Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Roasted Chicken With Rosemary and Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Roasted Chicken With Rosemary and Garlic

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2003

      My husband and I eat low-carb and this was just perfect! Delicious...smelt fabulous...meat just fell off the bones. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      DH will not touch a whole chicken that's been cooked in the cookpot because it's not browned, but I have made this dish and used the deboned meat (chopped, frozen in portions) for wonderful chicken salads, pot pies, chicken & dumplings, casseroles & soups. I also put the bones back into the crock after deboning the bird and add onion, celery, carrots, parsley and water to make the best chicken stock as the previous poster suggested. I raise chickens so I now have a supply of wonderful meat and stock in my freezer at all times. Thanks Tish for the wonderful recipe and also thanks to Sylie for the brilliant stock idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I used herbes de Provence instead of fresh rosemary, but otherwise followed the recipe. I also popped the bird under the broiler when it was done in the crockpot to crisp up the skin.I used the leftover juices to make stock and my kitchen still smells delicious. Thanks for a simple, delicious way to prepare chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      One tip I suggest: Cook the chicken with the backbone up, rather than the breastbone up. Most of the juices and fat are in the thighs, so if you cook the chicken with the breastbone *down*, the chicken is more likely to be juicy, rather than dry. The fats in the thighs will also help carry the oils from the garlic and rosemary to the rest of the chicken. I did this recipe, but put a layer of sliced potatoes at the bottom of the crockpot, with a few sprigs of rosemary and a couple of cloves of garlic on top of the potatoes, then the chicken (breast down) on top of the potatoes. I cooked on High for about four hours, then switched to Low for a couple of hours, for time reasons. It turned out well, with a good few servings of garlic/rosemary roasted potatoes to serve on the side.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I never made a chicken in a crockpot before, but I'm so glad I tried it. It comes out so nice and tender you have to be careful that it doesn't all fall apart when you take it out, which makes up for not having crispy skin! The rosemary and garlic gives the meat a lovely, subtle flavour and makes the house smell wonderful while it cooks. One of the best things about making it in the crockpot is that you don't need to use butter or oil on the bird. When you're done, just leave the juices in the pot, throw the bones back in, add some onion, carrots, celery, parsley and water, set on low and seven hours later you have a wonderful stock as well with hardly any effort whatsoever and you only have to wash up once! Thanks for sharing, Iwill definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      This had great flavor. My bird was done in about 5 hours. Falling apart done. The bones and juice will make great soup. Good recipe for South Beach Dieters!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      The chicken was so tender and had good flavor. I also added a little fresh lemon juice to the crock pot too. Adds a nice flavor that goes well with rosemary and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      OMGoodness! This was sooooooo awesome,So tender & juicy,fall off the bone good.Will be made again,Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Wow! The juice in the bottom made really good gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I baked this in the oven but will put it in the crockpot next time. It tasted delicious all around the herbs but parts were not as flavorful. I can't help but think slow cooking would have helped. Still wonderful recipe. (So easy with wow flavor) It is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      The house smelt heavenly. It was an easy mid-week supper for the family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Very Good Very Easy Larry Schroeder Head Chef Abbotsford B.C. Canada

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Such a tender and juicy bird this makes!!! Absolutely great and any leftovers can be morphed into so many other recipes!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      The aroma was the best. Great flavor. I used 2 small chickens and placed the rosemary sprigs on bottom of crockpot and on top of chicken. Put the garlic under the skin and squeezed a lemon all over then placed the lemon and some onion in cavity. Cooked on high for 4 hours. Delish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Roasted Chicken With Rosemary and Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.9
     
    Calories from Fat 278
    65%
    Total Fat 30.9 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 142.5 mg
    47%
    Sodium 133.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh rosemary

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes