55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is our new go-to roasted chicken recipe! I also wrap potatoes in foil and put in the bottom of the slow cooker (no sense wasting good cooking space!).

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camillegabel November 16, 2009

This is a wonderfully simple recipe to obtain a delicious and extremely tender chicken. I made as directed. However not having any olive oil cooking spray, I simply poured about 2-3 TBSP of extra virgin olive oil over my very large chicken and also sprinkled with the salt and pepper and also used a "Rustic Tuscan Seasoning" from Costco. I don't recall how many pounds this chicken was, but it filled the top to the brim of my Kitchenaid Crockpot. I allowed it to cook on high for the full 6 hours, then I lowered the temp to low and cooked an additional 2 hours. While the chicken was cooking, I simmered the giblets in water with onion, carrots and celery. When the chicken was done, I removed the chicken from the crockpot. Then in a separate container added 1/2 cup of flour to enough water to make a stir-able consistency. I then stirred this mixture into the crockpot, adding enough of my chicken broth from the giblets to make gravy. Then turned the crockpot up to high until thickened. This chicken is so tender, delicious and very flavorful! I served with mashed potatoes, corn and the best gravy anyone could ask for! Best of all, there are enough leftovers for a second meal : ) Thank you, CookinMamaof3!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 31, 2009

I used lemon pepper seasoning on my chicken. It came out delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes January 12, 2010

This was super easy! I stuffed the inside of the bird with celery tops and a small onion halved. After I did the olive oil I used some old bay seasoning and pepper. I tried the potatoes in the foil, wouldn't do that again as they got really coated in chicken grease. I kinda overcooked it as my grandson was here so it was well ready before the rest of my dinner lol! All in all will make this my recipe for cooking a whole chicken. Thanks so much for posting this super recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 March 22, 2009

Unfortunately, this didn't turn out great for us -- it was very dry. I was surprised after reading all the reviews. I think it was my fault for cooking it too long. I had 3 large bone in breasts and cooked on low for 4 hours. I added lemon pepper and seasoning salt and it needed more flavor. I love the simplicity of the recipe and the smell it was filling the kitchen with. Will try again and cook less and add more seasoning.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 26, 2009

5 stars for ease. I tried the potatoes in the foil idea (they were precooked already ) though and used Spike seasoning. I also rubbed the chicken with real olive oil. Great for when you don't get it in the crockpot until the afternoon. I started it at 2:00 and it was probably done by 5:30, but let it go until 6:15. Will make chicken stock out of the bones and juice. Love this idea to add to my crockpot collection.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead May 23, 2008

This was incredibly easy! I had a 4.3 lb chicken. I stuck it in the crockpot on high for 4 1/2 hours. It was slightly overdone after that time, but we were out and couldn't check on it earlier. It still tasted wonderful. It's a bit bland, but I assume you could easily add more flavor. A great base recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reddyrat May 19, 2008

I have been making your recipe for years, kept forgetting to review it. We love how juicy the chicken is & doesn't cook in the fat. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz December 06, 2009

This is a keeper. I love the idea of dinner being done when you get home. We have made this so often, and add different spices as we go. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazynthekitchen July 07, 2009

This was very good, it will be a regular in my kitchen. The meat fell right off the bone when it was finished.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dayzi8 November 10, 2008
Crock Pot Rotisserie Chicken