Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Rustic Lamb Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Rustic Lamb Stew

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2002

      A hearty and heart warming stew, home style cooking at its best! I used half potatoes and half rutabega. I cooked it in a dutch oven in the oven at 350°F for 1 1/2 hours. By the time I found the lamb I wanted it was too late for the crockpot. Apparently, lamb is not in great demand here, so the regular markets stock only a small supply. I loved the lamb, rutabega and rosemary combination. The gravy was bread dipping delicious and the lamb and vegetables were fork tender. Thanks Mirjam, this will be a staple at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I combines this recipe with one from Real Simple, so I made the following changes that will make this a 5-Star recipe (rather than the 4 I rated for it without the changes): Instead of water, use 1/2 cup of red wine to deglaze after removing the onions, add one small can of tomato paste, and replace the remaining 1.5 cups of water with beef broth. These changes give it more depth and flavor. I also threw in a couple cloves of garlic for good measure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Like others have posted, smells fantastic, but rather bland and somewhat greasy. I just made it a second time using better quality of lamb stew, chunks of potatoes vs. diced, adding one clove garlic (minced) to the onions, one cup water/one cup vegetable broth, and one tablespoon flour/one tablespoon water to thicken. Totally "oh!" for our tastes this time around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      I never knew you could make a delicious lamb dinner in a crockpot until this recipe! I chopped up celery and potatoes and then added some frozen veg. Pure hearty comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      By kitten22zs : I never made lamb stew before. The only lamb I had eaten all my life were lamb chops. My son brought me a package of Lamb Stew Meat so I looked for a recipe. The result of what was made was fantastic. The pkg. was almost all the bones with a small amount of meat so I didn't know what the outcome would be. It had such a rich and flavorful broth and so very deep auburn in color with little pieces of lamb with the potato, carrots and onion that it was a joy to eat. Thanks for having the recipe available

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      Greatand very hearty. I added garlic, green beans and served over mashed potatoes.

      Lee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      This was Wonderful! I used 1/2 cup water and 2 cups beef stock and reduced the salt to half. Also and threw some minced garlic in with the onion. I forgot to add the peas but it was great anyway. I served it with fresh Irish soda bread. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I used some lamb stew meat that needed to be used up. I did not brown or precook anything, but dumped it all in the crock. I used fresh thyme, added a bay leaf and instead of water used chicken broth, left out the peas. I thought that it made a huge amount! But there is only one small bowl left. :) That's a good sign! Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I took note of ""Sunday""s review and, because we are fans of stronger flavours, I modified this a bit. Instead of water I used 1 cup of vegetable broth and 1 cup of white wine. I also added two cloves of crushed garlic. I made this on the stovetop as it was a last minute decision. I will definitely be making this again, especially when lamb is available in our office. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I found this on the recipezaar website two years ago and have being making it ever since. I cook it on the stove for 1 1/2 to 2 hours and add 2 to 3 tablespoons of lemon juice. We love it with crusty bread and aged yellow cheese (e.g. romano, parmasan)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Made it for my DD, didn't use thyme or rosemary, use Herbs De Provence. Wonderful for Lamb Lovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      We haven't even eaten dinner yet and I can already tell this will be a 5-star meal! I cooked it in the crockpot last night and enjoyed the aroma all night. We tasted it this morning and it was so good my daughter wanted it for breakfast. I replaced some of the water with white wine and I added a couple of cloves of minced garlic. I also used 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried herbes de Provence.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      I made this in the crockpot and it was wonderful! I followed the recipe as written, but those snap peas looked so good in the picture, I did sub them for the regular ones. I think it would be good with either one. I loved the rosemary flavor in the sauce, oh my, that sauce! Have lots of crusty bread on hand when you make this! Thanks Mirj! This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This is wonderful stew to come home to. Made as directed but probably used a little less potatoes than what is called for. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Good cold night dinner - really enjoyed it. I thickened it a bit and added a bit of browning - it was a bit pale. excellent flavor. I used sugar snap peas instead of frozrn. The whole fat pods looked great I added them about 30 minutes before serving so they were still crisp. The natural gravy is very tasty, Thanks Mirj for another winner
      22 August made again and enjoyed again! servedwith stuffed eggplant MMmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I LOVED this stew very very good! but I like others changed it up a little I like mine a little more chunky so I did 1 big carrot, 2 big potatos (i did red skins) and I used about 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of corn and did green beans instead of peas! I also instead of using just salt on the meat sprinkled it with Mcormicks asian style spiced sea salt (which has more than just salt in there) I also used in stead of lamb stew meat I used a lamb sirloin roast. I feel like it tastes to bland if you just add water to the pan to get flavoring so I like every one else did 1 1/2 cups of beef stock and 1/2 cup of water. I cooked the onions unitil they started to wilt than add 2 teaspoons of minced garlic which is REALLY good! than once I sauteed the onions and garlic for a good 3-4 minutes than I added the beef stock and water and brought it to a boil than let it simmer for about 10 minutes to really get all the browning from the bottom and the flavor from the onions and garlic. I added WAY more than 1 teaspoon of rosemary and more of thyme I would say go more like 2-3 tabe spoons of rosemary and maybe like a 1-2 teaspoons of thyme that really adds more the flavor to it especially if it cooks for 10 hours! VERY VERY GOOD RECIPE!! hope that helps you out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

    • on March 22, 2010

      Very, very good! We ended up having to add a bit more on the spices (not the salt) since the first batch came out a little bland, but overall a really delicious meal. Will definitetly be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't rated this one yet! It's one of my all-time Zaar favorites. I have this going in my crockpot at home now. I usually add a 1/2 teaspoon of dried mint to this as well as the thyme & rosemary. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Made this almost as directed - the only real change I made was using lamb stock (given to me by a friend) instead of water and it was fantastic! A little expensive to put into the regular rotation but if I happen to get some more lamb stock I'll definitely come back to this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Rustic Lamb Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (478 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.0
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    26%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 110.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 762.8 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites