Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Stuffed Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Stuffed Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2007

      This was SO good, I couldn't stop eating it! I used less liquid so it was more like a thick hearty stew, and I absolutely loved it like that. I used barley instead of rice, and I think I would stick with the barley because of its wonderful texture. I had some leftover cooked sliced beef and sausage, so I used both in place of the meat in the recipe, and it was just fabulous. I added some tomato sauce on top as well, and cooked everything on high for exactly 4 hours. Everything was tender and delicious. I can't wait to make this again, and that'll be soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I used the ground beef, V-8, and rice options, followed the recipe and added just a touch of marjoram and skipped the tabasco. This was a tasty and hearty soup and I will be making it again. So easy to throw together and enjoy when you come home. I can see why there are differences in the reviews as there are so many variations of stuffed cabbage. This one was very close to the taste of my mom's! Thanks for posting littleturtle. Made for Tis the Season for Giving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Really good soup and filling, but not quite the stuffed cabbage taste I was looking for. The kids all added cheese (my daughter said she might try it on top of hot dogs next). Does make a lot which is great with this family of adult kids who can eat a lot! Thanks Littleturtle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      First, the modifications: I used 1/3 c brown sugar and 1/3 c lemon juice; I used a Napa cabbage and left out the Tabasco. I added a bay leaf and 5-6 stems of dried thyme. I also used only 32oz of broth, because I wanted something a little thicker. It came out DELICIOUS, and a LOT easier than full-blown stuffed cabbage. I loved the barley (instead of the rice) for the flavor and texture. I got... easily 10-12 meals out of it. I remember my grandmother making a mock stuffed cabbage but making little meatballs; I might try doing that next time instead of browning the meat first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This has been in my cookbook for a while, and I finally got around to trying it. Love it! I added a bay leaf and some thyme and went with the barley. Simmered mine partially covered on the stovetop for about 3-4 hours instead of using a crockpot, too. Nice, warm and filling with the general flavors of stuffed cabbage. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      LOVED IT!!! I used V-8 and regular sugar and it was delish! Easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Personal taste doesn’t make a recipe bad so I will not rate this but instead tell you our experience. I followed this recipe except for the Tabasco sauce, I was out. I used another hot sauce that my 16 year old son suggested; he is a large consumer of hot sauce. Oh and I used regular sugar. The recipe was simple enough and it smelled good all day when it was cooking. It really is a beautiful dish, I am including a picture, the texture was nice and I personally liked the barley. Though it was not suited to our taste, after the first bite there was a particular sweet flavor that none of us liked, it wasn’t bad just not what we are use too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Love, Love, Love this soup!!! The only thing I did different was to use regular sugar (and more of it) & lemon juce, so that it had the sweet & sour flavor that I get when I make stuffed cabbage. This one is a definate keeper and I will be making this often!!!Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      WE LOVED IT! Thanks! I cooked this in a crock pot all day and turned out great! I used some Spicy V8 for a added kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      This deserves nothing less than 5 stars. I used 2lbs of ground beef (already cooked and frozen so just needed to defrost), 1 largish vadalia onion, vegetable bouillon instead of beef, brown rice and left out the tabasco sauce. I put it together last night and let it cook while we slept. Upon rising, DH stirred it and let it finish cooking while we go ready for work. We refrigerated during the day and warmed part of it up on the stove for dinner. YUMMMY! DH was thrilled as he was looking for the taste of a soup he had at a restaurant recently. This captured the essence but gave him a heartier 'meal' soup instead of a 'side soup'. Thanks for sharing this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I put this on late last night and had it for lunch today. It was wonderful. Made mine with rice and sugar instead of Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Made this tonight. It was good. I added onion and some mixed veggies, a 14 oz can of diced garlic and basil tomatoes. Oh yeah a splsh of red wine. Didn't use cabbage used 1/2 bag of cole slaw mix. We loved it. The kids ate it right up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      This soup is hearty and great as a meal. I opted to use the beef cube stew meat; I browned them on all sides before putting in the crockpot; they got nice and tender. I just thought it needed a little extra flavor, so I added some extra garlic, some celery seed and thyme. I opted for the rice and the crushed tomatoes. Thanx for posting the recipe. I'll make it again with the extra seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      We were definately not crazy about this soup. It really stunk up my house as it cooked (the cabbage), and it just didn't taste so great. A disappointment since I love cabbage rolls and the ingredients made sense. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      I loved everything about this soup/stew. I followed the directions and added barley instead of rice which i think lends a more creamy texture. I didnt have spenda but had Equal so added to packets. I also added more Tabasco sauce to taste at the end because we like more heat. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      This was just excellent. Very hardy and filling. It makes a lot too so the freezer is happy too!! I, too, think barley is better than rice in a soup. I did add some additional beef broth after is was done to make it more like a soup!! Thanks littleturtle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Stuffed Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (654 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.3
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    34%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 73.9 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1577.4 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites