or tripling the sauce if you want some to pour over the roll during serving. The sauce was very delicious and worth it. It's rare that you make a dish that needs no alteration after cooking. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy October 11, 2010

Yummy and easy, but a bit too sweet. Next time, we will cut the sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATLGRL April 28, 2013

Sorry, real Swedish cabbage rolls (k?ldolmar) isn't served with a tomato based sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LarsN September 11, 2012

Delicious and simple recipe, the only difference I made was to use regular cabbage instead of savoy. Thank you for sharing a recipe we will enjoy over and over!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mzkami August 19, 2011

I thought this was very good. I doubled the sauce & added some garlic. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pechsth October 29, 2009

These were great cabbage rolls!! I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce and was glad I did - it was great over rice. DH went crazy over these - they'll definitely be made again - thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof October 06, 2009
Crock Pot Swedish Cabbage Rolls (The Best!!!!!!)