Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Shredded Venison Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Shredded Venison Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2006

      This is an outstanding recipe! By far the best BBQ sauce I have ever come across. My husband is the deer meat lover, but I was the one who had seconds! The meat comes out so tender and absorbs the sauce. The sauce is sweet and tangy. Great on a kaiser bun topped with shredded cheddar cheese. My kids loved it too! I will be making extra to store in the freezer to have on demand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Huge hit with my family. Simple to make. I will cut ketchup down to probably 3/4 cup to 1 cup. Flavors were awesome. I opted in for the liquid smoke, although I have to say I didn't really get a taste of it. After shredding meat I removed some (not all...so it kept the meat juicy) strained liquid from the crock pot and added about 1 Tbsp of sugar, brought it to a boil and thickened it with cornstarch/water for about 2 min while stirring constantly. Turned the heat off and let it sit and it had a nice consistency (like a sweet/tangy BBQ sauce to drizzle over the meat). My hubby loved that part as much as he loved the shredded meat. Without thickening it, you'll definitely have more of a French dip type of liquid. That would be yummy, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I love hunting and this is a great way to use venison. Excellent flavor...it was a great hit in our household and made it for our church dinner and it went over so well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2004

      Hello Sharon123, Tried your recipe exactly as you instucted. It was great, my wife who is not much of a venison eater loved it. I know how I'll use all of my venison roasts from now on. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      The flavor is OK, but the ketchup flavor still pokes through a little bit. It was too thin on the day we made it, but the leftovers thickened up in the 'fridge overnight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      OMG, what a fantastic recipe! Both of my children gobbled it down and asked for seconds. Neither is much of a fan of venison. My SO is already planning on having me make a batch to bring to camp the next time he goes. Super easy and delicious! The only thing I changed was that I used steaks because we didn't have any roasts in the freezer. Came out fantastic anyway. This recipe is a true winner and will definitely go into the regular rotation. It makes me look forward to hunting season!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I am not sure that I followed your directions correctly. I did not know how to strain the liquid in the crockpot and just stirred it instead. My sauce was way to runny and I was unable to use it with our sandwiches. Do you have any recommendations? We liked the taste and would like to try it again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I've made this 3 times now, and it was easy and delicious each time! I like the liquid smoke-this has a great combination of flavors most men will love-mine did. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This is absolutely fabulous! Best venison I've tasted in a while. Will be using this recipe a lot. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Easy, tasty and a big hit at the ice fish derby.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      I can vouch for how good this recipe is! I found it in a magazine some time ago and have made it several times since. I used a pork roast once instead of venison - excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      This was very good. I put this on in the morning and when we came home in the afternoon, and walked in the door it smelled soo good. I bought extra large buns and it was delicious, and easy to do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      This came out perfect. I followed it as directed. The meat just fell apart. This will be made again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

    • on December 28, 2013

      Yahoo!... another venison winner! I personally do not care for venison (especially because hubby goes for the 'mature' bucks). 3 of the 4 venison recipes that I have made from this web site have not failed... this being one of the successes. Excellent! No gamey flavor what-so-ever. I threw it in the crock-pot when I got home from a meeting this a.m. (around 11:00). It is now 4:30 and I'm already sampling it (while waiting for hubby and son to get home. They're gonna love it). I did use one reviewers advice and cut the catsup down to 1 cup, but that's the only change I made. I don't think I will thicken this, like another person did. I kinda like the running 'broth'. It shredded perfectly. No one would ever know that this was venison if you didn't tell them. I used a 3 lb venison rump roast, but kept all the other amounts the same (besides the catsup). Thank you for another way to use up our deep-freezer full of venison. I made my My KFC Coleslaw Re-Make to serve along side these sandwiches. What a great dinner we shall have. P.S. Even with a 3 lb roast, this makes a lot. I'm planning on having some left-overs for the football games tomorrow! The boys better hurry home! Thanks again. (Made for PRMR)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Shredded Venison Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 267.9
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    16%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 566.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes