Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Smothered Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Smothered Chicken

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2003

      Braunda, I threw all the ingredients for this into the crockpot and went out into the beautiful spring air today and had an excellent chicken dinner waiting for me on my return! The chicken is so tender with this recipe that it simply falls off the bones! I served it with mashed potatoes and Bergy's Stir Fried Asparagus with Mushrooms Stir Fried Asparagus With Mushrooms, and a crisp green tossed salad. Delicious and simple! What more could you ask? Thank you so much, Braunda, for sharing this recipe with all of us on Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      This was great! I added an extra 1 1/2 tsp flour, because of brau's stern admonishment to watch the fat (I prepared this in the oven), and it came out fantastic. Kudos to Brau! Now if only we could see more turtle recipes......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      I don't know which was better, the recipe the first time or the hot chicken and gravy open-faced sandwiches the next day. I used mushroom garlic soup as only kind I had on hand. In doing so I did not add more garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      Perfect for a Sunday dinner! If you really want to watch the fat content you can use Campbells Cream of Mushroom and skim milk. I did increase the flour to 2 1/2 tablespoons to thicken it since I used skim milk. It didn't compromise the taste at all. I love using my Crock pot and this was a great recipe for it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      I added a can of cr. of chicken soup also. My husband and I both loved it. He told me I could make it anytime. It was very tender and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Fast, easy and very tasty meal. Perfect for these hot days here. It was a snap to put together. My kids loved it, even my 16 month old. Served it over buttered egg noodles, and had steamed brocolli and a salad. Great dinner. Thank you for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      This is such a good tasty and easy meal! I halved the recipe because it is just the 2 of us- did not change a thing (used chicken breasts though). We had ours over egg noodles. Thanks so much for sharing- We will be having this again soon! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Very good. I used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked them on high for 4 hours. I took meat out and shredded it - no effort at all as the chicken was very tender. The sauce was not as thick as we prefer so, before adding the meat back, I followed another's advice and made a beurre manie (had no clue what that is so I looked it up and it is a mixture of flour and butter... I used 2T each... kneaded together and added to sauce). I also added some sour cream - I didn't measure but it was probably 1/4 cup or so. We served over rice but I think it would be delicious over egg noodles. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      Braunda, we really loved this chicken! I followed your recipe exactly. Cooked for 5 hours on high. It was so tender and the gravy was delicious! We had it with fresh sauted spinach and steamed carrots with ginger. Great! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      I usually make this in my electric skillet,,first breading the chicken, fry quickly on both sides then the rest of the recipe is the same. I wasn't going to be home to watch the skillet, so used this method and it is very good. The chicken so tender, gravy made, was a good dinner that my dh and I liked very much. Followed the exact recipe, had no problems, turned out as stated. I used the thighs, legs and breast from a whole chicken, removing what bone I could and removed all the skin. Thanks for posting, this a a keeper recipe for us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      This was a great meal... Followed all the instructions and everything came out great. Thank you!!!! I will make this again. Soon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Very good and easy! Even my picky son enjoyed this. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      This was wonderful!! I've made it several times,but I moved and therefore forgot about it. So glad I found it saved in one of my cookbooks!! I served it tonight over buttered noodles with a lil' chicken bouillion added to them. Great!! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This was a wonderful dish to come home to after church. DH likes a true old fashioned "Sunday Dinner" but that isn't always possible...especially on the Sundays when we have the outreach ministry at a local Nursing Home. Well, this dish gave DH the satisfaction of an old time "Sunday Dinner" yet it took a huge load off of me as I did not have to slave away in the kitchen then run out the door. I will definitely make this dish again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Walnted a fast crockpot dinner, and this fit the bill...it was very good, and so easy to prepare...it is definitely a keeper and will be used again in our home...thanks for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      For the amount of effort required this was very good. We both enjoyed it. I am always happy to have something that can go into the slow cooker without pre-browning. Thank you, Braunda, for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      This makes a very moist, fall off the bone chicken! I did as others suggested and added about 1/3 cup of sour cream after I turned off the crock pot. Adding another can of soup may help thicken up the sauce a bit. The sauce was very tasty and stick to your ribs! I put it over mashed potatoes but I could see it over noodles. Just watch for bones if you use bone-in chicken, they fall right off the chicken and get lost in the gravy...but good gravy it's a good chicken dish! THANKS BRAUNDA FOR SHARING SUCH A GOOD RECIPE!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Yeah for Braunda! This is a wonderfulcrockpot recipe... especially nice on those fall days to come home to the house smelling so yummy! I followed a few other posters advice using boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Also added 1 can of cream of chicken soup (to make the sauce go further-yum!)and at the end added about 1/3 cup of sour cream. The chicken was moist and sooo tender!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Very tasy, easy recipe. I used 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breast. added them to the crockpot frozen and did the rest of the recipe as stated, using soy milk. Cooked it for 6 hours. Served this jasmine rice, a salad of baby greens, avocado, grapes. DH loved the recipe which I will be making again, thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      Easy and quick meal to throw together when you have no idea what to prepare. I had all ingredients on hand but wouldn't be around much today to cook. I popped this in the crockpot and about 1/2 hour before serving, I added 8 oz. of sour cream to it. Served this over basmati rice and it was great. Thanks for sharing Braunda :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Smothered Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 558.7
     
    Calories from Fat 337
    60%
    Total Fat 37.4 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 161.2 mg
    53%
    Sodium 701.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 41.4 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes