Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    281 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 281

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2009

      This was darned tasty! I replaced the bacon with some diced ham, but otherwise followed the recipe precisely and it turned out beautifully. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I can't believe I've forgotten to review this. It is very good and absolutely a breeze to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

    • on December 06, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was really really good. I've always made chowders milk based..and since I am fairly lactose intolerant that means I couldn't enjoy them very often. Well, I'm glad to say this chowder was easy on my tummy..well, it would've been if I didn't eat so much of it! I shared with another family and they agreed it was delicious! Thanks for posting. BTW, I doubled the recipe (except for an onion..I just threw a whole one in) and it turned out fine..I cooked in my large crock on high for 6 hours. Here are my additions: I added 2 small jars of drained red pimentos, 2 cans of drained whole kernal corn..I didn't have broth so I used water and 3 TB of "better than broth" paste (reconstitute to make a really tasty broth). In the end, I snipped up about 1/2 cup of green onion tops (you could sub the regular onion for the bulbs of the green onions) and layered cheddar cheese, green onions, the bacon, and more snipped green onions. It was beautiful and delicious! I really liked the way the green onions, the red pimentos and the yellow corn showed off their fall colors next to each other! The next day, I added a can of clams to the mix and it was a very good sub for clam chowder and again...no upset tummy! Thank you so much! I will never make potato chowder my "old" way again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      My husband says this is the best thing I have ever made. It is so yummy! I would give it 10 stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      We really liked this "as is". I wouldn't change a thing...super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Hearty soup. But the canned souped gave it a store bought flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I used too many potatoes so I think mine was a bit on the thick side. Next time I'll fry the onions with butter and a little celery to give it more flavor. I also added garlic and will add other spices next time. This is a great base recipe and I will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      '06: We loved this!! Took to a friend's house for dinner last weekend and everyone loved it! I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it does take a while to melt. Topped each bowl with cheddar jack cheese, bacon and green onions. Yum!! Making again today. Thank-you! '09: UPDATE: We make this often, and usually use frozen southern hashbrown potatoes, which makes this very quick and easy to put together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Made this twice so far, first time in the crockpot then on the stove. For the simplicity of this soup I believe the result is outstanding. Every once in awhile a recipe comes along that just defies explanation as to why it is so good, but my neighbor, who I shared this with, called to say that they found this to be so "pleasing" and unlike other soups that leave you wanting something more this one was so absolutely "satisfying". I agree. It just seems to be so "comforting". I did add some shredded cheese and don't necessarily think that it needs the bacon. It is the simplicity of this that is the beauty of it and I just wanted you to know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Very easy to cook but it just did not do to mcuh for me or the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This was really good, I was kind of surprized because it was so darn easy! I peeled 8 or 9 potatoes and threw them in crockpot with the soup and broth, left in fridge overnight to have ready to stick in crockpot for cooking. I forgot the onions-oops. When it was done cooking I smashed about half of the potatoes added in the cream cheese, put lid back on to melt cheese for about 30 minutes. Served with bacon bits,cheese and chives. Very good and so darn easy to make! Will make often. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      DH and I had this for supper tonight and it was really good. I always use chicken granules dissolved in water for chicken broth. I wasn't exactly sure how to measure 8 cups of diced potatoes (lol, I always over think things) so I put all the liquid in the crockpot and then added the potatoes (diced w/ skin) until my crockpot was almost full. I cooked this on low for about 8 hours overnight and then kept it on warm until we got ready to eat that evening. I used ham instead of bacon and 2 packages of cream cheese - no chives and no shredded cheese. I also used a tsp of onion powder instead of onions. pretty good stuff...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Good soup on a cold fall day! I agree that the hardest part is peeling and cubing the potatoes. I thought it really needed the bacon and cheese, so don't leave that out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This is a great version of Potato Soup. Very creamy and tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is a great easy recipe. The hardest part was peeling the potatoes. I too was leery about not adding seasoning but it came out just right. I cut the recipe in half and it made plenty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Very good! In my crock pot, it took more than 8 hours, but I nuked it to finish off the potatoes (because it was lunch time!) and then added in the cream cheese. Was very good and tasty. I also added in corn and celery, as I was concerned that there were no spices and it could be bland. Well, it's the bacon which really blends so well with the rest of the ingredients. The other tip I followed was to melt the cream cheese in the broth. Served with just crackers. Nice soup for a cool day. Thanks for a great recipe StacyLu, I appreciate it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This is delicious and a VERY GOOD RECIPE to include in your once a month cooking recipes. It freezes really well (freeze before cooking).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      What a hit!!! I made it at home and the family loved it. I made it for a soup club at work, and it was devoured. After reading another review, I also mixed the cream cheese in a small bowl with some of the hot broth to make sure there were no lumps. And just an FYI, if you make this in advance, and reheat in a crock-pot, it still comes out just as creamy. Fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.6
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    57%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 741.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites