283 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a good base recipe but my husband and I both felt like it was missing something. I added shredded carrots, bacon, garlic powder and pepper about an hour before serving and that helped a little but we still felt like something was missing compared to the potato chowders we get in restaurants. I will have to fuss with this a little to find the perfect combination for our family. Thanks stacylu for a good start.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely January 28, 2013

I followed the exact recipe and it was YUMMY!!!! After taking his first bite my husband said you will be making this again...right? I may change it out with holiday ham next time.
Thanks for a great recipe!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rolling oaks December 19, 2012

It was just ok on it's own...definitely add stuff to it because I found it a bit bland. I'm going to make it again and follow some of the other reviewer's recommendations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I love spicy food December 08, 2012

I made this chowder today...and found it very tasty. I think next time I will add some ham to it.
I think a dollop of sour cream...along with some chopped green onion will send it over the top.
I very good and filling dish. I will be making this chowder again and again...a real comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kari-girl December 01, 2012

This was so delicious. DH ate this and asked if I had bought it at Whole Foods. He finally believed I made it after I showed him the recipe. I used a jar of Hormel Bacon Pieces, you know I am lazy but kept to the original recipe. The chowda was hearty and flavorful and was a great meal with a green salad and some crusty bread. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears November 27, 2012

Amazing! :) I used a package of frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes... even easier ;) and I used all low-fat ingredients. Delicious! Great for those cold nights. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ November 16, 2012

Added a can of corn to cooking time and shredded cheddar cheese with the topping. I also thickened it a bit with some flour... but it is an awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calliou October 28, 2012

Following some of the reviewers suggestions, I added thyme, basil, minced garlic, and a bag of frozen corn. The suggestion to temper the cream cheese before adding worked like a charm. Instead of removing potatoes and broth to thicken it I grabbed my mixing wand and after a few pulses it was ready to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NC-QT October 21, 2012

I have this recipe in a crockpot cookbook and I made it last week and tonight. The first time I made it i peeled thee potatoes and cut them into tiny cubes, it tasted great but my boyfriend and I decided to try it with the skin on and in bigger pieces! So thats what i did tonight and it is much better!! I didn't use bacon or the onion though, I just don't personally think it needs it! and I added hot sauce to my dish because I like things a little spicy! overall taste awesome!!! and were definately keeping this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeautyBrittt March 20, 2012
Crock-Pot Potato Chowder