Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    281 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 281

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2010

      Great! Easy, too! My 12 yr. old son (who loves to cook!) made this for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed! Thx! Next time, we'll add more bacon - but of course, that's a personal preference. :) Thx for sharing! Keeping this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was an excellent recipe and was given five stars by my whole family. I didnt have a full eight hours to cook on low so I ended up cooking on high for about the first three and then on low for another three. I was worried that I had chopped my potatoes too small because they had seemed a bit mushy by the time it was done but it all turned out great. I did as other reviewers suggested and blended the cream cheese with a little of the soup and mashed some of the potatoes up too. I still found it a bit to watery for me so I added some cornstarch. (we like it really thick) Also we wanted to use up some left over ham so I cubed and fried some up to top the soup along with some shredded cheese and green onions. This was absoutly excellent (despite my worries of having messed it up) and thank you greatly for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      What a great recipe! I actually cooked mine longer, simply because of my work schedule-more like 11 hours and it was perfect! I think this is a recipe that could easily be adapted to low fat too. We topped ours with shredded sharp cheese, bacon bits and chopped scallions. Delish!!! Thanks for such a super supper. : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      Very tasty and really easy to make! Made it without any changes. Just like everyone said, it's a little bland. Would probably try to add more ingredients next time. This is a great potato soup base though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      This is the first recipe I've ever usef for a crockpot, unbelievable is the best word I Can use. Its such a simple amazing recipe. I did add sweet potato to mine though, overall I'm extremely happy thanks for a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I added the white pepper, basil and thyme. Great taste! The only change I would make is less broth or more potatoes for a thicker soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      We gave this 3 stars as it was a great base to work from. We followed the first most helpful review and added 1 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 1 tsp. dried basil, and 1/2 tsp. thyme and that perked things up a little. Thanks stacylu for a great base soup to work from. Will probably drop the pepper a little and today added shredded leftover BBQ chicken for lunch - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This was a good base recipe but my husband and I both felt like it was missing something. I added shredded carrots, bacon, garlic powder and pepper about an hour before serving and that helped a little but we still felt like something was missing compared to the potato chowders we get in restaurants. I will have to fuss with this a little to find the perfect combination for our family. Thanks stacylu for a good start.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      I followed the exact recipe and it was YUMMY!!!! After taking his first bite my husband said you will be making this again...right? I may change it out with holiday ham next time.
      Thanks for a great recipe!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      It was just ok on it's own...definitely add stuff to it because I found it a bit bland. I'm going to make it again and follow some of the other reviewer's recommendations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I made this chowder today...and found it very tasty. I think next time I will add some ham to it.
      I think a dollop of sour cream...along with some chopped green onion will send it over the top.
      I very good and filling dish. I will be making this chowder again and again...a real comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      This was so delicious. DH ate this and asked if I had bought it at Whole Foods. He finally believed I made it after I showed him the recipe. I used a jar of Hormel Bacon Pieces, you know I am lazy but kept to the original recipe. The chowda was hearty and flavorful and was a great meal with a green salad and some crusty bread. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Amazing! :) I used a package of frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes... even easier ;) and I used all low-fat ingredients. Delicious! Great for those cold nights. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Added a can of corn to cooking time and shredded cheddar cheese with the topping. I also thickened it a bit with some flour... but it is an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Following some of the reviewers suggestions, I added thyme, basil, minced garlic, and a bag of frozen corn. The suggestion to temper the cream cheese before adding worked like a charm. Instead of removing potatoes and broth to thicken it I grabbed my mixing wand and after a few pulses it was ready to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      I have this recipe in a crockpot cookbook and I made it last week and tonight. The first time I made it i peeled thee potatoes and cut them into tiny cubes, it tasted great but my boyfriend and I decided to try it with the skin on and in bigger pieces! So thats what i did tonight and it is much better!! I didn't use bacon or the onion though, I just don't personally think it needs it! and I added hot sauce to my dish because I like things a little spicy! overall taste awesome!!! and were definately keeping this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

    • on October 26, 2011

      We loved this! Added a few more potatoes, used onion powder, and made our own broth using sodium free bullion. Topped it off with turkey bacon and it was quite tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

    • on March 28, 2011

      Very delicious; but needs tweaking. The cream cheese doesn't stir in well and the soup is much too thin, so I run a stick-blender right in the crockpot after adding softened cream cheese, which takes care of both problems. Then, to add texture back into the soup, I put in canned corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.6
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    57%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 741.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites