13 Reviews

The is an excellent recipe. It was easy to fix, and the meat was very tender and tasty. I did have to do a little adapting, leaving out the celery seed I didn't have and using a sirloin tip roast instead of a rump roast, but I really don't feel that it made any difference. This is one I will definately make again. And again, and again, and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandaidh February 11, 2004

I followed the recipe to a tee and was I ever rewarded with a scrumptious meal that night! The roast was sliced and I drizzled a bit of the crockpot juices over it. The kids turned up their noses at the brown tinted potatoes and carrots so I cooked some rice, mashed the veggies up in the juices and drizzled that over the rice. The munchkins kept saying, "Oh Mom, this rice is so good!" (ha ha- and mom scores! lol) The seasoning were not overpowering and I have to say that the fresh basil mixed in with the meat was excellent. The meat was so tender and could be cut with a fork. I was so happy to have a healthy, comfort meal on such a cold night.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smoke alarm jr January 20, 2004

I had this tonight and it was delicious. Very easy uncomplicated recipe and I love the fact that you throw it in the crock and leave it there all day long. The house smelled wonderful. After reading the last review and thinking it over I decided to make a change of my own. We don't like onions that much here but we do like the onion flavor plus I didn't have any beef broth so I dissolved a half of a pouch of onion soup mix in 1 cup of water and poured that over the vegetables. After removing the roast (I used a rolled rump roast) and shredding it up and then removed the vegetables and kept it all warm I strained the broth. I then mixed up a corn starch slurry and made a thick gravy to which I also added about a teaspoon of Kitchen Bouquet. Awesome flavorful gravy for the beef. This recipe is a good basic one but I already have some other ideas to fluff it up a bit. Thanks MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 October 03, 2012

This was easy to make but my roast just didn't have much flavor. I followed the recipe except that I didn't add the vegetables and I cooked my roast for six hours. I shredded it up and made sandwiches with it. It was good but we just thought it could have used more seasonings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 21, 2012

We're trying to eat healthier so I was looking for a crock pot roast recipe that was simple - without all of the sodium in soup packets or cans. This recipe is great. It was nicely seasoned and the meat was tender and delicious. I used low-salt beef broth. This will be a recipe that we'll use again and again. Bravo MizzNezz for making healthy food taste good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast April 15, 2009

I have made this several times and just now getting around to reviewing. Followed the recipe exactly and each time was rewarded with an excellent comfort food dinner. Throw it in the crock pot in the morning and come home to a great dinner - how simple is that!! Thanks MizzNezz, this is a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrBob September 07, 2008

I followed your recipe precisely and had a great result! This is a substantial meal without a lot of calories. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GREG IN SAN DIEGO February 04, 2007

This was a great recipe, the texture of the meat was fantastic. We used inside round instead of Rump and cut the cooking time by 3.5 hours. I did however find that the taste was somewhat ...um...lacking "faaa-zing!" We will definately try this recipe again and try to find the faaa-zing we are are looking for. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Dave August 13, 2005

this was very yummy! the only changes i made was to use the whole can of beef stock and, thickened with cornstarch, turning the pot on high for the last 20 minutes. tony chacere's creole seasoning to taste on the table because i like heat on everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clay russell May 15, 2005
Crock Pot Roast Beef