9 Reviews

Made a double batch of this just last night for a get together we're having tomorrow evening & it is ABSOLUTELY GREAT, both in taste & smell! Definitely a keeper here! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Gimme 5]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 30, 2010

This was a wonderful recipe and didnt last long. Next time I will have to make a double batch for DH to enjoy. Can see this made quite often during the year! Thanks Vic for sharing this one with us! Made and reviewed For Your Consideration recipe tag game. http://4foodfriendsandfun.yuku.com/topic/286/For-Your-ConsiderationTag-Game?page=1

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 16, 2014

This turned out wonderful and a great way to prepare it. I loved not having to heat up the house. I made this for our vacation/road trip and we loved it. thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 08, 2013

Oh my gosh - I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet. We have probably been making this for as long as it's been on this website. I think I mis-read this the first time we made it because we used Wheat Chex instead of shredded wheat and now I can't get my head around something as thick and dense as shredded wheat absorbing enough of the yummy flavors of the "dressing". So now we always use Wheat Chex. I have an old inefficient slow cooker that is absolutely PERFECT for this recipe. It holds a triple batch & that's what we always make. Our friends at church expect a small bag of this at Christmas-time with their greeting card. This year we have already made 5 triple batches. So, in case you haven't guessed WE LOVE IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT December 22, 2011

Sounds exactly like I make it in the mic. I'll do this from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Llove To Cook November 05, 2009

I love this recipe. I double it when I do it. I do it for the fall and winter. It makes the house smell so good while it's cooking too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cara B. October 14, 2009

Easy and yummy. I doubled all the ingredients except for the butter and made this in my 6-quart slow cooker. This recipe is ideal for those days when you have other cooking or baking to do and don't want to tie up the oven with snack mix. I made this while I was baking and wrapping for Christmas; my oven was in constant use with other goodies while this cooked away in my Crockpot. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessie MacMillan December 28, 2008

I made this but didn't have the shredded wheat cereal, so just increased the Cheerios and Crispix cereals, but otherwise, made as written. This is excellent way to make this, so easy. I was kinda worried after it cooked on the high setting for two hours, as the cereal and pretzels seemed to soften or seem stale in texture, but after the full cooking time and cooling, it is nice and crisp!!! Thanks for sharing Lazyme, as now I can make it without burning it!!! Made for photo tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 05, 2008

This was great.. Family, and I enjoyed this during football today. Nice combination of cereals, and nuts

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker October 19, 2008
Crock Pot Snack Mix