10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this very much. I took it on our vacation and we nibbled on it throughout. Thanks for the easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 24, 2012

This Mix was really good but I had the same problem with the cheerios shriveling and the pieces starting to burn a bit, even though I stirred it much more than every 30 mins. So after an hour I turned it to low for 1/2 hour then spread it out on a pan to dry and it was fine that way. I think next time I will just use the oven but the recipe itself was great, We could not stop eating it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover December 21, 2008

This was so easy to make in the crock pot. I followed the recipe as written other then I used garlic powder and onion powder instead of garlic and onion salt as that is what I had on hand. I also didn't add the tabasco sauce. I only had to cook mine on high for the two hours. Everyone enjoyed it. Made for Fall PAC 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 06, 2008

My kids loved this! Because of allergies we had to make some subs though. We used sunflower seeds instead of nuts, and also used soy butter. I made a double batch, but I only used 6T of Worcestershire sauce. Also used garlic powder and onion powder instead of salt. I didn't have seasoning salt, so I skipped that. I didn't have shredded wheat, so we used cheerios, multi grain cheerios, corn & rice chex. I cooked it 2 hours on high, stirring often, and skipped the rest of the cooking. Worked Great! Thanks a bunch! This will now be my go-to recipe for chex snack mix. Much easier in the crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiersten Phae August 14, 2007

I'm so sorry. I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the directions to the letter and it still flopped. My shreddies and cheerios went soggy then shrivelled and the pretzels turned black. Then all I could taste was worcestire sauce. Again, I'm sorry, I wish it had of turned out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyMomof3 May 31, 2006

What a great way to cook this recipe. Saves on electricity

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie from TX December 12, 2005

I made this a while back, and I'm sorry I forgot to review it. It was great! I just two different chex cereals, pretzels, nuts and double sauce...YUMMY! I'm making it today again, for the upcoming Thanksgiving feast. Now, if I can just keep my hands out of it till then....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali November 21, 2005

what a no brainer way of making snack mix. instead of worrying about burning it in the oven, you use a crockpot and no worry. it also tasted delicious. thank you for posting this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears January 03, 2004

Good stuff! And I LOVED being able to make it in the crockpot while I had the oven tied up with my other baking. Why didn't I ever think of this? Very easy to follow instructions, and the end result was great. I did add about 2 Tablespoons of hot sauce instead of just a dash, just because that is our taste. I will never make this in the oven again, thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty December 17, 2003

I made this recipe for the holiday season and it was great. It was so nice to be able to use my oven for other things while this was cooking in the crock pot. While cooking, it smelled so good I would "sample" every once in a while. Yummy! Delicious basic snack food that everyone enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing January 05, 2003
Crock Pot Snack Mix