67 Reviews

WONDERFUL!!!! This is going to make weeknight recipes so much easier! I just finished packing my ziplocs & placing them in the freezer. I don't like it when people review a recipe without following it exactly, so I did my best, Costco was sold out of breasts so I had to go with thighs. That's the only change. It was SO EASY and it really did just fall off the bone, so there was very little labour involved. Thanks so much Babzy!!!!

*Update=I think I've found the perfect marriage for this recipe. I used it in Food Network's Chicken Tetrazzini By Jubal Harshaw from this site. It's the highest rated recipe on foodnetwork.com & this chicken is meant for it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny M July 21, 2011

I put a little over 10 lbs of split chicken breasts in my 6 qt crockpot for 8 hours & it worked great. The easy part was cooking it, the labor intensive part is shredding & bagging it all! (but it will make future cooking so much quicker/easier!) I ended up with 20 cups of shredded chicken (after a cup or two was eaten in the shredding process).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmt425 April 10, 2010

After reading other reviews I cooked this on high for 3.5 hours. It worked well but I had to move the chicken around after about 2 hours as the inner pieces were not cooking as quickly as those on the outside (my crockpot). Cooking on high resulted in chicken with a bit more texture - not so "fall apart" yet well cooked and delicious - exactly why I did it. I'll stash this in the freezer and use this for so many recipes - Thanks Babzy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast April 14, 2013

Great recipe. I did as another reviewer recommended, placing water in the bottom and directly seasoning the chicken, differing only in the fact that I added onion powder as well. It turned out great. I used some straight out of the pot into chicken enchiladas and it practically shredded itself! I'll be using this recipe again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle May 17, 2010

I used about 2.5 lb chicken breasts and doubled everything else. Without that extra water, there was no liquid for it to cook in since I have a very large crock pot. With the extra water, the top of each piece of chicken looked dry when it was done cooking, but it did not taste dry. Great flavor, very useful. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland February 02, 2013

I didn't realize I didn't post a review for this until I went to go find it in my cookbook. Excellent idea and flavor. I pick out my recipes in advance of packaging so I have the exact amount in each bag. Labeled accordingly. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth August 14, 2012

This was really fantastic and super easy. I used only 1 lb. of chicken breast with the same amount of ingredients above but since I was using a very small crock pot I added about 1/2 cup of more water to just completely submerge the chicken. It only took about 4.5 hours on low to be done but I suspect it was due to the small quantity of chicken I used. I also liked that the spices were enough to make it not smell like I was just cooking raw meat in water. It's also a mild enough seasoning that the chicken can work with any sort of dish and not overpower it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain March 27, 2012

Absolutely awesome!!!! I put 15 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (10 lbs) into my crockpot (filled it to the brim), doubled the rest of the ingredients and poured them over top. I cooked on the High setting for 4 hours. Chicken was done after 4 hours, but not as tender as I wanted, so I turned the crockpot to Low and let it cook for another hour (finished my movie). Chicken practically shredded itself. I got 10 sandwich baggies full of shredded chicken from my 10 lbs - plenty for when the baby comes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVZ October 26, 2011

What an easy and great way to prepare for other meals. I have already used my shredded chicken in chicken and noodles, chicken enchilada casserole, quesadilla's and made chicken salad for a lunch. Makes meals a lot easier

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
01stacey November 11, 2010

I use this recipe at least once a month, and it makes my life so much easier. I use the shredded chicken in everything from enchiladas to chicken salad to empanadas to pasta bakes. Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottygumdrop September 22, 2010
Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Breasts for Freezing - OAMC