Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Roast Beef or Venison Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Roast Beef or Venison

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2008

      This is a very good roast. Thanks for sharing!! I have another copy cat from Shoney's that is still my all-time favorite I'll have to post on here someday

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Yeah, this recipe was amazing. I had a 6 pound venison leg roast that barely fit in my 6 qt crock pot. I tried to put a rub on it and sear it, but it was too darned big. At any rate, cabernet sauvignon and CoM soup (healthy request) combination was exquisite. I doubled it, and only added as much carrots, potatoes and onions as would fit. The sauce was just beyond compare, though. I'll definitely be using this recipe when I cook the other roast. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This came out soooooo good! Used venison stew meat (2 1/2 lbs) and am serving it over rice tonight. The whole house smelled so good when I walked in tonight. And I bet my dd won't even realize it is venison (though she will eat it cos her boyfriend is the one who caught it!) Because my dd won't eat onions, I left the onion whole, skinned, in the crock pot so I could have some with mine tonight. It cooked down nicely this way. Cat got half of the wine as I was opening the bottle, so only 1/2 cup went in and it is still good! (Yeah, I know, blame it on the cat!) and I didn't have any mushrooms (wishing I did now)The meat cooked down into very tender fall apart in your mouth bites, the gravy in the pot didn't need any thickening at all. I cooked it on high for 6 hours total. It is so savory and good, thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Wow, this was a huge hit with the whole family! There were no leftovers for lunch the next day. Very tender and full of great flavor. The only change I made was adding a bay leaf. It was PERFECT....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This was delicious. Everyone in my family loved it. I left out the carrots and potatoes and used a beef roast. I'm making it again tomorrow using an elk roast and I'm sure it will be equally as good. I added some seasonings to the gravy and some balsimic vinegar and it was a hit - both on the roast and on our mashed potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

    • on January 15, 2007

      I used a 3 lb. venison rump roast for this-it turned out tender and flavorful. I also used regular soup and bouillon instead of the healthy stuff and skipped the veggies. I did make the gravy in the crockpot and it was very good. Next time I will reduce the wine to 1/2 cup; it was a good flavor, but just a little too much of it. Thanks for this very easy venison recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I made this last night and we loved it! Thank you so much for posting this recipe! We love our deer meat! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Great recipe! I used a 2.5 lb beef shoulder roast, regular cream of mushroom soup, shiraz for the red wine, basil and oregano instead of Italian seasoning, only 1 t. of dried thyme and a little extra salt, pepper and Mrs. Dash. Usually, I sear my roast first but this time I did not. It was fantastic - what a time saver - and much less messy. We had sandwiches and used the (skimmed) sauce for dipping. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks so much for a very easy and tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This was good, but too spicy for my family. I think this might have been because I substituted Chinese red, garlic sauce as I was out of Tabasco. I will make this again and try to "cool it" a little. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      This was very good...I took a hint from HeatherU..and used an eye round roast..worked well..very tender and had a very nice flavor..didn't add the veggies but will use the leftover meat and broth for something another day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      I very rarely make red meat but this recipe was a winner. I actually started off differently by "borrowing" instructions from other recipes...I rubbed the meat with mustard, olive oil, freshly ground pepper and thyme and then "sealed" it with a quick fry ,then continued according to the recipe. It was lovely and tender and tasty! Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      My roast wouldn't fit into the crockpot so I cooked in the plactic bag in the oven. The roast was tender and the gravy is very tasty. I omitted the thyme as I used my own Italian seasoning. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      This was great winter comfort food..DH loved it.I threw in some pearl onions, also omitted the thyme and thickened it at the end with some dried potato flakes. Thanks for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      This was a very tasty roast. We loved all the flavors except I would put just a little less thyme in it next time. Thyme is not one of our flavorite herbs but I do use small amounts sometimes. I will be making this again, I'm sure. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      loved it.. so yummy !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      delish! loved the wine and mushrooms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

    • on January 05, 2005

      This was so very yummy BeachGirl! My hubby ate most of it and my son had 2 helpings. The meat just fell apart as I took it of the Crock. I might add just a smidge bit of salt next time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      GREAT. Much to my surprise, I did not have any red wine so I just added some extra water. The wine would only make it better. I had unexepected guest for dinner and it got rave reviews and they ate it all. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Roast Beef or Venison

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.9
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    26%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 75.8 mg
    25%
    Sodium 211.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium beef bouillon granules

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites