285 Reviews

AMAZING! I have made this twice now and everytime my BF has gobbled it up! I get sooo many compliments when I make this and its so easy to make! Would recommend to anyone looking for a hearty soup on a cold night!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blondie in the kitchen March 17, 2011

This was very good. Reading the reviews first I decided to omit one can of broth, add the white pepper, basil and thyme, cooked the soup with the bacon, then pureed the outcome. A little thick so ended up adding the omitted broth back in at the end. Will definitely don this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xapury82 February 15, 2011

This is wonderful!! I made exactly as the recipe states and it was a big hit in my house! So simple and delicious. I made this when my sister and nephews stayed over, everyone loved it, even my 15 month old son! I thought we could have it for lunch the next day but there was only a small bowl left over! Thanks for sharing!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betlyn73_5508858 November 05, 2010

I didn't use the crock pot as I found recipe late in the day. I cleaned the refrig out and added left over corn and chicken from last night and one lonely carrot that was hollering for mercy in the veggie drawer, I shredded it and the chicken. Its a great recipe and welcomed the added ingredients. Will make this again using the crock pot. Thanks for sharing, going in the fix again recipe file.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixielee43_11494785 April 27, 2010

Not sure why people seem to say the consistency is too thin. Maybe before the cream cheese is added, but afterwards it was quite good. It did seem to take a very long time for the potatoes to cook, but we left it on from 3pm til like 5am, then I mixed in the cream cheese. We skipped the bacon and chives. I only added pepper when I reheated, loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rfassio_12922278 March 04, 2014

Such a forgiving recipe! and a great way to use up potatoes! I made quite a few changes, but my version was 5 stars indeed. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I used half red potatoes and half russet. I took recommendations of others... Threw in a can of creamed corn, added the corn kernels off one cob, added 2 T of diced red bell pepper, and 2 thinly sliced small carrots. I also added white pepper and basil. Lastly, instead of the cream cheese (which I promise I will do next time) I added some instant potato flakes. Yummy stuff! Mine took 1 Huron high followed by 7 hrs on low. Crock pot was full!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 08, 2013

Amazing! :) I used a package of frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes... even easier ;) and I used all low-fat ingredients. Delicious! Great for those cold nights. Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ November 16, 2012

Made this over the holidays for 2011. We ended up leaving out the cream cheese but it was still fantastic. We had a couple of friends over who deliberately stayed longer just so they could have this chowder with us for dinner! Everyone loved it and my friends insisted on getting the recipe before they left. This was easy enough for my kids to make and could easily be dressed up or down by adding more toppings than just the bacon and chives after it was cooked such as shredded cheese, salsa, sour cream, etc...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooksci January 02, 2012

I made this recipe as written, but had to sub beef broth for chicken broth. I was extremely disappointed after all the positive reviews. The soup was watery and flavourless. I used my immersion blender to puree it to try to thicken it, but it was still quite thin. With a bunch of toppings (grated cheddar, more bacon bits, green onions) it was edible, but definitely won't be making this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Ducky November 23, 2011

The family loved your recipe...it was fast, easy and delicious... I reduced a calories a little by only using 6 oz. of reduced fat cream cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP November 02, 2011
Crock-Pot Potato Chowder