Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot (Slow Cooker) French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot (Slow Cooker) French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2009

      I'm sorry, the concept of this recipe is wonderful, BUT...the sodium content in this recipe is above and beyond the necessary. The simplicity of using packets of seasoning is great, but not at the cost of my families health. I found that creating my own seasoning combo's and using those made this recipe equally delicious and succulent WITHOUT the ridiculous amount of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      We thought this was great. It said to add salt. I did not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      yummmmm - made my sandwich today at work...definitely a keeper. just hoping the half i froze will come out tasting the same when i get around to that part

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      Fantastic! I have tried several crock pot french dip recipes over the last few years but none have come close to this. I think the french onion soup makes the difference. I made this recipe as written with the exception of not adding salt, thinking with the canned soup and the bouillon that it would be too much. It was not as salty as I expected but I still don't feel the need to add more, just my personal preference.<br/>Served on toasted french bread with melted provolone and the juice on the side. My wife, 11 year old daughter and I thought it was phenomenal! The juice was so much more rich and flavorful than recipes I've tried in the past and the beef was so tender and delicious. Used a four pound roast and cooked for five hours on high rather than on low for 10 or so hours. I've always opted for the longer cook time thinking it would be more tender and was hesitant to cook on high for a shorter time but I was so pleasantly surprised how this turned out.<br/>I can't wait for the leftovers which I'm re-heating as I write this. Thanks for my new roast beef sandwich recipe...I will get a ton of use out of this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Kids loved it and it was super easy to make! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      awsome!!!! Me and my dh loved them. make great leftovers too. thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Delicious! Made as directed and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Beyond, loved it. It was gone and people were looking for more. Totally, enjoyable and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I made this the other night for supper and we loved it. I had some trouble finding the progresso french onion soup so i subbed beef broth and some sauteed onions. We really liked the flavor that the beer added to this. I used a wheat beer and it was so good. I used swiss cheese, only cuz I thought i had some provolone but didnt, next time I will use the provolone. thank you so much for sharing your version of french dip, its delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I'm a salt hater, but I have to say this recipe won me over by NOT being as salty as it looked! It is very important for the taste to slice and return the roast to the broth to soak up the flavor. I was impatient (with the great smells) and had a sandwich early that was good. When I had a sandwich later in the day I was bowled over! Wow. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Wow! I was afraid that this couldn't possibly live up to the rave reviews, but it absolutely did! I used an inexpensive beer, and a store brand soup, and as oniony as it smelled as it cooked, it turned out great! I strained out the onions as my kids don't care for them, and omitted the cheese. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I made this in a Le Creuset French Oven in my oven at 325 for a little over 3 hours, then sliced and put back in pot with lid on until ready to spoon onto rolls. I used Campbell's Select Harvest Caramelized French Onion soup instead of Progresso because I couldn't find the Progresso. For the beer, I used a Blonde Bock. I did feel it was a bit salty, but I'm not a French Dip expert so perhaps they are all this salty. Salty or not, WE LOVED IT!! Served it on rolls with melted provolone and au jus for dipping as suggested. Believe it would also be good with whipped potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I made this last night and it was wonderful! I added 2 teasponns of worchestire sauce (I love that stuff!) and a little less beef bouillon. I was worried that it would be too salty or too "oniony" but it was neither-- just right on both. My husband has all the leftovers in his lunch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      The flavor and texture of the beef is wonderful. The second night we had it, my husband just ate the meat with some steamed potatoes. He loved it! I think the next time I make this, though, I will de-fat the juices. Perhaps it was my cut of beef, but there was a bit too much grease for our liking. Other than that, this is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

    • on August 20, 2008

      What an authentic, delicious, French Dip recipe this is, and so easy! Everyone in my family loved it. I served it with chopped pepperoncini and this was a nice touch. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      this recipe is great. i usually make mine almost the same except i use 2 packets of onion soup mix and 2 beers, thats it usually. i couldnt find the progresso soup so i used campbells which was condensed so i added 1 can of water per directions on the can. it turned out yummy! almost the same flavor as the way i make it but the jus was much better. the bouillon cubes i think made the whole difference with it, i will use them from now on. i used a pork shoulder roast just because it is what i had in the freezer and it tastes just the same as if i used beef chuck. one thing i have to say NOT TO USE with this is sour dough rolls. i couldnt find good french rolls so i went with sour dough and let me just say the flavor is wayyy overpowering to the sandwich. i also served with horse raddish cream sauce, yummy, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Wow! The au jus has a great flavor. We'll be having this often since it's such a snap to put together. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Loved IT! Made as is, worked great, melted in our mouths!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This recipe surprised me--I thought it would be way too salty (it wasn't), and the addition of one whole can of beer was scary. The beer turned out to be the subtle flavor I liked most! Couldn't stop tasting the broth while it cooked all day. I used Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix and Pepperidge Farm's Hot & Crusty French rolls. A recipe this easy shouldn't taste so good, but it does. Thanks for creating and sharing, Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot (Slow Cooker) French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (1734 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.0
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    13%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1329.4 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bottom round beef roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites