Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    282 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 282

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2011

      AMAZING! I have made this twice now and everytime my BF has gobbled it up! I get sooo many compliments when I make this and its so easy to make! Would recommend to anyone looking for a hearty soup on a cold night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      This was very good. Reading the reviews first I decided to omit one can of broth, add the white pepper, basil and thyme, cooked the soup with the bacon, then pureed the outcome. A little thick so ended up adding the omitted broth back in at the end. Will definitely don this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This is wonderful!! I made exactly as the recipe states and it was a big hit in my house! So simple and delicious. I made this when my sister and nephews stayed over, everyone loved it, even my 15 month old son! I thought we could have it for lunch the next day but there was only a small bowl left over! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I didn't use the crock pot as I found recipe late in the day. I cleaned the refrig out and added left over corn and chicken from last night and one lonely carrot that was hollering for mercy in the veggie drawer, I shredded it and the chicken. Its a great recipe and welcomed the added ingredients. Will make this again using the crock pot. Thanks for sharing, going in the fix again recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Not sure why people seem to say the consistency is too thin. Maybe before the cream cheese is added, but afterwards it was quite good. It did seem to take a very long time for the potatoes to cook, but we left it on from 3pm til like 5am, then I mixed in the cream cheese. We skipped the bacon and chives. I only added pepper when I reheated, loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Such a forgiving recipe! and a great way to use up potatoes! I made quite a few changes, but my version was 5 stars indeed. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I used half red potatoes and half russet. I took recommendations of others... Threw in a can of creamed corn, added the corn kernels off one cob, added 2 T of diced red bell pepper, and 2 thinly sliced small carrots. I also added white pepper and basil. Lastly, instead of the cream cheese (which I promise I will do next time) I added some instant potato flakes. Yummy stuff! Mine took 1 Huron high followed by 7 hrs on low. Crock pot was full!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Made this over the holidays for 2011. We ended up leaving out the cream cheese but it was still fantastic. We had a couple of friends over who deliberately stayed longer just so they could have this chowder with us for dinner! Everyone loved it and my friends insisted on getting the recipe before they left. This was easy enough for my kids to make and could easily be dressed up or down by adding more toppings than just the bacon and chives after it was cooked such as shredded cheese, salsa, sour cream, etc...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      I made this recipe as written, but had to sub beef broth for chicken broth. I was extremely disappointed after all the positive reviews. The soup was watery and flavourless. I used my immersion blender to puree it to try to thicken it, but it was still quite thin. With a bunch of toppings (grated cheddar, more bacon bits, green onions) it was edible, but definitely won't be making this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      The family loved your recipe...it was fast, easy and delicious... I reduced a calories a little by only using 6 oz. of reduced fat cream cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Wonderful recipe!!! So simple and easy to make! My wife and I loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      The only reason I am giving this recipe two stars is because my husband likes the flavor, but I certainly don't. It's entirely too watery even with some added cornstarch, and I just don't like the flavor. I have been working on this since last night, and it's not getting any better. This is a BIG disappointment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Super recipe! We loved this. Great for cold nights and I agree with Smilynn below.....creamed corn and sausage top it off wonderfully :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      SO. GREAT. I made this with beer bread for a low key dinner party. I've had many requests for a repeat of that dinner. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Wasn't a big fan of the flavor- the cream cheese was too tart for me. If I made this again, I might substitute another can of condensed chicken soup or heavy cream for the cream cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This was wonderful. I diced the potatoes and boiled them on the stove before adding to the soup (to hurry things along). I added 2 cans of chopped clams and fresh herbs from my garden. Yummy !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      As-is is a great base for a great potato chowder. I would highly recommend putting in half a garlic head, a white onion or two, basil, oregeno and pork of some sort. Thanks for the recipe, and I can't wait to mix it up again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Delicious! I reduced the size to 2 quarts and it served about 6 portions. I used fat free cream cheese and laddled 2 scoops of soup into a bowl to whip it in prior to adding to the soup. I didn't have any curdles. I also added two stalks of celery and a can of cream of celery soup instead of chicken soup. I'll absolutely make it again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This is delicious! The first time I made it in the crock pot, and it worked like a charm and tasted so good. This time I didn't think of it early enough, so I just put all the ingredients in a pot on the stove, and it took just a half hour to cook, and still turned out really tasty! We topped ours with broccoli, cheddar cheese and real bacon bits. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Excellent, thank you for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Great! Easy, too! My 12 yr. old son (who loves to cook!) made this for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed! Thx! Next time, we'll add more bacon - but of course, that's a personal preference. :) Thx for sharing! Keeping this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.6
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    57%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 741.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites