Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Roast Beef or Venison Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Roast Beef or Venison

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2003

      This is a great recipe for venison. I used steaks, golden mushroom soup, added sundried tomatoes and left out the veggies. It was a delicious sauce and the steaks tasted so tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Beachgirl this was a huge hit with the man, he ate half the roast himself! I did add two cans of mushrooms and I used an elk roast instead. The meat was so tender! I cooked it on low for 10 hours(while I was at work) and just threw everything else in. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Great recipe. I made this using a venison neck roast. I seared the roast first, let it cook a couple hrs in the crock pot then drained the fat.Then I proceeded to follow the recipe. I didn't use the bullion cubes everything else I left the same. I did add my carrots and onions to the crock pot while the roast was cooking. No need to add a thickener I found it to be thick enough on its own. Very good. This really imparts a great flavor in the venison.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Great recipe, cooked a 3 lb chuck for 5 hours with a little extra seasoning and wine, turned out amazing. I also coated the roast with cosher salt and pepper before I put it on. Did not include the veggies, tastes amazing without them for the record. Best damn roast Ive ever had, I cant wait to try it with venison!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      Excellent! I didn't have low-sodium soup or beef bouillon on hand, so I used regular. The beef was so tender that you could cut it with a fork. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This is fantastic! I've tried many recipes for crock pot roasts and this is now my ultimate fave and I'm throwing out the rest. I only had white wine and regular cream soup and it worked out perfectly. Also, I started this recipe with a frozen 3 lb roast and it was fully cooked (falling off the bone) in 8 hours. I didn't remember the potatoes and carrots but did use the juice to make the most flavourful gravy. I've had a hard time in the past to get gravy to thicken in the crock pot and this worked great. Wonderful! - Thanks for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Pretty tasty! My dh said this was the best way he'd had venison yet! I didn't have a roast so I used an assortment of steak cuts. I also didn't have C of m soup so I used cream of chicken. I used a can of beef broth instead of bullion and wine. I also added in a bit of liquid smoke for flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This turned out tender and tasted great. I replaced water for the wine, I used 1 teaspoon ground thyme instead of 2 teaspoons thyme leaves, we didn't have hot pepper sauce or Tabasco sauce, so we used liquid smoke instead and last but not least we used fresh mushroom and put them in an hour before we ate supper. Both of my girls helped make this, so it made it that much better. We will be making this one again. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I guess I'll add my voice to the crowd: This is fantastic! Used a venison shoulder roast, browned in bacon grease (I know...but it's sooo good!) and sprinkled with garlic seasoning and pepper. I used Kay's Best Garlicky Seasoning. I sauteed the onions and garlic (doubled) in the same pan, then 2 pounds of fresh mushrooms, sliced. I used regular mushroom soup, Better Than Boullion beef base (not low sodium), and Chipotle Tabasco. I did add the veggies. More carrots because we love them! Red taters. Cooked for 8 hours, but maybe 10 would have been better. Most of the veggies were soft, but had a few firm ones. Needed no thickening. I took the roast out, sliced it fairly thin and put it back in the pot. Kind of like a thick stew. Really great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      YUMMY! I made it as directed except I omitted the soup (because of the MSG) and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I've been a hunter all my life and have eaten alot of venison. This is a DOOZEY Nice blend of flavors and the meat was Super Tender. The aroma in the house was outstanding. I would highly recommend this one for all (sucessful) deer hunters out there. I'll make this again in a few months once my freezer is stocked again. Try this one. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Very good! I used white wine because it's all I had and this turned out good. I didnt bother "making" the gravy because the sauce was thick enough for us. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

    • on January 21, 2010

      This was fantastic! I had to substitute the red wine with cooking sherry because that was all I had. It still came out beautifully. For the hot sauce I used Huy Fong Sriracha, if you can find this I HIGHLY recommend it. It has such a distinct flavor- fantastic! I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Excellent recipe...the wine, spices, and hot sauce make a tasty combination! My husband LOVED it, too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Great roast recipe!! To lower the sodium just a little I used 1/2 cup low sodium beef broth instead of the bouillon and then cut the wine down to 1/2 cup to compensate for the extra liquid. I also put the potatoes and carrots in right at the beginning and left them raw...they turned out perfectly. Very delicious and moist roast beef recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      YUM! I had to use cream of chicken soup and cooking sherry and I had NO mushrooms! I used the potatoes but not carrots and served over brown rice. SUPER YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Although the meat ended up nice & tender, there was just something missing with the flavour. The mushroom soup also made the sauce look really odd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This was really good. I used a 5 lb. pot roast and didn't add any veggies to the crock pot. The house smelled wonderful after cooking all day! There was a lot of juice in the crock pot when it was done cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Roast Beef or Venison

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.9
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    26%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 75.8 mg
    25%
    Sodium 211.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium beef bouillon granules

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites