Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Steak and Black Bean Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Steak and Black Bean Chili

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2005

      This chili is awesome though I tinkered with the recipe a bit.Instead of steak I used groun sirloin, instead of black beans I used kidney beans and instead of green pepper I used fresh jalapenos(We are Texans after all).The spice combo was perfection.I also cooked it on the stove at a slow heat for 3 hours instead of the crockpot.Everyone thought this was the best chili ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      It is a pretty average chili. It was easy to make. I used ground beef instead. Overall it is good chili recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I was using up some beef I had leftover and came across this recipe. I was really getting tired of eating all my excess beef UNTIL I tried this recipe! This was a wonderful chili, and normally I would much prefer ground beef in my chili- not any more! It took about 9 hours in my crock pot (6 on low and 3 on high-my pot takes forever to cook!). At the end my beef was tender (but still in cubes) so I broke it up with a potato masher, giving me the texture I wanted. Thanks Mary, for this super recipe! Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Hubby and I liked this chili. I had never used beef cubes to make chili before, and it was a good change. I cut the recipe in half, but that was the only change I made. I guess we must like our chili hotter than most because this did not have enough heat for us. Oh I did make one addition, I added 4 cloves of garlic. I would make this again, I would just do more chili powder and more cumin for that smoky taste. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Wow!!! Talk about comfort food!!! My DH loved it, and is raving to everyone he knows about how wonderful it was!!!I also added some whole kernel sweet corn to the mix, along with spicy chili beans!! Will be making this again, and thanks for posting, Mary!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This was fantastic. I also used ground beef and added some red pepper flakes for a little kick. I used one can of black beans and one of kidney beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      I prepared this recipe exactly as stated and it was fabulous! Looks and tastes great. It makes alot so I served it with chedder cheese and sour cream the first night and over white rice the second night. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I like to use both ground beef & steak. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Excellent! We didn't didn't alter anything and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I prepared this exactly as was written, and it turned out great! Both my 4 year old and 10 month old enjoyed it, so it is definitely kid friendly. My husband wanted an extra kick in his, so he added jalapeno peppers to his bowl. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was very easy to make and turned out tasty. This would be an easy recipe to alter (add corn, switch to a different bean, etc.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      This is a great recipe for deer meat too, especially if you can't ground your deer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Awesome...we really liked this. The stew beef came out nicely tender and very tasty. By mistake (wasn't wearing my glasses) I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes instead of the chili tomatoes, but it did work out. I'll be more careful in future. You really do need more chili powder and cumin for the flavor. Thanks, Mary, for a keeper. . . . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Yummy! I cut the recipe in half since I was only cooking for myself and cooked the chili on the stove top for 3.5 hours. Came out perfectly! I used lamb instead of beef (I had some in the freezer I needed to use), and red instead of green pepper. I also added about 3/4 cup of chicken stock because I was afraid it would stick to the pan since I was not using a crockpot. This was very tasty and super easy. Thanks for the recipe mary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This is the best chili I've ever tasted. Hands down. Instead of using all 2lbs stewing beef I substituted 1.5lbs sirloin steak (chopped) and 0.5lobs stew beef. Excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Awesome recipe! I used elk steak, and added a little extra spice, and it was wonderful! A big hit at our company potluck. And a nice change using black beans. Thanks! This will definitely be a staple from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      The flavor of this recipe was good, but next time I think a better quality of beef would work best. I think even hamburger would taste better than stew meat. Since the stew meat ruined it for us, we just pushed it to the side and ate the rest, which was very good. I will make it again because I love black beans, but maybe with sirloin. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Steak and Black Bean Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1230.0
     
    Calories from Fat 979
    79%
    Total Fat 108.8 g
    167%
    Saturated Fat 44.9 g
    224%
    Cholesterol 150.2 mg
    50%
    Sodium 290.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites