117 Reviews

IT CANNOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS, DELICIOUS! It smelled wonderful when it was cooking, and tasted a zillion times more wonderful when eating it. The meal was almost done, but DH was leaving for his softball game, he couldn't resist himself and helped himself into the crockpot and devoured some before I even added the feta cheese. He actually called me on his way home from the game, to tell me how good it was and to make sure there was alot leftover. He dashed into the house, went straight to the kitchen, fixed and ate his dinner in about 7 minutes, and the compliments just rolled out of his mouth the whole 7 minutes. I only used 1 1/2 onion (DH doesn't like and when he asked what was in it 1/2 way through and I told him, he didn't even make a face, just more compliments. I also served it over buttered Angel Hair pasta. Thanks Lennie, this one is KEEPER for sure!

54 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 05, 2002

Wow! I have made this twice now, and it is superb!Really didn't have time to do the crockpot, so put it on the stove both times, and it was excellent! The combination of flavors is fantastic. The whole family loves it, and in fact, daughter requested it again!Thanks for an easy superb dish.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panino August 13, 2002

A fabulous recipie - I'm still drooling thinking about it, because there were no leftovers for me to eat now! I used tomato paste with enough water to make the measurement instead of tomato sauce, and it turned out great. The feta adds a great zing, and my husband, who doesn't like feta, still loved this dish.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa the lazy gourmand March 05, 2002

Don't feel right rating this since I don't eat meat and didn't try it. My husband and son weren't thrilled with it, though they did eat it. Would it help to say that my kids are (EXTREMELY) picky and my husband isn't the biggest tomato sauce fan? I do have to say that when I came home from work, the house smelled delicious. One more son has yet to try it... we'll see!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi August 07, 2002

Lennie, I'm so sorry to be so long posting a review on this 'ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC RECIPEE" Quote from one of my book club members. I had to add more tomato sauce as it just seemed too thick. I halved the onions as the ones I had were REALLY big, and increased the feta (can't get enough of that stuff). I served it over mashed potatoes. I have since fed it to my neighbours and my parents and all agree it's company quality and darned tasty comfort food.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Do-e December 30, 2002

This was fabulous. I liked how all of the spices mixed together with the feta cheese. I did not deviate from the recipe and I am glad I didn't. I am looking forward to the leftovers. Great recipe Lennie.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ August 16, 2002

Exceptionally delicious yet so easy to make. Everyone in my family love the stew and already asked me to make it again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan April 10, 2002

I was a bit skeptical about making this stew when I was reading the ingredients. I never used allspice and cinnamon when cooking with meat. I have only used those spices when baking. I decided to put my worries aside and go ahead with this recipe especially after reading all of the 5-star reviews. I made this last night for dinner and I must admit...I couln't keep my hands out of the crockpot! The meat was so tender and the flavors were wonderful. It was such a nice change of pace with the different spices and all. During the last 10 minutes of cooking when I added the feta cheese on top and then tasted it when I put it over the buttered noodles was like I was tasting it again for the first time. I don't know what it is but the feta makes it taste soooooo good. I will be making this again! Great Recipe...Thanks for Sharing!!!!!!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanette G January 20, 2003

Lennie-Thanks for a fabulous recipe! It's been a cold and rainy weekend here in the Houston area, so this was the kind of food we craved. My biggest problem was keeping my DH out of the crockpot while it cooked! He said the aroma was driving him CRAZY! Followed the recipe exactly and served it over wide pasta noodles- YUM! We'll definitely have this again!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas January 12, 2003

I cooked the meat in a wok, so it was really easy to cook a lot at once. The whole family loved this, including the kids.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kchristieh January 30, 2002
Crock Pot Stifado