10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great and easy! I'm a lazy cook and my family loves Stove Top, so thats all we ever ate. I tried this because it was an off day for me, cause I felt like "fussing". Well, it wasn't much work at all and my whole family loved it. I actually made home made stuffing and it was great! I use the bags of Pepperidge Farms Sage stuffing, crumbled. I've made it twice and even tho its cooked in a large crockpot, its gone the next day. Its even good cold. My stuffing was a bit moist too, so I took off the lid for the last 30 to 60 minutes. For easier clean up, use a crock pot liner. That way you have the best of everything, excellent stuffing and no clean up. Thanks Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BABYBOP January 14, 2012

I've made this twice now, and it was a bit too wet and "solid" for my preference the first time, so I reduced to broth and the eggs the second time. (I think the amount of broth would have been correct if it had been baked in the oven.) But it was so easy and the taste was great, and the idea of crock pot stuffing is wonderful for saving oven space and for pot lucks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta December 17, 2011

Made this for family Thanksgiving dinner and it was liked by everyone.. and we are very picky about our dressing! I doubled the recipe, but only used 3 cans of broth because I was worried it would be too soupy. Three cans worked out well for me, but I did puree the mushrooms in their juice (I like the flavor, but not the texture of mushrooms) so there was probably some additional moisture from that. I added some sage and a bit of salt. I cooked it on high for about 3 hours, stirring once in a while to keep the bottom and sides from burning or crusting too hard. This is a great dish for a large meal, frees up the oven and transports well. Will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZMiaJ November 28, 2008

I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. I prefer a crisper dressing, and I think I would have gotten it if I had cooked it longer, but I had only planned for 5 hours so I served it. The family thought it was great. Even DH, who thinks his moms is the one and only, really enjoyed this. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbrynsaas November 28, 2008

I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I didn't follow the recipe exactly (using raisins instead of mushrooms, and poultry seasoning instead of thyme) but that's just personal preference. Due to other reviews citing too much liquid, I didn't quite use all of the 2 cans of broth, and it turned out well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneEye November 27, 2007

This was really easy to put together. I used baby portabello mushrooms instead of canned, and that gave it a great mushroomy flavor. It was soupier than I like so I put it in the broiler for a few minutes to crisp it up. I'd definately make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liljenn November 23, 2007

For a variation, add another cup of chopped onions , instead of thyme use 1 1/2 tsp. sage and 1 tsp. poultry seasoning, and you'll have the recipe from "Best of the Best From the Great Plains" cookbook's submission. (They use 13 cups of dried bread cubes). Glad you posted this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala November 22, 2007

I added giblets and it was so good. I didn't use all the butter, however. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianFarmgal January 11, 2007

Very fresh tasting. I added giblets as well. Only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars was mine did end up a little soupy; think I'll reduce the chicken broth to a can and a half next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyKat November 26, 2006

All I can say is "Wow!" This is amazing dressing. My grandmother is famous for her dressing, but she and my mother both said I had her beat with this one. I was worried the crockpot would make soupy dressing, but it didn't. I thought I would miss the browned part - but it's still there, just on the bottom! I chopped up the mushrooms very fine b/c some people here "don't like" them... but they all loved the stuffing. I used Pepperidge Farm Sage & Onion stuffing cubes and added a bit of sage on top of that because we really do enjoy the flavor of sage. I doubled the recipe and let it cook on low for 4 hours, which was perfect. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * November 25, 2004
Crock Pot Stuffing (Dressing)