23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sorry, the concept of this recipe is wonderful, BUT...the sodium content in this recipe is above and beyond the necessary. The simplicity of using packets of seasoning is great, but not at the cost of my families health. I found that creating my own seasoning combo's and using those made this recipe equally delicious and succulent WITHOUT the ridiculous amount of salt.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nasus August 23, 2009

We thought this was great. It said to add salt. I did not.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl September 11, 2011

yummmmm - made my sandwich today at work...definitely a keeper. just hoping the half i froze will come out tasting the same when i get around to that part

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ January 26, 2009

Fantastic! I have tried several crock pot french dip recipes over the last few years but none have come close to this. I think the french onion soup makes the difference. I made this recipe as written with the exception of not adding salt, thinking with the canned soup and the bouillon that it would be too much. It was not as salty as I expected but I still don't feel the need to add more, just my personal preference.<br/>Served on toasted french bread with melted provolone and the juice on the side. My wife, 11 year old daughter and I thought it was phenomenal! The juice was so much more rich and flavorful than recipes I've tried in the past and the beef was so tender and delicious. Used a four pound roast and cooked for five hours on high rather than on low for 10 or so hours. I've always opted for the longer cook time thinking it would be more tender and was hesitant to cook on high for a shorter time but I was so pleasantly surprised how this turned out.<br/>I can't wait for the leftovers which I'm re-heating as I write this. Thanks for my new roast beef sandwich recipe...I will get a ton of use out of this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckeye fan in STL November 23, 2014

Kids loved it and it was super easy to make! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fishguru August 15, 2011

awsome!!!! Me and my dh loved them. make great leftovers too. thankyou

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen and Layla March 17, 2011

Delicious! Made as directed and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA December 12, 2010

Beyond, loved it. It was gone and people were looking for more. Totally, enjoyable and super easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adventurouscook October 12, 2009

I made this the other night for supper and we loved it. I had some trouble finding the progresso french onion soup so i subbed beef broth and some sauteed onions. We really liked the flavor that the beer added to this. I used a wheat beer and it was so good. I used swiss cheese, only cuz I thought i had some provolone but didnt, next time I will use the provolone. thank you so much for sharing your version of french dip, its delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 13, 2009

I'm a salt hater, but I have to say this recipe won me over by NOT being as salty as it looked! It is very important for the taste to slice and return the roast to the broth to soak up the flavor. I was impatient (with the great smells) and had a sandwich early that was good. When I had a sandwich later in the day I was bowled over! Wow. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forty2stars June 22, 2009
Crock Pot (Slow Cooker) French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches