13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! Thanks for sharing this! I'd never made pot roast before so this was easy for me to "try out" and now it'll be a keeper - my husband loved it. A few things I did - 1) I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and crushed ginger - but that's because we like some spiciness to our meats and 2) I reduced cooking time by an at least an hour but again that's because we like our meats more rare than medium well. But overall this was great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flaca August 24, 2010

Not a bad recipe!!! I used some homemade french onion soup I had for the bouillon. Everything was great except I thought the meat was a bit dry. I cooked it on high for 1 hr and then 5 hrs on low, then on warm for an hour. The sauce was really good too! Tx for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill April 11, 2008

I added potatoes, carrots, and later, mushrooms... but the real reason for this review is the recipe takes 8 hours, not 8 days! Really it doesn't even take 8 hours, more like 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DSG October 30, 2014

Amazing flavor! I am not a huge fan of horseradish, but this was perfect! My roast only needed 4 hours in the crock pot, then I sliced and put it back in the broth on warm. It was so tender and full of flavor....this recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ASlamp March 08, 2014

I only made the horseradish sauce, but it was awesome. I used a different recipe for the roast. Very good! It really accentuated the flavor of the roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emstar July 24, 2010

Mmm Mmm Good!! We loved this. The roast was fall-apart tender and the horseradish sauce was excellent. A perfect combination. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Brogan October 11, 2009

Excellent! The herb rub is the perfect complement to the beef and searing it must be the golden touch. Mine came out melt-in-your-mouth tender. The knives at the table were never touched! We liked the horseradish sauce and thought it would make a great spread for roast beef sandwiches. Thanks echo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick October 04, 2009

Made this recipe over the holidays. Was wonderful! This one is a keeper and will be made again in our house. The horseradish sauce is a must!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueSiDia December 27, 2007

Yummy! I am trying to clean out the freezers and found a small roast I had forgotten about. This was a lovely way to prepare it. The herb rub is a nice touch. Honestly though, the horseradish sauce makes this dish. I used all fat free products (as it is all I keep in the house) and it was still fabulous. A great meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 07, 2007

My in-laws were flying in from Florida for the holidays and I was at work. I needed a meal that I could have ready when I got home with little preparation. This recipe fit the bill. It was fabulous. The beef was juicy and tender. I have to say I didn't make the Horseradish Sauce, will do that next time and there will be a next time. I added a flour/water mixture to the broth and turned the crock pot to High and cooked for 10 minutes more. The gravy was delish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M December 27, 2006
Crock Pot Roast Beef and Horseradish Sauce