283 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an excellent recipe and was given five stars by my whole family. I didnt have a full eight hours to cook on low so I ended up cooking on high for about the first three and then on low for another three. I was worried that I had chopped my potatoes too small because they had seemed a bit mushy by the time it was done but it all turned out great. I did as other reviewers suggested and blended the cream cheese with a little of the soup and mashed some of the potatoes up too. I still found it a bit to watery for me so I added some cornstarch. (we like it really thick) Also we wanted to use up some left over ham so I cubed and fried some up to top the soup along with some shredded cheese and green onions. This was absoutly excellent (despite my worries of having messed it up) and thank you greatly for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeLove March 04, 2010

What a great recipe! I actually cooked mine longer, simply because of my work schedule-more like 11 hours and it was perfect! I think this is a recipe that could easily be adapted to low fat too. We topped ours with shredded sharp cheese, bacon bits and chopped scallions. Delish!!! Thanks for such a super supper. : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth October 10, 2003

AWESOME flavor, EASY to make and INCREDIBLE texture. I've made this soup many times since finding this recipe - and it's so easy to change up, according to the ingredients you have on hand. <br/><br/>Husband allergic to chicken - PERFECT with veggie broth and cream of celery soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! November 25, 2014

I've made this sooo many times and I just realized I never wrote a review! This is an amazing chowder. I add a can of corn and use low sodium ingredients.After it is cooked I add the cream cheese and use a potato masher to mix it all. <br/>I leave some chunks but we like it mixed well. This is great topped with green onion, bacon,and cheddar cheese, served with cornbread. My mom printed this recipe for her coworkers and everybody raved about it! They even asked me for my password so they could go through my cookbooks!! Thanks for a great recipe and an easy dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan and Jeremy October 13, 2014

Quick and tasty! I used low fat cream cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 September 22, 2014

Very tasty and really easy to make! Made it without any changes. Just like everyone said, it's a little bland. Would probably try to add more ingredients next time. This is a great potato soup base though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen November 19, 2013

This is the first recipe I've ever usef for a crockpot, unbelievable is the best word I Can use. Its such a simple amazing recipe. I did add sweet potato to mine though, overall I'm extremely happy thanks for a great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaplanx92 November 14, 2013

I added the white pepper, basil and thyme. Great taste! The only change I would make is less broth or more potatoes for a thicker soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam Hampton August 04, 2013

We gave this 3 stars as it was a great base to work from. We followed the first most helpful review and added 1 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 1 tsp. dried basil, and 1/2 tsp. thyme and that perked things up a little. Thanks stacylu for a great base soup to work from. Will probably drop the pepper a little and today added shredded leftover BBQ chicken for lunch - yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans March 12, 2013
Crock-Pot Potato Chowder