Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Roasted Herbes De Provence Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Roasted Herbes De Provence Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2009

      "Cut food into chunks or small pieces to ensure thorough cooking. Do not use the slow cooker for large pieces like a roast or a whole chicken because the food will cook so slowly it could remain in the bacterial "Danger Zone" — between 40 °F and 140 °F — too long." http://www.fsis.usda.gov/News_&_Events/NR_013106_01/index.asp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was a great chicken dinner! My husband and I both thought it was very good. I used a little more chicken broth than the recipe called for and put a couple pats of butter on the chicken's breast area, just to ensure moistness, and it worked! Fall off the bone, moist, yummy chicken. I served with butter mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus with hollandaise sauce! Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This chicken was extremely tender. It fell right off the bone! Maybe not quite as moist but definitely a tasty recipe. I added potatoes to the crockpot also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is a winner! I have started cooking split chicken breasts this way as my family really only eats white meat. I cook about 10 pounds and then freeze the leftover meat for soups. The chicken just melts in your mouth and has great homey, comfy flavor. Thanks Helping Hands!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      An easy weeknight meal. The chicken did fall off the bone for us as well. Too bad I cannot use the bones for stock! I used one onion and carrots and poured some white wine over the chicken with a smidge of water (no chix broth in house). We drained the liquid after and made pan gravy. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      The chicken did indeed fall off the bones. By the time I removed the chicken from the pot, the wings and legs had fallen right off. The moist and tender chicken was absolutely delicate and tasty. The only thing I wasn't fond of was the excessive soup-like liquid in the bottom of the pot. I think the chicken broth and the onion combination made it too watery. I will be using just one onion next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This smelled wonderful and was very tasty. I could not find parsnips so I used baby carrots and added a few fingerling potatoes which I happen to have on hand. Will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This was really good and easy. I got all the ingredients in the crockpot at night, refrigerated it, and cooked on low for 9 hours the next morning. It is very tender & fell off the bones. I did use the parsnips, and they were very good. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      I LOVE chicken this way! So incredibly easy and the flavor... yummy! I used an 8 lb bird and followed recipe except that I didn't use the parsnips. There wasn't any room in my crockpot w/ big Mr. Chicken in there. Heavens, it smelled LOVELY all day and it was just plain out of this world for dinner. AND I have a bunch of tasty leftovers!!! Definitely a repeater! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      This was fantastic! I'd never cooked chicken this way before, and it is quite possibly the only way I will cook it from now on. Talk about fall-off-the-bone chicken! I didn't have 7-9 hours, so I cooked it on high for 4 and it came out great. I also didn't add parsnips but it was still wonderful. I served it will herbes de provence potatoes (#59916) and a side of corn. This one will be made again...and again...and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      Family and I enjoyed this for Sunday Dinner. Smells lovely while cooking. I agree with another reviewer and think putting a couple pats of butter under the breast skin is a good idea. Was just a touch dry and this would help keep it moist. Leftovers were good, too. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      WOW! What an awesome dish... I served the chicken with a SPOON because it was that tender, falling right off the bone. The flavors were wonderful, not overpowering but delicate enough to complement the taste of the chicken. The parsnips were a nice change from boring carrots. Thanks for a great recipe!! PS - I even called my French mother and told her that this chicken was better than her's!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This is so delicious! The only way I will ever cook a whole chicken!!! So easy to pop in the crockpot in the morning while the baby is napping and then I have a yummy dinner at night! The leftovers are delicious on a salad or made into chicken salad. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This makes the chicken absolutely luscious! I love Herbes De Provence, and the onions were also wonderful. I didn't use any other vegetables, however, I'm sure they are delicious cooked with it, too. I have never made a whole roasted chicken this way before. And, so easy to put together. Who could ask for anything more?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Hot today so brought out the cooker and your recipe. It's a winner! I did sub out carrots for parsnips (out of season) but with salad and a light desert, no complaints were heard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Equally as good roasted in the oven. I reduced the amount of herbs de provence as 3 TBSP seemed a bit much. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      This is my first try using Herbes de Provence and I am very happy. I cooked this in my crockpot but I overcooked it. Very tasty just the same. Next time I'll cook it in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      This was great. I substituted carrots and rutabaga for parsnips, but they turned too crunchy for my taste. The HdeP gave it some great flavor. Will have again in the future. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Roasted Herbes De Provence Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (446 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 905.0
     
    Calories from Fat 614
    67%
    Total Fat 68.3 g
    105%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 267.3 mg
    89%
    Sodium 298.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 63.6 g
    127%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    herbes de provence

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites