47 Reviews

A hearty and heart warming stew, home style cooking at its best! I used half potatoes and half rutabega. I cooked it in a dutch oven in the oven at 350°F for 1 1/2 hours. By the time I found the lamb I wanted it was too late for the crockpot. Apparently, lamb is not in great demand here, so the regular markets stock only a small supply. I loved the lamb, rutabega and rosemary combination. The gravy was bread dipping delicious and the lamb and vegetables were fork tender. Thanks Mirjam, this will be a staple at our house.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac October 01, 2002

I combines this recipe with one from Real Simple, so I made the following changes that will make this a 5-Star recipe (rather than the 4 I rated for it without the changes): Instead of water, use 1/2 cup of red wine to deglaze after removing the onions, add one small can of tomato paste, and replace the remaining 1.5 cups of water with beef broth. These changes give it more depth and flavor. I also threw in a couple cloves of garlic for good measure.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1984 December 20, 2011

Like others have posted, smells fantastic, but rather bland and somewhat greasy. I just made it a second time using better quality of lamb stew, chunks of potatoes vs. diced, adding one clove garlic (minced) to the onions, one cup water/one cup vegetable broth, and one tablespoon flour/one tablespoon water to thicken. Totally "oh!" for our tastes this time around!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie December 30, 2010

I never knew you could make a delicious lamb dinner in a crockpot until this recipe! I chopped up celery and potatoes and then added some frozen veg. Pure hearty comfort food.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckycloud29 October 14, 2003

Fine recipe except health-wise.. we've moved ahead of this low fat nonsense, (actually in 1974)!!. So I chose the fattest shoulder for great flavors. (Hint fats neither fatten nor clog arteries). Further onion, garlic and mustard are glycating agents in the pathway for the cancer complex, this known for 60+years. In the last decade this has been precisely mapped with 3 causative pathways. These are not people foods, according tot the top biologists. With potato.. keep in mind that it belongs to the family of the deadly nightshade plant the atropa belladonna. It's solanine glyco-alkaloids will cause Rheumatoid arthritis, (US Agric. Dept. Study 1975). It makes sense to keep potatoes at a minimum.. and if any family member has tender or swollen joints, the they should be zeroed. We use sweet potatoes instead, (different plant family), in stews, even without arthritis, That's called prevention. Free cutting-edge food data is in the free Articles, Healthy eating on the tthairsolutions site.. most of which the doc and dietician don't even know about.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom T. September 08, 2015

After reading the reviews, I tried to doctor this recipe up as I had 1.5 lbs of lamb stew meat I wanted to use. I substituted beef broth for water, added extra seasoning, herbs, a few cloves of garlic, etc. Unfortunately, I fear nothing is going to help this utterly bland recipe. It smelled divine, but tasting it after 10 hours, it had absolutely no flavor. We wound up going out for dinner instead of enduring this snoozer of a recipe. I do not know how this recipe has such high reviews when it is completely devoid of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizabeth.vanorden January 07, 2015

By kitten22zs : I never made lamb stew before. The only lamb I had eaten all my life were lamb chops. My son brought me a package of Lamb Stew Meat so I looked for a recipe. The result of what was made was fantastic. The pkg. was almost all the bones with a small amount of meat so I didn't know what the outcome would be. It had such a rich and flavorful broth and so very deep auburn in color with little pieces of lamb with the potato, carrots and onion that it was a joy to eat. Thanks for having the recipe available

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitten22zs February 26, 2013

Greatand very hearty. I added garlic, green beans and served over mashed potatoes.

Lee

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeSu June 16, 2012

This was Wonderful! I used 1/2 cup water and 2 cups beef stock and reduced the salt to half. Also and threw some minced garlic in with the onion. I forgot to add the peas but it was great anyway. I served it with fresh Irish soda bread. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
restless chef August 22, 2010

I used some lamb stew meat that needed to be used up. I did not brown or precook anything, but dumped it all in the crock. I used fresh thyme, added a bay leaf and instead of water used chicken broth, left out the peas. I thought that it made a huge amount! But there is only one small bowl left. :) That's a good sign! Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: February 26, 2010
Crock Pot Rustic Lamb Stew