Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Breasts for Freezing - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Breasts for Freezing - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2011

      WONDERFUL!!!! This is going to make weeknight recipes so much easier! I just finished packing my ziplocs & placing them in the freezer. I don't like it when people review a recipe without following it exactly, so I did my best, Costco was sold out of breasts so I had to go with thighs. That's the only change. It was SO EASY and it really did just fall off the bone, so there was very little labour involved. Thanks so much Babzy!!!!

      *Update=I think I've found the perfect marriage for this recipe. I used it in Food Network's Chicken Tetrazzini By Jubal Harshaw from this site. It's the highest rated recipe on foodnetwork.com & this chicken is meant for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Great recipe. I did as another reviewer recommended, placing water in the bottom and directly seasoning the chicken, differing only in the fact that I added onion powder as well. It turned out great. I used some straight out of the pot into chicken enchiladas and it practically shredded itself! I'll be using this recipe again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I put a little over 10 lbs of split chicken breasts in my 6 qt crockpot for 8 hours & it worked great. The easy part was cooking it, the labor intensive part is shredding & bagging it all! (but it will make future cooking so much quicker/easier!) I ended up with 20 cups of shredded chicken (after a cup or two was eaten in the shredding process).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      I used about 2.5 lb chicken breasts and doubled everything else. Without that extra water, there was no liquid for it to cook in since I have a very large crock pot. With the extra water, the top of each piece of chicken looked dry when it was done cooking, but it did not taste dry. Great flavor, very useful. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      This was really fantastic and super easy. I used only 1 lb. of chicken breast with the same amount of ingredients above but since I was using a very small crock pot I added about 1/2 cup of more water to just completely submerge the chicken. It only took about 4.5 hours on low to be done but I suspect it was due to the small quantity of chicken I used. I also liked that the spices were enough to make it not smell like I was just cooking raw meat in water. It's also a mild enough seasoning that the chicken can work with any sort of dish and not overpower it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Absolutely awesome!!!! I put 15 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (10 lbs) into my crockpot (filled it to the brim), doubled the rest of the ingredients and poured them over top. I cooked on the High setting for 4 hours. Chicken was done after 4 hours, but not as tender as I wanted, so I turned the crockpot to Low and let it cook for another hour (finished my movie). Chicken practically shredded itself. I got 10 sandwich baggies full of shredded chicken from my 10 lbs - plenty for when the baby comes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      What an easy and great way to prepare for other meals. I have already used my shredded chicken in chicken and noodles, chicken enchilada casserole, quesadilla's and made chicken salad for a lunch. Makes meals a lot easier

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I use this recipe at least once a month, and it makes my life so much easier. I use the shredded chicken in everything from enchiladas to chicken salad to empanadas to pasta bakes. Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      I've made this a couple of times now with boneless skinless breasts (which makes the shredding/bagging so easy), also to freeze in preparation for a soon-to-arrive baby. And I love that my latest Cooking Light has more than one recipe calling for shredded rotisserie chicken breast. This is so much easier than picking the meat off a bird, not to mention less expensive! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This was great, I filled my 6qt crock pot with boneless skinless chicken breast. I also seasoned the chicken directly and then added the water. We used some right away for chicken salad sandwiches and I am freezing the rest of it in 2 cup packages. This will come in so handy when the baby arrives. I didn't trim the fat first but it was so easy to clean it up as I was chopping/shredding the chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Not sure why I haven't reviewed this, because I've used it several times with good success. I season the chicken directly with the salt, pepper, and garlic, then add the water to the bottom of the crockpot. (The last batch I did was close to overdone at 8 hours, so next time I'll check at 7.) It's so great to have already cooked chicken on hand for a quick dinner. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      So easy. Put in the crock pot before bed - put into the fridge the next morning and then shredded when cool. The only problem is my daughter who helps shred the chicken eats about as much as she shreds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I do this often with boneless skinless breasts. It works great and it is so handy to have cooked chicken in the freezer for quick weeknight meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      The chicken turned out delicious and very, very tender. It was falling apart under the knife. I don't think it's very suitable for green types of salads, where you just throw chicken strips on top. It crumbles by just handling it. On the other hand, it would be amazingly good for a chicken pâté.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This recipe is easy and delicous! I cooked 18 boneless/skinless breasts in my crockpot from 9PM to 7AM. I added some chicken boullion and a little minced garlic. The chicken was fall apart tender! I used the broth the chicken made in a tortilla soup. Absolutely wonderful recipe~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This was so simple, I can't believe I haven't done this before! I used four very large bone in/skin on chicken breasts, stuck them in my crock pot this morning, and by 5 they were perfect! I started using forks to pull it apart, once it cooled off I just used my fingers and it was great!! I yielded 4-2 cup baggies of shredded chicken! Thanks so much, I wish I knew about this before I had my kids when I worked all the time!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This was so simple even for someone that did not feel like cooking today...I used chicken broth instead of water and added some salsa too...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      OH MY! This was good and easy. I added onion powder with the other spices. Thanks for a great easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      I do this ALL the time for ease of prep on those days that I dont seem to have enough time to make anything. I usually just do them without seasoning, but I am sure they are great with it too! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Easy to make and freeze. I used boneless skinless breast though. To make up for that I found that adding a drizzle of olive oil and 1/2 tsp of chicken broth base imparts a better flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Breasts for Freezing - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.7
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    48%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 285.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes