Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    143 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 143

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2010

      I have made this recipe for years, but never included apple. Will do that this year. I have one thing that I add to this, that makes it just like "in the bird" stuffing. I buy a turkey thigh, or wing, or similar size piece of turkey in the fresh meat case, and put that on top of the stuffing when I let it cook. It cooks for about three hours, and the turkey is cooked all the way through, plus the stuffing has the taste of turkey that makes it so delicious! It just adds a scrumptious flavor, and you can always use more dark meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Excellent easy recipe. It was so nice to not have to fuss with stuffing in the oven when cooking a big turkey dinner. I took your advice and doubled the sage and savory. I also added 1/2 C dried cranberries which I usually have in my stuffing. It adds a nice colour to it. I cooked it for 41/2 hours total as my turkey took a little longer than I had planned. It was still nice and moist. It went well with your master brine recipe which is the only way to cook a turkey for me from now on. Thanks Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      It took me a while to get back here, but I did make the stuffing and it went over great with my daughter. She loved it and I used it as a topping for a savory vegetable pie I made her a few days later. Nice flavor and I did double the sage and savory-I was worried that it would not be moist enough, however the sweat from the lid helped. I will make it again. Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Love this! I added an additional bit of sage. I also added 5 hot Italian sausages. Casings removed and fried and crumbled, then added to the stuffing mixture. BIG HIT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I doubt that I will ever stuff another turkey. Mine was a tad soggy - I added a little too much chicken broth when stirring, but do learn from my mistakes. This was still delicious and I didn't have to worry about it being contaminated by the turkey and not cooked well enough. I added cooked sausage as per my usual recipe and will definitely make this again. Update: It may be that my slow cooker runs hot, but I find the results better if I cook on low for the entire time. Otherwise I've been getting burned bits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Everyone loved this version. Previously, I used a very similar version, but without the apples. A tip for easy clean-up--spray your crock pot with non-stick cooking spray before adding the stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Talk about a time saver! I made this to go with our Thanksgiving dinner. I added a handful of dried cranberries, but otherwise made as directed. I have a "new" crockpot (one that cooks really hot) so I just put it on the "keep warm" setting for three to four hours and it was done right on time! I did add about 1/2 to 3/4 cups extra broth and a few tablespoons of butter to get it a little more moist. I will be using this from now on for Thanksgiving, for sure! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      This recipe is a great idea! My kids won't touch stuffing if I put it in the bird...too gross, they say. So, I've been simply baking it, but it sure doesn't get that nice soft texture that comes from long moist cooking. Now, they are happy with the stuffing and so am I. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used Penzy's Poultry Seasoning instead of the spices. I'm going to try this method next time with my traditional cornbread/pecan stuffing and see how it turns out. I'm so happy you posted this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      Posted June 15, 2003, So delicious! I loved the idea of making this in my crockpot as it seems like EVERY turkey dinner dish has to take its turn in the oven. I did double the sage and the thyme and added a bit of basil as well. I used a grated macintosh apple instead of a tart apple. I then grated 2 carrots too and threw those in. I will make these again for sure. Thank you so much for suggesting this yummy dish! **edited to add that I now own two crockpots and today I made one with Smokehouse Chicken Turn Your Crock Pot Into a Smokehouse Chicken (Smoked Chicken) and made this one in the afternoon in my other one. What a great meal to come home to after my first day of classes. I even had my parent's over who were surprised that I could whip up such a tasty meal after being gone almost all day! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      This was well received by our Thanksgiving guests. My DH thought it was perfect, but I thought it was a little too salty. I think next time i'll try low sodium broth, and maybe that will make it perfect for me too :). Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This was outstanding! Very easy, cleared up oven space. Very moist and flavors blended nicely. Family usually won't even try any other recipe than a traditional recipe used for years.....Made both this year and this one won over hands down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Really good! Made my own bread cubes as I couldn't find any unseasoned ones and it turned out great. Nice flavor. Easy! Love the fact that you can just leave it while you take care of everything else! I added just a splash more chicken broth during the cooking to make sure it stayed moist. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      this is almost identical to the one I have been making for years,
      1 loaf bread, 2 large onions, 1 1/2 cups celery, 1 apple, 1/2 cup chopped parsley, 1 1/2 tsp each dried thyme, maroram and salt, sage 1-2 tsp, 1/2 tsp of rosemary and black pepper, 1- 1 1/2 cups of turkey, chicken, or vegetable stock.
      Slow cooker: high X 1 hour, then down to low for 3-4 hours
      Next time I will try the herb proportions listed here, and perhaps add some dried cranberries as suggested in the reviews. I am so glad to have this posted on zaar to keep my favourite holiday recipes together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      First time to make stuffing from scratch and it was perfect! I love the idea of being able to throw the ingredients together and forget about it until serving time. Made the recipe as directed and it was super moist and flavorful. I ended up making it twice this Thanksgiving weekend as one of the dinners we attended didn't have anyone bringing stuffing. Thanks for a wonderful and easy recipe. This will be made a lot for my future Thanksgivings or whenever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      My Canadian Hubby begged me to stuff the bird this year - NO WAY! So I tried this recipe but used 1 box each of Turkey, Savory Herb and Cornbread Stove Top stuffing mix. I always fry up diced bacon with my onions and celery but this time added some carrot - also added a bit of garlic, some extra sage and some parsley and omitted the apple (to me apple stuffing would be great with roasted pork loin). I used 1 can of chicken broth and the liquid from cooking the turkey parts. Cooked it all up in my 7 qt on high for a couple hours. I did add a bit more water around the edge about 90 minutes of cooking just to make sure. WOW! He loved it! Said it was like outta the bird and even had the same coloring he remembered. Next time, I'll divide it into 2 crock pots so he can have his giblets, etc. in his the way he likes it. I'll never have to worry about the stuffing ever again. Woo Hoo! Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      This is wonderful. I made it up the day before, put it in the fridge and then into my crockpot the next day. This smells wonderful while cooking. The seasonings are perfect! We all enjoyed this a lot. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Di - this should be a double 5 star rating because I passed it on to my sister who just got out of the hospital. She had to leave the holiday meal to the men-folk there (scary), and I thought they could handle this. Sis and I both agree this is our new stuffing recipe! It was really delicious. I do like my stuffing on the wetter side so I did splash on a bit extra broth, but no other changes. It was outstanding and all of my guests really enjoyed it. The instructions are well written and easy to follow. Thanks for making my holiday tasty and a bit easier too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      In an effort to avoid taking up precious "oven time" from the roasting turkey, I tried out my traditional oyster stuffing using the slow cooker technique for this recipe. After the first hour on high, then an additional two on low, with the intermediate stirring, I decided that my stuffing was still too wet (I hadn't adjusted the liquids). I decided that I would try turning the slow cooker back to high, and taking the lid off for the last hour. Presto! This worked well. Next time I will both adjust the liquids down and be ready to employ the lid-off, slow-cooker-on-high technique.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Got raves with this recipe. I added some dried cranberries as other reviews suggested and just let it cook on low for 5-6 hours. Came out tasty and moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This was excellent! My family loves stuffing, but there's never enough for leftovers. Used this recipe this Xmas, stuffed the bird and this also. You couldn't really tell the difference! Made exactly as posted, even the apple. Thanks so much DiB, everyone went home with this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.4
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    28%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 615.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites