Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Spinach Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Spinach Stuffed Pasta Shells

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2002

      Very tasty and easy to put together! I made a minor substitution...used ricotta mixed with egg in place of the cottage cheese. I didn't miss the meat in this one at all! Thanks Miss Annie, this will be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      This was really yummy! I needed more sauce, though. My spaghetti sauce can was only 26 oz. (ever notice how "they" start w/ large sizes, then gradually get smaller, but keep the price the same??!!) SO - some of my shells burned to the sides of the crockpot. (I was gone all day, or would've checked on it & caught this) Also - when reheating the leftovers, they were kinda dry - so I'd recommended using at least the stated amount of spaghetti sauce. As another note here- my husband hates spinach, and ate these w/o hesitation, as did my ds's (ages 5 & 3) - so this is a "keeper!" Thanks for sharing, Miss Annie! I never tried pasta in the crockpot before. My cousin unexpectedly popped in for lunch, so I heated her a plate, and she is taking home the recipe, too! She LOVED it, as did her 5 yr old DS. So - again, my thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      I had no idea these stuffed shells would turn out so well cooked in a crock pot. Tasted so yummy and with very little time spent in the kitchen. Thanks so much Miss Annie. Very filling and loved that rich cheesy taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Excellent with a few changes. Used ricotta instead of cottage cheese, no onion, and only half the spinach. Next time we will add much more sauce - it was tasty but not saucy enough for us. Also we only boiled the pasta for half the time on the box so the shells were easy to stuff but did become mushy. My teen who resists eating veggies did not even question the "green stuff" and ate it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Ok. In order for this to work, you need to initially under cook your shells. I cooked mine al-dente, and they totally mushed out after a few hours in the crock pot. ALSO USE a heavy hand with your cheese and seasonings for the filling,so the flavor of the filling doesn't get lost under all the sauce, and definitely substitute whole milk ricotta for the cottage cheese. I also skipped the onions totally and just flavored the filling with onion powder instead. I will say this is the first time my kids ate spinach, so it is a thumbs up for that. Thanks for a nice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      GREAT recipe! I made as directed with just a few changes - substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese, lightly sauteed the onion before adding to stuffing mixture, used cheddar for the mozzerella (what I had on hand), and omitted the italian seasoning and just seasoned with salt & pepper instead. I also used two 25oz jars of our favorite spaghetti sauce just 'cause we like our dishes "saucy". Undercooked the shells just slightly to avoid them turning mushy in the crock. Super Yummy! Received thumbs up rating from young and old in our home! Thanks Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Very good! I didn't think it was bland at all, but then, I use my own spaghetti sauce (6 cloves of garlic!!! Yumm!!) and I followed some other peoples suggestion and substituted ricotta cheese and an egg in place of the cottage cheese. Next time I"ll saute the onions first as they were almost overpowering and I'll use 1/2 the amount of noodles also. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I made this in a baking dish in my oven. It was really good, I added some black pepper, garlic powder, and 3 cheese blend mix, and it worked well. I baked it for about 20 minutes, added a mix of 3 cheese blend again ontop and back in the oven until the cheese melted. Enjoyed by the whole family. Served it with Garlic bread. Thank you, will make it again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Loved the idea and it could not be easier to prepare. I used whole milk ricotta instead of the cottage cheese and added some garlic salt to the cheese mixture. While we all enjoyed this we felt it was a tad bland. The family wants me to layer browned ground italian sausage on top of the sauce on the bottom and before the sauce on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      These were excellent! I've made this several times and it always comes out great. I double the recipe for the filling like another reviewer. Stuffing the shells is quite tedious but the outcome is well worth it! Oh, and I rarely add the onions as I don't think it adds much to the taste. (Take this from someone who loves onions and looks for excuses to add it to my dishes.) I also never use cottage cheese but use ricotta instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      These were terrific! I used extra sauce, just because I like lots of sauce...I didn't have any spinach so I doubled up on the cottage cheese mixture so that I'd have enough (which I did)...I skipped the onions since there were onions in the spag. sauce...I was out of ital. seasoning so I used Mrs. Dash...My crockpot doesn't get very hot on LOW like others crocks so I cooked them on HIGH for 2 hours (although 3 hours wouldn't have hurt it either)...This one's going into permanent rotation for sure! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      This was ok, though a bit bland for me. If making it again I would add a hefty amount of garlic. Also, I ran out of cheese/spinach mixture halfway through stuffing the shells, so I would make double of that. I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese but otherwise followed the recipe. I'll have to admit, my son ate a whole shell, and said he now likes spinach! So that's a great plus for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      Wonderful! My husband ate this for 3 days straight! He couldn't get enough! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Spinach Stuffed Pasta Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 779.5
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    29%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1491.9 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.1 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 45.2 g
    90%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites