17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good; even my picky eaters ate it. I cooked the bacon ahead of time and crumbled it onto the potatoes. The only thing I would do differently is to mix the cream of chicken soup with a little milk and pour half of it over the first layer of potatoes, onions, bacon, and cheese. Then pour the remaining mixture over the top. Because I just put the soup on top as the recipe stated, it was clumpy and didn't make it all the way through the potatoes. I will make this again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin December 24, 2011

Since my first review in 2007, I have made this recipe countless times for potlucks as well as weeknight dinners. I just have to say how yummy it is each and every time. I do recommend adding a soup can full of milk if you plan to leave the house in the morning and come back for a ready-made dinner that night (10 hours cooking on low). Otherwise, the potatoes around the edge of the crock pot will burn. This is definitely a keeper in our household! Thanks again! I doubled this recipe and made it for our large family Christmas pot luck gathering. The only modifications I made were adding one more can of cream of chicken soup, 1 cup of milk and one more cup of shredded cheese. That was only because I knew it would have to cook three hours longer than the recipe instructed (due to party-planning logistics), and I didn't want it to burn or dry out. It was a big hit with both adults and children, and I received a few recipe requests. It turned out cheesy and sinfully delicious! I will definitely use this recipe for future pot luck functions. Thanks, Fluffy, for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe April 29, 2010

Very good potatoes. I used a few extra potatoes and cooked on low for about 7 hours. Will try again without as much cheese and with some turkey bacon and lowfat soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie March 24, 2003

These were very bacony & yummy... an easy way to make scalloped potatoes. I wish they had been just a touch creamier, but they were still really good. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except I sprinkled them with some fresh ground black pepper when I served them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady April 28, 2010

I do not review things very often but OMG. This is possibly one of the best things I have ever made. I followed the recipe for the grocery list and basic ingredients/reviews. I do not like making bacon, so I used ham.<br/><br/>I used about double the potatoes. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken, only by mistake. I used 2 cans of it mixed in a bowl with milk until it was barely pourable - not watery, not too thick. I actually spooned the soup onto the potato mixture. I layered potatoes, ham, onions, cheese, soup and again and again. Ended with potatoes topped with just cheese. I made a huge recipe on low @ 7-1/2 hours. Was absolutely, 100% delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy S. December 25, 2014

No description. at this time but good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA March 12, 2013

OK, these were easy AND delicious!!! I did thin the soup with a little milk, cooked bacon to about halfway done, and put some soup on both layers. I used Campbells Cream of Chicken soup with Herbs and it was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs November 01, 2012

This is one of my favorites! All of my picky eaters love it and it is a go-to recipe when I don't have a lot of time to cook that night and am craving some comfort food. I do add some milk to it and left over ham. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinam5275 January 26, 2012

Easy and excellent. DH made this recipe for us and cooked the bacon before adding, it seemed like it might be too greasy otherwise. This will be our go to scalloped potato recipe from now on, thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 03, 2011

Simple and delicious. Thanks for posting, I will make these often for the taste and simplicity of them.....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 19, 2008
Crock Pot Scalloped Potatoes