148 Reviews

this is almost identical to the one I have been making for years,
1 loaf bread, 2 large onions, 1 1/2 cups celery, 1 apple, 1/2 cup chopped parsley, 1 1/2 tsp each dried thyme, maroram and salt, sage 1-2 tsp, 1/2 tsp of rosemary and black pepper, 1- 1 1/2 cups of turkey, chicken, or vegetable stock.
Slow cooker: high X 1 hour, then down to low for 3-4 hours
Next time I will try the herb proportions listed here, and perhaps add some dried cranberries as suggested in the reviews. I am so glad to have this posted on zaar to keep my favourite holiday recipes together.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo September 18, 2010

Di - this should be a double 5 star rating because I passed it on to my sister who just got out of the hospital. She had to leave the holiday meal to the men-folk there (scary), and I thought they could handle this. Sis and I both agree this is our new stuffing recipe! It was really delicious. I do like my stuffing on the wetter side so I did splash on a bit extra broth, but no other changes. It was outstanding and all of my guests really enjoyed it. The instructions are well written and easy to follow. Thanks for making my holiday tasty and a bit easier too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley2 November 28, 2003

In an effort to avoid taking up precious "oven time" from the roasting turkey, I tried out my traditional oyster stuffing using the slow cooker technique for this recipe. After the first hour on high, then an additional two on low, with the intermediate stirring, I decided that my stuffing was still too wet (I hadn't adjusted the liquids). I decided that I would try turning the slow cooker back to high, and taking the lid off for the last hour. Presto! This worked well. Next time I will both adjust the liquids down and be ready to employ the lid-off, slow-cooker-on-high technique.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! December 02, 2012

This was well received by our Thanksgiving guests. My DH thought it was perfect, but I thought it was a little too salty. I think next time i'll try low sodium broth, and maybe that will make it perfect for me too :). Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy November 27, 2010

This was outstanding! Very easy, cleared up oven space. Very moist and flavors blended nicely. Family usually won't even try any other recipe than a traditional recipe used for years.....Made both this year and this one won over hands down.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis November 26, 2010

First time to make stuffing from scratch and it was perfect! I love the idea of being able to throw the ingredients together and forget about it until serving time. Made the recipe as directed and it was super moist and flavorful. I ended up making it twice this Thanksgiving weekend as one of the dinners we attended didn't have anyone bringing stuffing. Thanks for a wonderful and easy recipe. This will be made a lot for my future Thanksgivings or whenever!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 November 30, 2009

My Canadian Hubby begged me to stuff the bird this year - NO WAY! So I tried this recipe but used 1 box each of Turkey, Savory Herb and Cornbread Stove Top stuffing mix. I always fry up diced bacon with my onions and celery but this time added some carrot - also added a bit of garlic, some extra sage and some parsley and omitted the apple (to me apple stuffing would be great with roasted pork loin). I used 1 can of chicken broth and the liquid from cooking the turkey parts. Cooked it all up in my 7 qt on high for a couple hours. I did add a bit more water around the edge about 90 minutes of cooking just to make sure. WOW! He loved it! Said it was like outta the bird and even had the same coloring he remembered. Next time, I'll divide it into 2 crock pots so he can have his giblets, etc. in his the way he likes it. I'll never have to worry about the stuffing ever again. Woo Hoo! Thanks for posting this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizWasy November 27, 2009

This is wonderful. I made it up the day before, put it in the fridge and then into my crockpot the next day. This smells wonderful while cooking. The seasonings are perfect! We all enjoyed this a lot. Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ December 27, 2003

Got raves with this recipe. I added some dried cranberries as other reviews suggested and just let it cook on low for 5-6 hours. Came out tasty and moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 November 26, 2010

This was excellent! My family loves stuffing, but there's never enough for leftovers. Used this recipe this Xmas, stuffed the bird and this also. You couldn't really tell the difference! Made exactly as posted, even the apple. Thanks so much DiB, everyone went home with this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riderfan December 29, 2009
Crock Pot Stuffing