17 Reviews

I've made this dip multiple times to rave reviews. I use green onion instead of plain because I like the delicate flavor and it's easier to chop. :) This is the first recipe I've tried that didn't leave a grease pool on top of the dish... Super thick and rich and OH so cheesy and creamy. Thank you so much!! It's my favorite for taking to potlucks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 May 26, 2011

I have been using this recipe for over a year and I finally decided to register with food.com just so I can review it. This recipe gets me so many compliments and I have been asked for the recipe numerous times! If we get invited anywhere I am always asked to bring this dish and I have been told that it is restaurant quality and I should sell it! It's soo good. That being said I know people hate when you review something and say these are all the ways I changed the recipe but that is how I tweak my recipes to make them extra good so I am going to share that I add a can of Rotel chunky diced tomatoes and chiles for a little spice (sometimes even two cans) and it adds sooo much to the flavor, I also add a spoonful or so of sour cream and a squirt of mayo and slightly less spinach as well as a little more garlic and parmesan. It really brings out the flavor and it is such a hit wherever I go! So glad I found this recipe. It is my go to for artichoke dip base.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisagroethe February 02, 2014

I tripled this recipe for a BBQ. I would probably decreased the spinach a little bit. I am not going to say an amount b/c it is personal preference. I think the onions are a must. I thought it needed more zing so I added a few chopped jalapenoes. Just enough to bring out the flavor more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz July 04, 2010

What can I say? It's WONDERFUL! I adjusted it for my tastes and availability, of course (I can't resist-apologies to the recipe writer)....Used milk instead of half and half-and added a couple tablespoons butter to flavor it up a little for the missing cream. Thank you, Mindy P--I used one bunch green onions instead of regular onion-love green onions. I used a mixer for all the ingredients EXCEPT the artichoke-I want it in good size chunks. Increase the garlic and parmesan some, to taste. I used the 4 cheese Mexican mix (has jack cheese, cheddar and two others, no spices) instead of Jack Cheese because I couldn't find Jack Cheese shredded. Added a small can of water chestnuts, chopped. I prepared it the day before, and refrigerated it until the next morning. Placed in the crockpot a couple hours before serving-fits in a small (2 quart) crockpot very well. Got raves on it. Will be my go-to from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4theFamily November 08, 2014

Great dip for the vegetarians I love. Always gets kudos and I love it when people ask me for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine H. December 19, 2013

Great dip, almost didn't make it to the party because I had to try it out beforehand. I put it in a tiny crock pot on low and it was ready in 2 hours. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore November 17, 2013

Simply amazing! I made this for the first time for a friend's surprise 50th b-day party. I was nervous because I wasn't sure how it was going to taste. Everyone LOVED it! Thank you! This will be my go to recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieNH March 06, 2013

Made for a party and got great reviews from everyone. Easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luckygirl 80 January 28, 2012

Can't believe I forgot to review this! This is so simple to make and tastes SO yummy! We've made this several times now and it always turns out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meganhough May 22, 2010

I've tried a few spinach artichoke dips and this was by far the best. I liked that you could make it in a crockpot. I brought it to a Girls' Weekend, and everyone loved it! This will be the spinach artichoke dip I make from now on. One note: I didn't want to buy Monteray Jack cheese (it was too expensive) so I used swiss cheese instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katiecarr February 23, 2010
Crock Pot Spinach and Artichoke Dip