Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    282 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 282

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2009

      What a hit!!! I made it at home and the family loved it. I made it for a soup club at work, and it was devoured. After reading another review, I also mixed the cream cheese in a small bowl with some of the hot broth to make sure there were no lumps. And just an FYI, if you make this in advance, and reheat in a crock-pot, it still comes out just as creamy. Fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I made this with no changes last night and it was awesome. Not much to look at while it was cooking, but by the end- it looked as delicious as it tasted. I just dropped the cream cheese in about 10 minutes before the timer went off to soften it up and when the timer finished, I used a whisk to mix in it and get any lumps out since one of the reviews talked about cheese lumps. It We will definitely make this again and maybe try a few of the added other people have written about- the corn is a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      The best crock pot potato soup recipe & I have tried many! I like to use red potatoes. I add some Mrs Dash at the beginning. I find that softening the cream cheese in the microwave prior to adding helps cut down on lumps. Add some shredded cheddar & Yummo :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Easy to make and extremely tasty! I would definitely make it again- next time I might try adding some green chiles and cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

    • on August 31, 2009

      Excellent, amazing recipe. I first reviewed this over 2 years ago and somhow the review disappeared and only left the 5 stars...weird! This recipe is soooo good on fall and winter evenings. My children gobble down every last bite. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it's become a real family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      So easy and fantastic! Did the soup as written the first couple of times but now- I follow the recipe cooking set at low except instead of bacon, for the last two hours I add thawed cooked shrimp and corn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Wow! This was SO yummy! I started it in the slow cooker in the morning, and threw in some ham during the last hour to make more a complete meal and oh my goodness! Talk about amazing! :) We LOVED this! We used herb and garlic cream cheese instead of plain (it's what we had on hand), and I think we'll continue to use h&g. Such a good recipe, so yummy and feels like comfort food! We'll totally be making this again! Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Excellent recipe....my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Amazing! And easy! I can't believe I forgot to rate this! I'm making it for dinner tomorrow night =) I followed the recipe as it and it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This is delicious! My husband, who is not a soup fan, LOVED this. I will absolutely be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This was a great recipe. I added 1lb of hamburger and 1 can of whole kernal corn the last hour. Spiced it up with some pepper. Omitted the bacon and chives. I also, as recommed melted the cream cheese with 1 cup of broth. The leftovers were wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I was a little skeptical that this would taste good with so few ingredients, but I was wrong! It was so good. I made homemade bread bowls to serve the chowder in. The only thing was that I needed to add a thickener cuz it was really runny. This dish even earned the coveted thumb's up from my 4yo who said, "This! Is! Ex.Cel.Lent!" as she slurped up her entire dinner. Thanks for a tasty and easy supper. Oh and I think this would be tasty with clams the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I think this was a good potato soup recipe. Not my favorite ever, but definately good. I did just like other reviewers suggested and took some broth out to blend the cream cheese easier and had no problem integrating the cream cheese without lumps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Made a roaster full for a soup supper and everyone loved it! I use frozen diced ( or whatever I have) potatoes and also throw in a couple handfuls of cheddar cheese and some diced ham. I have also added a can of beer and some extra potatoes to keep it from getting too thin. It is much easier to melt the cream cheese if you take some broth out and put it in a blender with the cream cheese, then it doesn't look curdled. Great creamy rich flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      So, again I am going off what my husband thought. He absolutely loved this. The problem was that he worked late and I didn't really care for this. Neither did my daughter. So he was pretty upset to findout that I had given half to my neighbor because I made too much. And since I didn't care for it and neither did my daughter I figured he wouldn't like it. So I gave some away so I wouldn't waste the ingredients. So I had to hear it from him. Especially, since he would have ate it for days to come. It had very nice resturant style presentation. I think it was either the cream cheese or can soup I didn't care for. It was very thick and rich that I could only eat half a cup. It may have also been that I can't eat fatty meats. So I made turkey bacon for me and regular for him. So I am still giving 4 stars. Very easy to make. I just hate when everyone raves about something and I have my heart set on it being really good and then being disappointed. It has happened several times. Maybe it is just me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      My husband loved this! It was very easy & inexpensive to make! He suggested adding some ham for some extra protein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I have to agree with a lot of the other reviewers. The soup was simple to make but lacked some basic seasoning, easily remedied with salt and pepper. I had a little trouble getting the cream cheese to "melt" into the mixture, so I resorted to using a whisk which, in turn, seemed to smooth out some of the potatoes as well. My family loved this, so I'm adding it to my recipe chest as well as passing it on to friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This was really easy to make. I didn't have cream of chicken so I used cream of mushroom since I had that. Other than that change I followed the directions exactly. I found the soup to be a bit bland so I added some salt, pepper, and cheddar cheese to melt in the soup. Since it is so simple and good, I will try again but maybe I'll puree some of the potatoes to make it thicker and throw in some veggies like corn? We'll see...definitely one to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.6
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    57%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 741.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites