Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Stifado Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Stifado

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      IT CANNOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS, DELICIOUS! It smelled wonderful when it was cooking, and tasted a zillion times more wonderful when eating it. The meal was almost done, but DH was leaving for his softball game, he couldn't resist himself and helped himself into the crockpot and devoured some before I even added the feta cheese. He actually called me on his way home from the game, to tell me how good it was and to make sure there was alot leftover. He dashed into the house, went straight to the kitchen, fixed and ate his dinner in about 7 minutes, and the compliments just rolled out of his mouth the whole 7 minutes. I only used 1 1/2 onion (DH doesn't like and when he asked what was in it 1/2 way through and I told him, he didn't even make a face, just more compliments. I also served it over buttered Angel Hair pasta. Thanks Lennie, this one is KEEPER for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Wow! I have made this twice now, and it is superb!Really didn't have time to do the crockpot, so put it on the stove both times, and it was excellent! The combination of flavors is fantastic. The whole family loves it, and in fact, daughter requested it again!Thanks for an easy superb dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      A fabulous recipie - I'm still drooling thinking about it, because there were no leftovers for me to eat now! I used tomato paste with enough water to make the measurement instead of tomato sauce, and it turned out great. The feta adds a great zing, and my husband, who doesn't like feta, still loved this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      Don't feel right rating this since I don't eat meat and didn't try it. My husband and son weren't thrilled with it, though they did eat it. Would it help to say that my kids are (EXTREMELY) picky and my husband isn't the biggest tomato sauce fan? I do have to say that when I came home from work, the house smelled delicious. One more son has yet to try it... we'll see!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Lennie, I'm so sorry to be so long posting a review on this 'ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC RECIPEE" Quote from one of my book club members. I had to add more tomato sauce as it just seemed too thick. I halved the onions as the ones I had were REALLY big, and increased the feta (can't get enough of that stuff). I served it over mashed potatoes. I have since fed it to my neighbours and my parents and all agree it's company quality and darned tasty comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      This was fabulous. I liked how all of the spices mixed together with the feta cheese. I did not deviate from the recipe and I am glad I didn't. I am looking forward to the leftovers. Great recipe Lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2002

      Exceptionally delicious yet so easy to make. Everyone in my family love the stew and already asked me to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2002

      I cooked the meat in a wok, so it was really easy to cook a lot at once. The whole family loved this, including the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      This was my first dish in a brand new 5qt. crockpot. FANTASTIC. I browned the meat before placing in the crockpot and then added red skin potatoes and carrots. After 4 hours of cooking on low, I added 2 1/3 cups of water because I wanted more gravy, then cooked an additional 3 hours. The water didn't dilute the flavors a bit. This recipe was perfect. The feta really makes this dish - unique blend of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      I came home from skiing to this wonderful dish in my crockpot. We had it over noodles and I plan to make it again. The feta cheese really gives it some super flavor. This morning when preparing it, I skipped all the meat browning and cooking of the onions and just threw it all in the crockpot and let it cook all day. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I was a bit skeptical about making this stew when I was reading the ingredients. I never used allspice and cinnamon when cooking with meat. I have only used those spices when baking. I decided to put my worries aside and go ahead with this recipe especially after reading all of the 5-star reviews. I made this last night for dinner and I must admit...I couln't keep my hands out of the crockpot! The meat was so tender and the flavors were wonderful. It was such a nice change of pace with the different spices and all. During the last 10 minutes of cooking when I added the feta cheese on top and then tasted it when I put it over the buttered noodles was like I was tasting it again for the first time. I don't know what it is but the feta makes it taste soooooo good. I will be making this again! Great Recipe...Thanks for Sharing!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      Lennie-Thanks for a fabulous recipe! It's been a cold and rainy weekend here in the Houston area, so this was the kind of food we craved. My biggest problem was keeping my DH out of the crockpot while it cooked! He said the aroma was driving him CRAZY! Followed the recipe exactly and served it over wide pasta noodles- YUM! We'll definitely have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      I've made this atleast a dozen times. The first time I made it was for my parents. The second time was for my brother. He is extremely picky but asked to take home the leftovers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      Excellent! I made this for a New Year's dinner party and it was gobbled up. I did have one guest who doesn't like Feta, so I pulled out a serving of the stew before stirring it in -- just as good that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      Just great! I made this on a cold day, with snow in the forecast, and came home after Christmas shopping to find this delicious dinner all ready! DH and DD loved it and there were no leftovers! I made it just as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      Delicious! It's so different from any stew I've tried, but 'comfort' food all the same. I added extra garlic, just because we love garlic here. I served this over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a real winning recipe, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      Mmmmmmm This is really, really good! I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Despite the heat and humidity, I craved a stew of some sort yesterday. I've had this in my cookbook for ages, and decided to give it a whirl! Three hours after loading the ingredients into the crockpot, the most amazing smells came forth! I cheated and snuck out a few cubes of beef before it was done because I siumply couldn't contain myself. Then I added the feta cheese, which melted into the beef and broth. Oh yes, it added a rich tanginesss that complimented the cinnamon and allspice! I'm on a low carb/sugar diet, so I used a half packet of sugar substitute for the sugar. This screamed for a bed of hot egg noodles, but I ate it plain with sauteed spinach and cherry tomatoes! This is absolutely wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      Made this for supper last night exactly the way the recipe stated and it was super! The only thing I did different was to add a bit of water to thin the gravy a bit. Served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2003

      I made this today and it was delicious. I did add some water to it at the beginning. I was concerned that it would be too thick and I didn't want it to burn since I put it on and left for work for the day. It turned out just fine. The feta cheese is a must. I served it over noodles. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Stifado

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 332.3
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    39%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 119.0 mg
    39%
    Sodium 725.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites